We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
citizenM London Bankside
Nearby Hotels
$251
$211
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$225
$217
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$174
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$225
$171
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$207
$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$235
$228
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$232
$198
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$255
$238
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 41(London)
$1,055
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$261
$243
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,742)
Filter reviews
3,742 results
Traveler rating
2,508
1,015
147
56
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,508
1,015
147
56
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscitizen mmood lightingfree moviesborough marketsamsung tabletrooms are smallroom controlsfunky hotelhigh techlondon bridgehuge bedtate modernsouthwark tuberain showersouth banklounge arealoved this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,346 - 2,351 of 3,742 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

As we were going to Tate Modern we chose the CitizenM in Bankside for its modern concept as an accompaniment to our three-day stay. What we found was a wonderful surprise and a London hotel that went way beyond our expectations! The hotel's modernity was in its clean lines and new-look room technology. The relaxing atmosphere, good food and helpful and friendly staff were something else which made much more of an impact on us. From the chambermaids to the front desk staff we were treated like family and this service could not have been improved. The only possible downside for anyone may by for those with limited mobility as the bed was essentially built into the wall on three sides with only one side for access which may prove difficult for some. We will definitely be returning there. For those used to the northside of the Thames, we found everything within striking distance - 10-15 minute walk to the Museum of London/Barbican was straightforward and the area had many nice cafes and restaurants. Well done to all!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elfdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Excellent choice for a mixed range family reunion with predominantly early twenty somethings and teenagers.Fabulously hip decor and outstanding quality of breakfast and gadgets in the rooms like mood lighting created a fun atmosphere.The oldies in our group were amused and tolerant although a nice old teaservice in the rather cramped but spotless and very comfortable capsule like rooms would have been welcome.Very comfortable beds and showers and good service.Convenient for the Shard and Borough market.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeresaRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is another one of those "love it or hate it" places I think. Recently stayed for 3 nights whilst in London on business, and personally, was pleasantly suprised. My normal hotel in London was booked out, so I took a gamble - I know the CitizenM concept, but often reality can diverge from the promised offering online.

This is a cheap(ish) no-frills place, kind of a "build your own experience" place, so you will pay for extras - any extras. Early check in? Extra. Late check out? Extra. Breakfast not included...and so on. That is not necessarily a bad thing, but it may make a difference to some.

The downstairs lobby/bar/restaurant/general seating area is a masterclass in modern, trendy design - absolutely stunning in my opinion, and a really nice atmosphere every day - people working, couples planning their days, groups drinking...really well appointed, lovely little touches (the "CitizenM says..." snippets around the hotel were quirky and fun). Food and drinks a little pricey (GBP 2.50 for a latte), but it is an hotel.

Room was, as advertised, a pod...massive bed taking up half the room, tiny toilet/shower cube, tiny room - but not uncomfortable by any means. If you prefer spending time in your room working then I wouldn't recommend it, otherwise the size is irrelevant given your options downstairs. High tec of course - lights, TV, blinds and temperature are all controlled from a tablet, and you have the option of setting "moods" - music and lighting to reflect romance, party, work, etc. Bit of a novelty, but definitely appeal for the modern, trendier traveler. Bed was really comfortable I thought.

Nothing really negative about the place, although I did discover an errant hair in my shower and the breakfast was pretty average for the GBP 15 I paid on the last day. Location was good as well, with access to busses, taxis and relatively close to Soutwark and Waterloo stations.

In summary, if you like space in your room, and prefer a traditional hotel experience with some leeway around check in/out times etc, then this is definitely not for you. I would also suggest that anything longer the 2 - 3 nights is probably too much if you are on business travel. If you are on vacation, want an hotel with a great atmosphere in the afternoons and evenings in the common areas, enjoy the technology aspect of life, and enjoy experiencing more "concept" type hotels, then I think you'd really enjoy the place.

Room Tip: Room choice is irrelevant - all are identical.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wandering_Saffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here early June. We had a late flight in so was great to have someone in the reception area just before midnight! The atmosphere as soon as you walk in is amazing - the bar clearly attracts not just guests and it is a funky, modern, trendy and relaxing space.
Our room overlooked the garden; it was nice and quiet. We stayed 3 nights and that was enough before we started feeling too cramped in our room. They are small! The bed is huge, and amazing! Using the tablet for all the lights tv etc was annoying - one morning the alarm wouldn't turn off! Plus if I was on the Internet on the tablet, and hubby wanted to change the tv channel he couldn't.
The location was great - a 20 minute walk to south bank and only a 10 minute walk to the nearest train station.
Overall I would definitely stay here again, but only on short trips

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laubish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

CitezenM is amazing! I cannot recommend it enough! The hotel itself has some spectacular architecture and design features- memorable, colourful and cultural, embracing those who love to travel! There were so many added features that really completed our stay. The rooms had ipads to control mood lighting and movies on demand and there was free wifi. The room itself was very funky and the bathroom was luxurious. We cannot say how amazingly helpful and lovely the staff were! This hotel is incredible and is an experience within itself. Honestly would stay here 100% again and am so pleased i decided to stay here. For the price, there is nothing to compare it to... in its own league.

Room Tip: The ambassadors gave us the best room they could anyway. They knew construction was going on at one area so gave us the other room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews