We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“college reunion- 40 years later” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Avon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Avon Hotel
Ranked #818 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“college reunion- 40 years later”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Booked approx 3 months in advance for this reunion. I requested two twin rooms , next door to each other, and this was printed on my booking form. Two weeks prior to the visit I received a phone call to tell me that there were no twin beds available and I should book another hotel! I found the manager to be most irate who kept telling me not to stress. She also did not ring me back when she promised to do so. When I explained that I had no time to find alternative accommodation she said we would be next door in their other hotel, not good enough! When I arrived we were sent down the street to St Davids hotel, who we were told were doing Avon a favour. We were given rooms two staircases apart ! Avon spoilt the weekend.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    48
    40
    23
    29
See reviews for
47
31
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel probably portrays the English living in general, since the rooms are very small. Although nothing luxurious, the staff is kind and the breakfast is tasty with a large variety of choices. Convenient when leaving for Heathrow in the morning since the hotel is just 5 min from Paddington station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagshot, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked this hotel based on previous reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel is basic but imacculate. Very clean, quiet and the breakfast included was cooked fresh and very tasty and the staff are very friendly. The beds were a bit on the firm side but not uncomfortable it was also a bit of a trek to our room which was on the 4th floor (no lift) but the hotel is very central just 5 mins walk from Paddington station which was ideal. The room didn't overlook gardens as advertised but none of them did as its about 4 doors down from Norfolk square so unless you are a crane you'd be hard pushed to overlook the gardens! Never the less that is not what we booked this hotel for and we will be coming here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula241274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed one night in November, we had a double room on the top floor, loads of stairs some on narrow staircase, not a problem for us though, in fact adds to the character. The room was lovely & quiet with a view (to the side) of the leafy square down below, small but clean & perfectly adequate, small bathroom but again clean, perfectly adequate & functional. Great area, would definitely stay again. Staff helpful. Great value at £69, not so sure about the 'normal' price of £129.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We really had a great experience during out stay at the Avon in Sept. It was our first time in London and Anna, the proprietor, helped us in many ways. Our room was clean, quiet, pretty and very comfortable.

We had understood that the stay included a continental breakfast and were happily surprised to find it was a full English breakfast with eggs made to order and all the other fixings. It was delicious and the table settings were beautiful.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay and hope to have an opportunity to return. Thank you Anna and staff!

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor so the lack of an elevator wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in a triple room with 3 girls. Was small, but we weren't in the room much. The stairs are brutal, no elevator! I had a 50lb suitcase, backpack, and purse. Location is awesome, right around the corner from the Paddington Station. Breakfast in the morning was very good (full english breakfast and you're able to customize if you want) and the staff was superb! There's nothing really negative to say if you're a tourist and are out exploring the city anyway.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaElbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.0 mi away
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#644 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#719 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#667 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dolphin Hotel
Dolphin Hotel
#622 of 1,069 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albro House Hotel
Albro House Hotel
#673 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#608 of 1,069 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Hotel

Property: Avon Hotel
Address: 50 Norfolk Square | Bayswater, West End, London W2 1RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #818 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Avon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avon Hotel is a delightful place to stay, situated in a beautiful treed quiet square, but only a few minutes walk from the London West End, Hyde Park and many famous landmarks. You will appreciate the modern well appointed rooms designed with style and individuality; each room is comfortable and yet elegant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Avon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing