We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a cool hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #84 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My wife and I spent the weekend here for her 40th birthday. I don't think we could have found anywhere more perfect I with our budget . The bar is so cool with amazing decor, a buzzing atmosphere and GREAT staff. Nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms are super modern with all lighting (including very cool mood lights), curtains and media controlled by a tablet. The bed is huge and very comfy and the bathroom in great with a powerful rain shower. There are loads of free movies too!
The location is great with bankside 5 mins away and Covent garden/soho 10 mins away.

Do yourself a favour and give it a go!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelseasteve71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,367)
There are newer reviews for citizenM London Bankside
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,676 - 1,682 of 3,368 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

Lovely, Great Staff, Great Rooms, Great Location, Inspirational Ambiance, - Superb Concept! Have stayed there once only, but will definitely come back. I've been to Citizen M hotels more than 10 times overall already - and it's always great! Thank YOU all - great team!

Don't miss the great food - it's worth it and great coffee too!

One word: Excellent!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel is unlike any other we've stayed in! It's certainly the smallest hotel room we've stayed in, but because it is so well designed, it's the biggest bed! Everything is there that you could want (except tea/coffee making facilities) and it's very modern, clean and comfortable. The shower is fab and the tech equipment is fun and easy to use. Loads of free movies (including adult and kids and everything in between), loads of free radio stations and free internet connection - and very cool lighting controlled on a Samsung Tablet. Very funky bar downstairs - we were there on a Friday night and it was really buzzing. Fantastic cocktails that we would highly recommend. Location is great, we went to a theatre which was on The Strand - a lovely walk along the South Bank then over Waterloo Bridge - about half an hour stroll. We then walked back and had lots of restaurants and bars to choose from. Also easy access from hotel is Tesco, Pret and numerous restaurants, shops and bars.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I spent here 2 nights during my business trip. Hotel is realy amazing! I like the system of self check-in/check-out, room control with tablet, mood lights in shower ;) hotel is located not far from Tate and tube stations. In one word, it's modern, convenient and affable! On my next trip to London I hope to stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Tatyana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Hello from Michael and Chiara from Denmark, we were back to CitizenM London Bankside for the fourth time. Different experiences everytime. Some good, some not so good, but this last time was more than good and we have to thank HIRAL for this.
What a great guy, he can really make you feel at home! We had a problem with our room in the middle of the night, during another visit last October. Hiral, who has the night shift, found the best solution quickly and efficiently, moving us to another room.
We were at CitizenM again this week and it was a pleasure meeting Hiral again. He recognized us right away and we start chatting.
It is always nice feeling at home, when you're not home. Coming back to CitizenM and finding people like Hiral, just makes you feel you in the right mood for an enjoyable stay. Have you any issues during the night while staying at the CitizenM, find Hiral. You will also find the solution.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiaraG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Excellent staff. Funky hotel. High tech, Highly trained and pleasing staff, Well organised, creative
A variety can be added in breakfast as they have same menu since its inception. Since the travellers are from all parts of the world, the hotel authorities can look into the same. Also Internet free service is amazing. ITs the most beautiful hotel i have ever seen.

Room Tip: Hiral and Fred are one of the best service managers.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manbir27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We had a great 3 night stay at the citizenM. Most are a little cautious given the smaller size of the rooms however they're so well designed that it feels a lot bigger than it really is. It's important to know that small spaces can be extremely comfortable provided they are efficiently laid out and designed. The moodlighting was a great touch too.

The lobby is stunning - It has a great youthful atmosphere and is impeccably designed and furnished.

My only criticism are the pillows and the tablet. The pillows are humongous and aren't the least bit comfortable. I woke up each morning with a sore neck. The tablet was also laggy and unresponsive at times.

That said I would stay here again in a heart beat as it's in a great location, is cost-effective, and has a fantastic atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,072 in London
3,230 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in London
#33 Business Hotel in London
#61 Romantic Hotel in London
#78 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $151 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CitizenM London Bankside England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing