We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Style over substance.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM London Bankside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #83 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Style over substance.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed for three nights for a weekend away in london with my partner. The room itself was small. There was no bath and no tea or coffee making facilities. There is no room service so I had to go down to the bar to purchase tea and take it up to my room and we couldn't get any food when we got back in after a night out. They do provide a tablet in the room which controls the lights and tv which is fun to use. There are also free movies provided. The room was clean. The location was ok, but not particularly special. Overall it was very overpriced for what we got and things I take for granted in hotels, like being able to make a cup of tea in my room, were missing. I've stayed in nicer hotels in more central locations for less. I wouldn't come back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuffingnora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenDiego, at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi "Chuffingnora",

Thanks for sharing your experience with fellow travellers on TripAdvisor.

We believe you should enjoy beautiful coffee and amazing tea, with fresh milk so while there's no kettle in our rooms, canteenM downstairs has trained baristas, who will take great pleasure in making you a great hot drink. I apologise if you were not able get food when returning from a night out, I will discuss this internally as it should not have happened, canteenM is open 24/7 round the clock.

Some features that you can expect at citizenM are check-in/out that takes less than 2 minutes, no queues, no paper handling; free wi-fi, free movies on demand, contemporary space to work and lounge, a room that is smart in size and functional in technology, and some little twists because we think a hotel stay can be a fun experience too.

That said, I respect your comments but feel sorry your expectations were not met here.

All the best,
Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,128
    835
    120
    43
    14
See reviews for
290
1,576
198
561
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Was very pleased with first impression, however this changed when we were given room 448,this is a disabled room. When approached staff, they stated that it was not,they lied. Breakfast limited and expensive,better cafes down the street. Staff have very limited knowledge of local area and facilities. After initial cost of room, was also annoyed to be paying £2 for a cup of tea!!. I am not mean by any way,but did find lack of tea and coffee making facilities in room, just another way of gaining further expense. Flashy hotel,beds are amazing, but would be researching more hotels before booking next time. Lovely hotel if you are given right room and a bottomless wallet!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lewhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenDiego, at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi "Lewhar",

I'm very sorry we let you down with the room and breakfast.

Rooms are assigned at check-in and upon availability, you can choose the option that fits your preference. Ambassadors are more than happy to change when there is sufficient availability or when you add a note to the reservation. My apologies for the experience you had as it is not representative of citizenM and it's values.

As for the breakfast, you can choose a la carte, just like a local cafe, or for GBP11,95 a selection of fresh baked croissant, pain aux raisin and pain au chocolat with organic preserves, fresh pressed orange juice, organic cereals, including a gluten free option with yoghurt and fruit compote, fresh fruit salad, omelettes, tomatoes, sausage, hash browns, bacon and toast. We also serve espresso based coffee made to order for our guests. While we are always working on improving selection, I apologise if it doesn't fit your expectations. I hope you give us a chance by sharing more details about your expectations. If you wish to do so, feel free writing me directly via citizendiego@citizenm.com.

Your comments are taken very seriously as we improve the service we offer. I'm again sorry to let you down.

I wish you all the best and safe travels!

Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
367 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I cannot say how delighted my wife and I were with our stay at CitizenM. Upon entry you are greeted by welcoming staff who help you check-in. The lobby instantly catches your eye with its modern design and warm feeling. You can sit in any of the comfy couches and chairs or just lounge by the bar. The rooms are not large, but the personality of the room makes up for the size. The ipad tablet that controls everything from the lighting to blinds adds to the modern charm of the hotel. Free wifi works great and doesn't require a password. The bed is just as comfortable as the many trip advisor guests have mentioned. The rainfall shower also feels great in the morning or after a day touring London.
Make sure you treat yourself to this lavish hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourguiderich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I love this high tech hotel, ipad controls for TV, AirCon, mood lighting and even the blinds. Very contemporary of course, indeed, a COOL hotel to stay in, this Dutch concept works in London, expect many more from them. Good breakfast selection, the cafe latte free until 11am are superb, Marks & Spencers & Tate Modern across the street. What more could you ask for..
Comfy beds, friendly staff - tick - got those too plus of course high tech check in, check out.
The rooms are a tad small for 2, perfect for 1. Loved it... Will be back ;)

Room Tip: Get a quiet courtyard room, as construction work is ongoing on one side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonycelfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed for 11 nights in August 2013 my wife, three young daughters 9.7 and 3 years and myself. We were booked into two adjacent rooms due to max 2 occupancy per room.
First we felt the room is too small and the hotel is not a family friendly one.
But later, we were DeLiGhTED due to the wonderful, incredible FRIENDLY AND PROFESSIONAL TEAM, who WERE VERY CONCERNED ABOUT SATISFYING US all the time.
The Hotel is very modern, starting with the automatic touch screen check-in , modern colored furniture, wireless pad control panel in the room and light control in the room with different color for different moods.
if we had to go to London again we will think again about citizen M hotel! the welcoming and sweet approach of the manager Eylem and all of the team Suzan, Elise, Herald,...and we can say all of the team or family member their will make you feel at home! my 3daughters had a blast, and got in love with Eylem who was very thoughtful and super kind with my girls and therefore they are always asking to go to citizen m for our next trip to London,
in brief you can have a huge room in other hotels but if the team is not professional and very well trained you will not care about your spacious room then!so i advice u to experience citizen m soon and take our love to a family we left there

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnnyMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

The CitizenM hotel fits spot-on with the trendy London area.The room is essentially built around a king-size bed. Just enough room for one - or two who are very close....very very close. There's only a bed so you're really not going to spend too much time hanging out in the room. Plenty of current technology. The rooms lights, alarm, climate are controlled by a samsung tablet with various mood lighting. You wouldn't send your parents here...they'd still be trying to figure out how to turn on the lights.

A common area that is actually fun to hang out in. Seems like most of the area workers frequent the bar area after work.

The workers there are very friendly and helpful.

The air conditioner has some issues, it never really got cool in the room. The room we were in overlooked a construction site so there was some noise. I'd prefer a bit of a bigger sink area, you can't walk from the closet to the bed if the bathroom "pod" is open.

I like the funky trendiness of the hotel.

Room Tip: Not overlooking construction site
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJGolfVac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and it was a fun ultra modern, very clean hotel with the most comfortable bed ever. Space in the room was tight but thats London for you. Everything is electronic from the
check-in, blinds, lights and television. Breakfast was very good and staff very helpful. Location is great although it took us a while to work out the quickest way to Southwark underground. Very near to Borough market, Globe theatre, Tate modern and Millennium Bridge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMorrison9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#54 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#103 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#48 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,156 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Property: citizenM London Bankside
Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in London
#33 Business Hotel in London
#61 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CitizenM London Bankside England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing