We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Contemporay Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #84 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Top Notch Contemporay Hotel”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

First time to England (London). Stayed for 10 days at CitizenM....First class place! Friendly staff working front desk and bar! Funky and colorful lobby with very bright and colorful furniture/decor...feels like home! Huge, comfortable bed, stylish decor in room with table to use laptop. Samsung tablet in each room allows you to control the room temperature, lighting, music, blinds, alarm, tv, as well as being used for web surf. Booked several months in advance and paid less than $200 per night for a top 20 hotel in London. 3 blocks from Tube....7 min walk! HIGHLY recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard are quieter. Choose higher floor too
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JChristopher5246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,236
    876
    129
    45
    14
See reviews for
303
1,657
203
602
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (653)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We recently stayed at citizenM for 5 nights. The room was very clean and comfortable despite being small. Most importantly, the room was quiet and we were able to sleep well after long days of sightseeing. The only drawback to the room was the bathroom had very little privacy.

The staff was great for the most part. A man by the name of Hiral (I think) was extremely friendly and helpful and made up for the one rude bartender we encountered.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My friend and I travel very frequently to London and our choice of Hotel is always the citizenM.

Our recent stay there was my third and my friends fourth time.

First of all it is perfect for our needs as we are always on the road and don't need a traditional setting regarding reception and so on. The bed is fantastic, the room makes good use of the space there is, you can get to the next tube station in just five minutes, the area around the hotel feels safe and secure and the staff is very friendly in general. Free internet is always a plus. The lobby
is just great and so is the bar and the drinks.

We also appreciated the assistance we got when our credit cards didn't work and the free early check in when the duty manager noticed that we are frequent clients.

However this time we encountered a problem we never had before - as we ordered two Mojitos from the lovley lady at the bar we noticed the duty manager (not the same person from our check-in) shooting us some unfriendly glares. After that he was shouting some words from the distance in Spanish to the lady who was mixing our drinks. She responded as well in Spanish and they exchanged some more words. Now if you have some basic knowledge in Spanish and your not dense it was clear he thought that we are underage and ordering drinks despite that. We were asked by the lady at the bar for some identification and got our drinks after that.

We get it we are looking young for our age and it is your duty to check ID but please do that in a manner which is not embarrassing for your clients. We felt very uncomfortable and even got one or two strange looks from this person after we showed ID!

Like I said if you feel the need to check ID do it professional and discrete but not in such rude manner.

We were disappointed with the way it was handled.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank subzonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the CitizenM on a weekend break for 2 in London. The staff were fantastic really pleasant and very helpful in fact they are not called " staff" they are "Ambassadors" which I found due to their friendly demeanour to be very apt. In the room the kingside beds were really comfortable and the rain forest shower very good. The mood lights, music and television are all controlled by a tablet in the room which we found really easy to use. Some people complained about the bathroom sink being outside the bathroom but personally we did not find this a problem.
All in all a very pleasant stay and would not hesitate to stay at a CitzenM again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomstaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Interesting hotel, as if you were in the year 2030.
If you need big rooms, and need room service facilities, I don't recommend this hotel.
If you need the hotel room for the night and morning, I recommend. A very big king size bed, clean and functional shower cabin, wc etc. Everything modern and good quality, but limited space, like in the cabin of a cruiser.
But an excellent, friendly and helpful team, which makes everything very simple, and a very nice lobby, best coffee in London, very good breakfast. Good location.

Room Tip: No difference between the rooms. İf you are noise sensitive, choose a room, not on the streetside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atuncalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

After our good experience with CitizenM in Amsterdam last year, we couldn't wait to go back to the hotel. So when I saw CitizenM popped up from my search for London hotels, I booked a room with a 3 night stay without hesitation. I like thier nice big bed, staylish decor and the in room tablet that allows you to control the room temperature, lighting, music, blind and as well as being used for web surfing. Lobby is another highlight, which is funky, colourful and very inviting. I will recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Loved our recent stay here. Beautiful hotel and decent location. Reasonable price and excellent service. Was very pleasantly surprised. The rooms are small don't get me wrong but they are very comfortable and have everything you could need. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel and fully intend to stay in the new hotels they are opening in central London.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelswithmyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#107 of 1,068 in London
3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#52 of 1,068 in London
1,560 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#56 of 1,068 in London
3,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Property: citizenM London Bankside
Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in London
#33 Business Hotel in London
#61 Romantic Hotel in London
#79 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CitizenM London Bankside England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing