We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, couldn't fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #98 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

A great place to stay, fab location, value and service. Well insulated rooms - with little noise. The only hotel i've stayed in and not been woken up constantly by slamming doors. Staff couldn't be more helpful, breakfast and bar were ace, would definitey stay again - very highly reccomended to all..

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,849 - 1,855 of 3,514 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

CitizenM is exactly as it proclaims to be - the essentials for a comfortable room, chic design, reasonable prices. Its a few blocks from Southwark tube, and a 5 min walk to Borough Market (which has excellent food & coffee).

The rooms are small but very comfortable. About one-quarter of the room is an extra large bed, which makes for a cozy nook. The wall-mounted tv and mood lighting are all controlled by a tablet. You can choose a mood and it will adjust the lighting, music and play a fun little animation on the tv. I also enjoyed the various wake-up options.

The shower had excellent water pressure. However, this room is not for bashful couples - the toilet isn't exactly private in such a small room.

The wifi was very zippy and reliable. The common rooms were massive and very stylish - a great place to hang out and have coffee, a beer, or just enjoy the fireplaces.

Room Tip: Even the city view room wasn't loud, but the garden view will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This state-of-the art design hotel is perfect for a short visit to London, either on business or for leisure. Easily accessible by subway (near borough market), rooms are small but very comfortable and quiet, staff offers a friendly service. Price-Quality excellent ratings!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HerlindeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We chose CitizenM for a two nights break for our first wedding anniversary.
Having lived there for many years, I know London very well and travel there very often. The reasons why we chose this specific hotel were its looks (which are even better in real life), the fact that it is located in our favourite part of town and its very affordable price.
Maybe a little downside is the fact that CitizenM is not located in the west end, which could be a downside for most tourists, but if you are young and happy to be doing some travelling to move around, this would still work: there is a bus stop (RV1 bus taking you straight to Covent Garden) just outside the hotel and some shops and restaurant nearby.
I had sent the hotel an email asking if they could help me with leaving a little note for my husband in the room, for our special occasion. Infact they were very nice and helpful and even suggested and organized some ballons in the room which we found on the bed when we checked in. I was very impressed by their friendly approach.
There is no reception as such, but the automated check in is infact very easy and smooth and there is also always someone there to help you. The members of Staff are all very friendly and helpful, always smiling and willing to help.
The lounge is ecceptional: very big, with beautiful decor, with lots of different areas with sofas, books, computers, table and chairs, free wife everywhere (rooms included)...they say we should consider it OUR living room and you do get that feel, with people that seem to be spending the whole day there...
The rooms are small, but much better than I had expected: the bed is huge and very very comfortable, the space is little but not impossible and, most of all, the toilet + shower capsule is way bigger than you could imagine, and pretty pleasant to use. Cleanliness is good.
The famous tablet that you use for everything and anything in the room is a fun gadget at first but I see now why that proved to be a little bit annoying for some people: we had some problems with ours, especially with the TV function. On our second night, realizing it wasn't me who was doing something wrong, I decided to call someone and ask how to get the movies or the radio to work. Elys, who was very sweet and caring, tried to help in every possible way and even came up to the room to try and reset the tablet, but for some strange reason our movie function never worked. Yes it was somehow irritating, but it wasn't a disaster after all, and I was very impressed when I was informed that because of that we were offered free breakfast the next day and a symbolic amount (half of our nightly rate) refunded on my card.
The point is that at Citizen M they really go out of their way to make you feel at home and happy with your choice of hotel and I would definately stay there again and suggest it to my friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarinopoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I live in the U.S. and had not stayed in a London hotel for over 10 years. I booked citizenM mostly due to the reviews on trip advisor and the funky looking pics. I was not disappointed and found the hotel is even better than the pics. All of the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, even when my travel plans changed due to the bad London weather.

The lobby area is very well designed and relaxing. It feels like you are at home, with areas for watching TV, working, eating or just putting your feet up and reading. The rooms are small, but as they are also very well designed, you do not feel cramped. I also spent time in my room both working and watching films on the huge bed. With two people in the room, my only negative comment would be the lack of storage for large cases.

Overall, an excellent hotel for all age groups, very friendly staff, definitely relaxing and would recommend it anyone. I will be back in London in 2 weeks and I know where I will be staying. Thanks citizenM for making my trip to London so pleasurable.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Not sure why you need the self service check in when a member of staff watches over every move! Apart from the hotel having the wrong booking information, charging us for breakfast and not realising we had late check out, staff were helpful and efficient. Décor was bright and vibrant in shared areas, lifts worked quickly. The room was very small and almost claustrophobic; if blinds were open everyone in the opposite room could see straight in. Bed was huge with good quality bedding and pillows. The tablet was good fun play with ..exciting to change lighting and experiment. Films were very welcome too. Shower was big and powerful Nice to have a fridge However, missed a cup of tea in the morning! Breakfast consisted of very good quality ingredients but would have liked a greater variety of fruit, and a choice of eggs, the mini omelettes were pretty tasteless (maybe we could have ordered poached/fried but no one told us). Lovely orange juice. No fish/pancakes. All in all we enjoyed our stay but would not have wanted to stay longer.

Room Tip: Facing out so you can open the blinds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jne2647563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We loved the hotel,stuff and amazing design the rooms are good too, the only thing we complain about was the price like drinks at the bar and the room rate too , but I still rate a four, the design is different but beautiful I could stay all they sitting in the reception and hangout on my laptop.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank sAmthemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#108 of 1,077 in London
3,362 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in London
#61 Romantic Hotel in London
#90 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $130 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CitizenM London Bankside England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing