We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
citizenM London Bankside
Nearby Hotels
$336
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$255
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$291
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$161
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$376
$313
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$223
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$143
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$256
Montague Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$182
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$288
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,774)
Filter reviews
3,774 results
Traveler rating
2,526
1,025
149
57
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,526
1,025
149
57
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscitizen mmood lightingfree moviesborough marketsamsung tabletrooms are smallroom controlsfunky hotelhigh techlondon bridgehuge bedtate modernsouthwark tuberain showersouth banklounge arealoved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
2,375 - 2,380 of 3,774 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I would verify much that has been written here, but I do have friends who couldn't cope with the challenges of changing your mindset for a new service experience. Firstly there is no traditional barrier between staff and customer, who is immediately engaged with the running of the hotel by being trained to self check in by a helpful fellow citizen. The egalitarian concept extends to the barrack like uniformity of the rooms and the need for some discipline to keep a small spartan space in proper order:no room to mess up your room here, and better to enjoy the great spaces and comfort in the common areas where fast free and functional wifi takes your social networking nicely with you. This is a genuinely different experience, and well in tune with our evolving need for seamless connectivity, as expressed through the room control pad as the focal point of the guest experience.
Of course computers can go wrong too: our room had a problem with lights not switching off, quickly and cheerfully remedied by a few seconds of darkness as the room was 'rebooted'. Made me feel right at home that did.
We loved this hotel and will definitely be back, especially as we know the transport connections better, particularly the Thames clipper which is a brilliant way to travel along the river. The nearby market is fantastic too and the food options in the area are excellent. The hotel is a little expensive in its class, but in the London market it's reasonable comparative value. Worth a try.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Danny_Livngston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Small but perfectly formed rooms. Great location. Good value. Funky. What more can I say. After stoping in other expensive and varied hotels citizenm wins hands down. Rooms also quiet and beds amazing. Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andybhamuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Second time we've stayed at Bankside having previously stayed at CitizenM in Glasgow.
Perfect base for a city trip - central location, comfy bed and a really fun atmosphere.
My twenty something sons love the reception/bar area - very stylish. Yes, the rooms are small but they have everything you need if you're going to be out and about all day. Huge beds are extremely comfortable, power shower does the job intended and above all the rooms are extremely well insulated so very little "hotel corridor" noise. The young staff are all extremely pleasant and helpful and more than make up for the fact that there's no concierge service. While the website does say early check in is extra, both times we've stayed at Bankside we've arrived well before 2.00 and have been given rooms straight away with no extra charge and a lot of more expensive hotels levy charges for late check out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linda23-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights here in May and enjoyed it. The location was perfect for our plans (close to transit, easy walk across the river, good restaurants in the area, right by the Tate Modern and the Globe). The room was interesting, in that it was one of their wheelchair accessible ones. This resulted in huge bathroom (we stored our luggage in there) with a very low sink. They're definitely to be applauded for inclusivity in the design, but if you're tall, you might be better with a regular room. The very large bed was comfortable and great for lounging on. We had a courtyard room which was surprisingly quiet, given the smoking patio below, but this may have been a function of the lousy weather. The bar/lounge area was very cool, the design interesting and the staff were helpful. Even though they don't have a "reception" desk per se, there was always someone at the front to help out. The breakfast was quite expensive but, at least during the week, there are lots of other choices around, as the area is home to lots of offices. As noted in other reviews, you have to pay extra for various services that other hotels would include, but the base price was reasonable for what you get. My only real complaint was that the bed had only a comforter rather than a top sheet and a comforter, so finding the perfect sleep temperature was a challenge. I know this is the in thing at some places, but it's not optimal for sleeping.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyB38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

As we were going to Tate Modern we chose the CitizenM in Bankside for its modern concept as an accompaniment to our three-day stay. What we found was a wonderful surprise and a London hotel that went way beyond our expectations! The hotel's modernity was in its clean lines and new-look room technology. The relaxing atmosphere, good food and helpful and friendly staff were something else which made much more of an impact on us. From the chambermaids to the front desk staff we were treated like family and this service could not have been improved. The only possible downside for anyone may by for those with limited mobility as the bed was essentially built into the wall on three sides with only one side for access which may prove difficult for some. We will definitely be returning there. For those used to the northside of the Thames, we found everything within striking distance - 10-15 minute walk to the Museum of London/Barbican was straightforward and the area had many nice cafes and restaurants. Well done to all!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elfdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews