We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploring London.”
Review of Avon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Avon Hotel
Ranked #877 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great base for exploring London.”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk, from Paddington railway / underground station's and easy to find at Norfolk Square. Staff at check inn and through out stay was very friendly. Room number 17, was a single on same floor as the reception, it was small but adequate after a day of exploring London. Only problem was some noise from the underground by passing train's but that was to be expected as hotel is very close to the station, but noise might be less on higher floors. Overall great price, location and clean room's.

Room Tip: Higher floor's for less noise from the underground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    52
    50
    27
    35
See reviews for
57
37
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The small double room was very SMALL, but very clean and tidy too. However, the bathroom was a caravan style moulded plastic plug in unit smaller than my shower at home.
Noise was OK
We went for breakfast at 7.45 and nothing was ready for us, so we left.
For London, good value for money.

Room Tip: 1st floor or higher, and if you don't want very small, don't go for a small one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northunlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Booked approx 3 months in advance for this reunion. I requested two twin rooms , next door to each other, and this was printed on my booking form. Two weeks prior to the visit I received a phone call to tell me that there were no twin beds available and I should book another hotel! I found the manager to be most irate who kept telling me not to stress. She also did not ring me back when she promised to do so. When I explained that I had no time to find alternative accommodation she said we would be next door in their other hotel, not good enough! When I arrived we were sent down the street to St Davids hotel, who we were told were doing Avon a favour. We were given rooms two staircases apart ! Avon spoilt the weekend.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Helsinki
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel probably portrays the English living in general, since the rooms are very small. Although nothing luxurious, the staff is kind and the breakfast is tasty with a large variety of choices. Convenient when leaving for Heathrow in the morning since the hotel is just 5 min from Paddington station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagshot, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked this hotel based on previous reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel is basic but imacculate. Very clean, quiet and the breakfast included was cooked fresh and very tasty and the staff are very friendly. The beds were a bit on the firm side but not uncomfortable it was also a bit of a trek to our room which was on the 4th floor (no lift) but the hotel is very central just 5 mins walk from Paddington station which was ideal. The room didn't overlook gardens as advertised but none of them did as its about 4 doors down from Norfolk square so unless you are a crane you'd be hard pushed to overlook the gardens! Never the less that is not what we booked this hotel for and we will be coming here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula241274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed one night in November, we had a double room on the top floor, loads of stairs some on narrow staircase, not a problem for us though, in fact adds to the character. The room was lovely & quiet with a view (to the side) of the leafy square down below, small but clean & perfectly adequate, small bathroom but again clean, perfectly adequate & functional. Great area, would definitely stay again. Staff helpful. Great value at £69, not so sure about the 'normal' price of £129.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#672 of 1,068 in London
435 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#816 of 1,068 in London
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#698 of 1,068 in London
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Balmoral House Hotel
The Balmoral House Hotel
#646 of 1,068 in London
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#661 of 1,068 in London
832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mitre House Hotel
Mitre House Hotel
#560 of 1,068 in London
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Hotel

Property: Avon Hotel
Address: 50 Norfolk Square | Bayswater, West End, London W2 1RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #877 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Avon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avon Hotel is a delightful place to stay, situated in a beautiful treed quiet square, but only a few minutes walk from the London West End, Hyde Park and many famous landmarks. You will appreciate the modern well appointed rooms designed with style and individuality; each room is comfortable and yet elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing