We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and warm hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #89 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Oudenaarde, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy and warm hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed for a weekend -with my family- in the warm and cosy citizenM London Bankside.
Warm welcome with a very quick check in and check out system.
A very warm and special thanks to Laetitia. She made our weekend even better!

Liitle tip perhaps: I booked the hotel for 4 rooms. Perhaps find a way in the system that I could checkin in one time instead of putting in the credit card four times? Just a tip, certainly not a negative comment.

Koen De Mets - Belgium

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,161
    853
    123
    43
    14
See reviews for
298
1,600
200
575
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

My room was very high tech, with classy modern looks and a comfortable bed. However, there was no coffee/tea making facilities (kettle, etc) and the smell from the wash basin plug was stomach wrenching - needed serious bleaching. Resturant in the evening was rather poorly stocked and uninspiring.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechBizMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenmatt, General Manager at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi TechBizMan

Thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts on Trip Advisor.

First of all I am extremely sorry that you experienced a problem with the smell of drains within the room. At citizenM we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and that your stay was marred by this is extremely disappointing. Your comments have been shared with both the housekeeping and maintenance teams to ensure the cause of the smell is rectified.

citizenM was created to address the needs of a new generation of traveller, ones that hop across continents where others jump on buses. They travel for business and they travel for leisure and they are international, tech savy, contemporary, urban and value conscious. Probably much like you!

Inorder to deliver to our values of affordable luxury we've stripped away many of the things you'd find in a traditional hotel and replaced them with a few things that these mobile citizens really cherish: free and fast wifi, speedy check in and check out, yes...no queuing here. We don't have a restaurant as such, we find most people want to take advantage of the great restaurants London has to offer, instead we have a canteen style set up, kind of a 24 hour pit stop to grab a snack whether that be some sushi, salad or a sandwich, much sourced from local suppliers and taking advantage of having Borough market right on our door step.

The provision of tea and coffee making facilities in the room is something often commented on and whilst we totally understand it, afterall it's what hotels do, we felt that a freshly made barista style coffee, customised to you or a cup of tea, made with fresh milk trumps instant coffee and UHT milk everytime.

Again, thanks for your thoughts, we wish you safe travels and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to one of our properties sometimes soon

Regards

citizenMatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Just back from a two night stay. We really enjoyed our time at the hotel.

The room is amazing. The bed is massive, perfect for relaxing after a busy day around London. Everything can be controlled from the tablet. There is a fridge in the room which is handy.

The shower was great too. The towels were very big and of high quality.

The TV was super, there were an amazing amount of movies to pick from to stream to the TV.

We didn't eat here but enjoyed a few drinks down by the bar. It really is a nice place to just hang out.

The one problem we had was that I think we caught a staff member on a bad day as we tried to check in. First off he lost our bag ticket stubs but didn't remember us giving them to him a minute before. Then he also cancelled our credit card payment after we got our receipt saying it had been paid. A phone call had to be made back to our bank to check if payment had been made or not. It was all sorted in the end but it was a bit annoying and found his attitude to be a bit off. Not the first impression we were hoping for.

The quality of the room and hotel bar area made up for this. We found the other staff members great.

So overall we were very happy. It was almost perfect but the bad start stopped me giving 5 stars. We will be back on our next visit to London.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark_F_Dub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenmatt, General Manager at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Fear0

Thanks for sharing your thoughts. citizenM was conceived to meet the needs of travellers just like you; ones that spend their time exploring the city more than the hotel, but when they are here, they can enjoy big beds, great linen, free and fast wifi and relax in the living rooms with their feet curled up on the sofa with a great book and a drink. Whilst we deliver much of this through the physical construct of the hotel, it is our ambassadors that deliver the human element and establish an emotional connection with our guests. I am sorry that one of our team appeared to get out of bed the wrong side on the day you checked in; that he brought this attitude to work is unacceptable and is disappointing for me and the whole team at citizenM to read. I hope we get the chance to welcome you back to Bankside sometime soon and make amends.

Safe travels

citizenMatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep River, CT
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights at CitizenM in June and were very pleased with our choice. The location was great; a quick walk to the Borough Market (a large and wonderful farmer's market) and a pleasant walk to the Globe Theater,The London Eye and more attractions. Very easy to grab a cab near the hotel. While the rooms are small they are well-appointed with large and very comfortable king-sized beds and soft linens. Everything is clean and neat. Tablet-controlled TV, thermostat, lighting and window shades was fun and easy to use. The lack of soap by the sink was quickly rectified by housekeeping.

The common areas are comfortable and inviting - we spent one evening watching World Cup action on one of the many flat screens scattered about down there while enjoying a cocktail. Everything is ultra-modern without feeling cold or austere. We had only minimal contact with staff but what interactions we did have were pleasant. Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a nice, clean place in a great location and an open mind about trying something different....the rooms are only meant for one person or a couple. Our room was fairly-priced: become a member of CitizenM and you get a discount (which I did). I read one review where someone referred to the place as being like The Jetson's cartoon - and it is - in the best possible way!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeydevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenMarc, Manager at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hi "monkeydevil"

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to read that you and your husband enjoyed your stay here. The team here are committed to guest satisfaction and work hard to ensure our guests leave with smiling faces and happy memories. Great feedback only vindicates the hard work we put in here.

Hope to see you back at citizenM soon.

citizenMarc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Citizen M in Bankside is a slick and super modern hotel that offers funky rooms with super large and super comfy beds. We enjoyed our stay and were delighted with the central location of the hotel that was within a 5/6 minute walk from Southwark Tube station and had lots of shops and restaurants close-by.

My main gripe with the hotel was its staff. They were painfully slow and somewhat rude. Whilst not obnoxious they made numerous mistakes and were very slow to apologise for them.

Overall the stay was fun, very pleasant and very comfortable and I would most definitely return but would like to see an improvement in the hotels processes and staff.

Room Tip: Courtyard view was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looschie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenmatt, General Manager at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hi Looschie

Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. I was delighted to read that you had fun with us at Bankside. Great to hear that you'll be back and I am quite certain that next time you'll see that any mistakes made by the team were the exception. At citizenM we pride ourselves on creating a relaxed environment where we truly connect with our guests and where our service is relaxed but never less than exceptional.

In the meantime, safe travels

citizenMatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

It was great to stay in a modern hotel in an old city. They have everything you need. They even had our laundry done at an extremely reasonable price. The staff could not have been better. The
bed was extremely comfortable. We were in London for 4 nights. We split up the nights - 2 nights in very traditional hotel and two nights in a modern hotel. We easily could have stayed four nights without feeling cramped. There is plenty of space in the common areas to relax. Breakfast was great. Enjoyed dinner the second night, great also. If I am in a city that has a CitizenM Hotel I will
surely stay. Thank you CitizenM.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RST65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenmatt, General Manager at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hi RST65

Thanks for sharing your thoughts. citizenM was designed for those that travel with wide eyes and big hearts. Our mantra is affordable luxury; great beds and showers, big fluffy towels and free wifi with no registration page; and when you've connected in one of our hotels you're automatically connected when you walk into any other citizenM, whether that be London, Paris, New York, Amsterdam, Glasgow or Rotterdam. All at a great price and where we don't try to make up on our room prices through over priced extras.

Maybe see you in the City of Angels one day?

citizenMatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Our family recently enjoyed our stay at CitizenM Bankside. We got two rooms next to each other (one for our two teenage kids and one for us) and we all enjoyed the high tech/great design of the rooms. All is very welcoming and fun to use. Even though the rooms are small, there is a space for everything and all is superbly designed. Bed was extremely comfortable and towels very plush! Also, the lobby is beautifully designed with different seating areas and was a great place to unwind in the evening while our teenagers were upstairs watching a movie. The location was excellent: right near the Tate Modern, Shakespeare's Globe Theater, Parliament, the London Eye, and the Tower of London. Easy to get everywhere by a bus right across the street. Foodwise, there is a beautiful new supermarket across the street as well as a fabulous Italian restaurant called Vapiano with all freshly made pasta.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkingaroundtown10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#55 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#106 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#53 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,278 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Property: citizenM London Bankside
Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in London
#33 Business Hotel in London
#61 Romantic Hotel in London
#82 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CitizenM London Bankside England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing