We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A new experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM London Bankside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #86 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A new experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great location with restaurants nearby. River short walk away but Borough Market a short walk was fantastic especially for foodie fans. The hotel itself is modern chic with very bijoux rooms, ie they are small, functional and we had great fun on the tablet controlling mood lighting, curtains, blinds tv and music. The bed is huge wall to wall, very comfortable and we had a much needed rest after our marathon walks round London. Staff are very friendly and always willing to help. Lounge area much nicer than most London hotels as u felt like home from home, people curled up in large comfy sofas obviously enjoying themselves.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,140
    841
    122
    43
    14
See reviews for
293
1,585
200
566
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mulhouse, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel is very calm, clean and strategically located close by Blackfriars bridge and station.
Very handy control of the room via a tablet, fast checkin and checkout.
Breakfast buffet is OK and plenty of space where to relax with a book.
The Staff is very friendly, a warm thank to Luigi and Eyekem (most probably wrong spelling, sorry!).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefano B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I read a few reviews before choosing CitizenM so I knew largely what to expect. CitizenM Bankside is brilliantly located very close to a host of attractions. We stayed a Saturday night and there was plenty of free parking available after 1230pm on a Saturday afternoon. The hotel itself if stylish, very modern and quite funky. The electronic check-in was very quick and easy with a helpful assistant on hand should you need some help. Our room was on the 4th floor and it was as I expected after reading the reviews. The room is bijoux but has all we needed for the evening. Just inside the door you have an open wardrobe space with a number of hangers, space for a bag. Next along is the toilet/showeroom housed in opaque Perspex/glass. Plenty of room with a great shower. Opposite on the counter is a small sink and countertop. There is a small desk just beyond the shower area and the large bed fills the entire end of the room (wall to wall). The whole end wall is a window with both a privacy curtain and black out blind.

The whole room is controlled via a Samsung tablet. Ours alas had not rebooted so we were a bit stuck. A quick call and the lady on reception has it reboot and we were in business. The tablet controls the blinds (alternate controls on the wall too), controls the mood lighting, aircon and also the entertainment system. Films are free and internet can be accessed through the tablet. There was complimentary water in the fridge but there are no tea making facilities. This is all available 24hrs downstairs. We slept very well. The bed was comfortable, the room was quiet and we were able to set the temp perfectly. Note with the bed some will struggle as there is only one side of the bed you can get out of.

The only disappointment for me was the bar. It looked great but we ordered cocktails, tried a celery Bellini and we were shocked to see it handed over to us with a stick of obviously wilting celery leaning over the side. This made worse by the fact the leaves of the celery were browning and rotting. Cocktails are as much about the visual impact and at £9 this was a pathetic oversight. The Barmen were very busy, but the bar appeared to have been changed around as the process of getting a drink was horribly slow as they struggled to track anything down. Far too many tables had not been cleared and glasses, plates etc were strewn everywhere. People were arriving but struggling to find somewhere to sit that hadn't been cleared. It did eventually get cleared but the F&B experience was a let down compared to the room and rest of the facilities.

We'd stay again but I think we'd avoid the bar or just stick to a beer or two.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our room on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichClarkImages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sw
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here last weekend en route to Paris, while in London we went to see the Lion King, This hotel was perfectly located, just far enough out to be reasonably priced but still accessible. Southwark to Green Park was around 12-13 minutes. Very easy. The area is great, in the immediate vicinity to the hotel you have Pret, M&S Food and a few of the "cooler" chain restaurants, some bars and what looks to be the best looking Nandos i've seen, built into the railway arches just by the tube station.. The thought of well located peri peri chicken is too important not to share.

The room was what you'd expect of a CitizenM.. if you haven't been think small but functional, super comfortable bed, not much storage space, the bar and lounge area was particularly nice, very spacious, very reasonably priced, nice sofas, a big fire.. just lovely really.

If you're looking for something cool, edgy, different or just reasonably priced then you won't go far wrong here. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: They have rooms facing into a courtyard, i should expect these are the quietest/nicest to have your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marksw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadworth, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My boyfriend and I have just recently stayed two nights at CitizenM London Bankside and loved it. I never write reviews but thought I would for this one.
Its close to London Bridge station, easy to check in and out, the staff are really friendly and helpful and they seem to enjoy their jobs.
The rooms are modern and fun, an ipad to control all the features such as mood control lighting, blinds, curtain, tv etc.. It had a huge bed, great selection of films and music.
We would definitely choose this hotel to stay in again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliamarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Two night stay with a hearty modern English breakfast fitted the mood for my short stay in London before flying home. Great shower with choice of rain or hand held rose head and multi power point to charge phones from all countries.
Walk to many wonderful sites eg TATE. Walk to Waterloo Station or £6 taxi ride with bags. Bus at door to many parts of London. I would choose CitizenM in preference to The Grange where I stayed last year as the staff at CitizenM who's were extremely helpful.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed in the hotel in November.
We had a lovely stay, bed was huge and comfortable, shower powerful and the lights fun to play with.
What I didn't like was s stained stool in the bedroom and the tablet that was getting frozen quite often which was a bit frustrating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zatar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#56 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#106 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#49 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,208 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Property: citizenM London Bankside
Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in London
#33 Business Hotel in London
#61 Romantic Hotel in London
#79 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CitizenM London Bankside England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing