We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new approach to the hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #95 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I love how they have re-thought the idea of a hotel and what people really want. The public spaces were great - with a variety of seating options. People actually wanted to be int he lobby working, talking, having a coffee or drink... The rooms were interesting and fun. The best part, though, were the meeting rooms. It was the most comfortable and efficient hotel meeting room I have ever used. It was clearly thought of to be a space where creativity and collaboration is assumed to be important. I highly recommend CitizenM both for 'mobile citizens' and business meetings.

Room Tip: I stayed in the interior courtyard rather than 'city view' assuming it would be more quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RonFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,647 - 1,653 of 3,510 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

It is a GREAT hotel! The room is not big( for this price, u can only get smaller rooms in London), but its clean, convenient and super comfortable king size bed! Everything controlled via a tablet. GREAT Wifi connections through the whole hotel! There are restaurants and supermarkets downstairs. Simple but good quality breakfast for only £11.95. And the food are organic as well.
I really have no complain at all!!! Recommended!

2  Thank Christina Junli... S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed here on business on the 27th/28th May.

Overall the stay was great, below are the positives and negatives.

Good:
- Very clean
- Extremely modern place with some nice touches which really makes it a memorable place to stay. Such as the modern art in the lobby area, and the comfortable sofas / seating. It really gives it a different feel - and it looks as though it is somewhere local business come to quite often for informal business meetings.
- Rooms are set out very differently - the main highlights are the bed (very comfortable) and the shower (one of those drench showers)
- Free movies, free Wi-Fi, and a handy little Samsung tablet to control the whole room with.
- Easy check in and check out

Bad:
- The shower and toilet are in this strange little cubicle which looks like a wet room - but the sink is outside of this cubicle. Not really a *bad* thing I suppose, but just odd.
- There is no tea or coffee in the room.
- The room is small - like most London hotels - but this one would be tight for two people.
- No irons in the room - instead you have to venture to a separate room in the hotel where the Iron is based. There was someone using it at the time - I imagine I was quite unlucky, but it was still annoying.
- The breakfast is not too great.
- Location is awkwardly placed around a 10-15 minute walk from the nearest tube station. I imagine this would be quite difficult to get to for less able bodied. Only good thing was that there is a Vapianos opposite which is a superb place for lunch / dinner.

Overall, very chic / suave, and definitely a step in the right direction of how I imagine hotels to be these days - but other places have accomplished this better - like the Andaz at Liverpool Street which also benefits from a superb location.

Room Tip: I chose a room facing towards the courtyard, it was quiet - which was welcomed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HSJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Rooms where modern and fresh, and cool design. Welcoming lobby with a huge fireplace to hang around. Great location for wandering along the river over Tower Bridge to sights of London. Walkable distance from Londer Tower metro station. Numerous food place and a great market nearby make this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Huge comfortable bed, lovely shower and toiletries in a room full of technology to play with! Only stayed one night but would love to return. Easy fuss free check -in/out. The staff are very friendly and could not have been more helpful. We left early in the morning to visit Chelsea Flower Show. It was ppouring with rain but the girl on reception insisted we took an umbrella, even though we were not returning to the hotel that night.
The reception/lounge/bar/eating area is really interesting.- fab designer furniture and loads of great books to read if you have the time. Lovely cocktails on offer at the bar. Food is self service with plenty of variety to suit all tastes. I'm sure we will be back before too long!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a really interesting place to stay. The rooms have lots of technology to master, huge very comfortable bed, good shower and toiletries. The reception/lounge/bar/eating areas are full of designer furniture and loads of amazing books to read if you have the time. The staff could not be more welcoming and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We only stayed one night and left very early the next morning to go to Chelsea Flower Show. The weather was awful so the girl on reception insisted we took an umbrella, even though we were not returning to the hotel that night. I'm sure we will be back again before too long though!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed four nights at the citizenM London Bankside and we truly loved it! We stayed in quite a few other hotels in London in the past and this one is definitively our favorite one. Finding a decent and not too expensive hotel in London is not that easy and often something will be missing: it will either be quite plain without personality or a bit too old and in need of refurbishment or too remote. The only thing this hotel is missing is a kettle in the room. It is central, with great decoration and atmosphere, very friendly and helpful staff, a very comfortable and big bed, free (and powerful) internet, small but optimized rooms and decent prices. For some people, the rooms might be too small and the ambiance too trendy. But honestly, do you really go to London to stay in your room? The ambiance should be appreciated as every evening quite a few people were enjoying the bar. We’ll come back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank severine_andre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,078 in London
3,360 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in London
#61 Romantic Hotel in London
#88 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $131 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CitizenM London Bankside England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing