We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2013: A Space Odyssey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #86 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel seemed like something out of the Stanley Kubrick movie - the rooms are small and modular in construction, with the same material on the floor as on the ceiling (good for zero gravity situations) and are mostly white with space-age lighting. While there is not yet voice control, every element of the spacey rooms is controlled by a computer whose input is a Samsung tablet - from lighting, to a/c to TV.

Admittedly, it's the first time I have stayed in a hotel with a wall-to-wall bed - (seemingly a "California King" sized bed) which was comfy but just emphasized how narrow the room was.

It's a nice hotel for a romantic weekend in bed, but not a room where you should expect to entertain guests or get some work done. That said, the downstairs bar seemed to be filled with a young, attractive crowd in the middle of the week. Strangely, there was also no room service, but possibly because there isn't much space in the rooms to eat it. Breakfast was a disappointment, especially considering what it cost. I have had better breakfasts at pubs for cheaper. I suggest they go across town to "The Wesley" and check out their breakfast to see what they should aspire to.

I'd stay here again if I was in the neighborhood and the price was right, but not sure I'd go out of my way to come back.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,798 - 1,804 of 3,397 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights over the weekend. Hotel is exactly what it says it is : it's design all over.
Rooms are rather small but have everything you need. XL Kingsize bed. Not really much room to relax though...but then you have the groundfloor bar / lobby / restaurant where you can rest and have a drink (or more).

Breakfast is simple but good. Staff friendly and helpfull.

Room Tip: Wouldn't know what room to recommend, they're all the same. Perhaps a room facing the backya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Wanderer_Like_You
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed here on the weekend, a kid free day/night in London. The reviews on TA Looked good, and the style of the place appealed to us.
We were not let down when we arrived. Its a great feel to the place, with friendly staff, and a nice informal check in.
The lobby/bar area is probably the best I have ever seen in a hotel, its simply a great space.
The rooms are small yes, but very well done. The hi tech touch is also a neat way of adding interest, but we did experience some issues with heating which took the edge off the night. Having said that the way the hotel have dealt with it is what leads me to the title of the review. Once we have been back again, and if the glitch was a one off, then yes this will become our fave hotel.
Fingers crossed.

Room Tip: Road side room was noisey at times, but hey its next to a road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgrt09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had booked that hotel based on the hype on TA and the opportunity to experience something different.

They are cool ! Diferent things in the room and lobby as you can figure out in any review.

But, in other hand a great sort of the things you should not have time or need to experience in a typical tourist trip, such as one entire floor for business meetings.

For me, better should be to have a room closer to the central line, (they are 750m from the closest tube), with no tube connection every time you go to central London. If I were you, I should get another hotel and drop in the lobby to have some drinks and take some pictures.
The service on the front door is very good and they are very close to restaurants, Shakespeare Globe and Tate Modern and Burrough Market., indeed.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This has to be the coolest and funkiest hotel I have stayed in and I am so glad I come across this hotel in London!! It certainly is for the modern tourist and has the latest in technology. I loved the fact that you checkin at a Kiosk and the staff float around the area to assist you so it still has the human presence. The hotel lounge/breakfast/bar/Computer area/courtyard are all communal and the hotel oozes such a cool atmosphere and is soooooo stylish. The bedrooms are ultra cool with everything controlled by the Ipad which cannot be anymore modern and up to date with technology - to turn on the TV you use the Ipad!!! As I was on business it was a flying visit but cant wait to return on a leisure basis and get abit more time to relax and soak up the atmosphere!! I would highly recommend this hotel and its in a really cool area with a street called "The Cut" offering fantastic restaurants, cool café/bars and little bookshops like in Notting Hill that stay open until 10pm!! Well done Citizen M - great hotel, great staff and a major thumbs up from Dublin!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ailbhe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is the best hotel we have stayed in. Perfect location. Price is reasonable for a very well located London hotel. Staff extremely helpful. Bedrooms compact but perfectly formed! Beds - the most comfortable I have ever slept in away from home. Great soundproofing, didnt hear a sound once we were in our rooms. Fantastic public spaces with really cool furniture and a fabulous ambiance. My husband loved all the gadgets especially the tablet in the room to control everything including mood lighting and music. All in all a fantastic stay and cant wait to try some of the other hotels. Unfortunately we are going to New York later this year but the Citizen M hotels there are not open yet :(
Citizen M will be our hotel of choice when we next visit London.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudithNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Really enjoyed our couple of nights here for Halloween. We stayed at the sister hotel in Glasgow last week and knew what to expect regarding the rooms and check in/out etc. The technology is great with an internet enabled tablet waiting for you in the room. The rooms, as previously reviewed, are a little tight but no worse than a lot of others we have stayed in in the capital. The Bankside location is really good and about a 5 minute walk to Southwark underground station.
The bar is very lively and the public areas are great places to be. Special mention must go to the staff who were, again, like Glasgow last week, really good. Very helpful, professional and friendly.
I would definitely look to using this chain, at home and abroad, again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#110 of 1,076 in London
3,278 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in London
#33 Business Hotel in London
#61 Romantic Hotel in London
#81 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $150 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CitizenM London Bankside England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing