We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got a lot better after a slightly disappointing start”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #95 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our one night stay at CitizenM was very much a last minute decision, as we were seeing a show to celebrate our twenty-fifth wedding anniversary and decided to not to rush home afterwards. I knew nothing of the CitizenM ‘concept’ beforehand and had simply glanced at the website and the fact that TripAdvisor comments had been very positive. The website photographs looked enticing and we had stayed in similar ‘boutique’ hotels in Barcelona and Malaga previously.

We didn’t get off to the best of starts as we couldn’t find the bus stop in Waterloo Road, so decided to walk. Not a problem, as we know London well, and it didn’t take long to navigate our way to the hotel on foot. The lobby was as impressive as imagined and the DIY check-in was simple. So far so good…

First impressions on finding our room however were, I have to be honest, of disappointment. To some extent, this was our fault not that of the hotel. The ‘M’ in CitizenM stands for ‘mobile’ and the idea is that every room is simply a place to sleep, and is quite ‘pod-like’: I had just expected ‘luxury double room’ to mean something different. It transpires that the majority of the rooms are identical: the ‘luxury’ refers to the bed, and yes, it is large and very nice. Of more concern however, was the fact that the bed linen did not look as if it had been changed, and that the pillows and duvet were simply piled in a heap on the bed. By chance a couple of the housekeeping staff were still in the corridor outside and I asked one of them to come and have a look, asking whether it was fresh linen or not. Unfortunately, her English was very poor but she began changing the linen.

I left my wife in the room and went back down to the lobby, to check if were in the correct room. I spoke to Klara, who explained the concept of the hotel but informed me that there were also rooms for disabled visitors, if I wanted to look at one of those. These are a little bigger and with a wet-room rather than small shower/toilet – the linen was also clean and arranged in a neat pile (not a heap) on the bed (this is so guests can decide which way ‘round they wish to sleep). I explained that it was a special occasion and told her about the linen in the other room, which she appeared genuinely concerned about. We agreed to change rooms.

Things got a lot better thereafter…

A few minutes later, Klara rang and offered us complimentary breakfast the following day and then, when we arrived back from the theatre, there were some chocolates in the room and an invitation to have a complimentary drink in the bar downstairs. It was a small gesture, but made all the difference.

By the end of our brief stay, I had become used to the concept of CitizenM although would still have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room, and the availability of fried or boiled eggs at breakfast. Those used to a hearty cooked breakfast will be disappointed as the cooked food on offer is nothing special, but the ‘continental’ options are fine. If you want a ‘full English’ there are small cafes in the surrounding side streets.

The hotel certainly scores highly on décor, and if you are looking for something ‘hip and funky’, resembling the pages of a certain Scandinavian furnishing company catalogue (CitizenM is Dutch by the way) you won’t be disappointed. It’s certainly aimed at a younger, ‘arty’ crowd: there were a lot of Macbooks in evidence, and free WiFi and iMacs are provided for guests (no sign of a PC anywhere). If you prefer chintz, then stay away! All the room controls are operated by a ‘tablet’, with different lighting moods available, and room was very quiet. There is a great range of free movies if you want to watch one, and also a number of different wake-up call options. We went for the ‘gentle’ option, which it was ☺

Location-wise, CitizenM is situated roughly equidistant between Waterloo and London Bridge. There is a bus stop virtually outside with services to Waterloo (station and South Bank) and Covent Garden; and Southwark underground (Jubilee Line) is less then 10 minutes walk, so getting into central London is easy. Tate Modern, The Globe and St. Pauls are within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for an inwards facing room. In the room we were originally allocated, there were workmen on scaf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastbourneNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,157 - 2,163 of 3,510 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

I'd attempt to keep this from being 'just another 5 star review', but our stay really couldn't have been better.

The Rooms:
The rooms are not huge, but make much better use of the space compared to other hotels in London we've stayed in for work. The bed is HUGE (plenty of room for 2 people) and more comfortable, with softer sheets, than any other hotel I've stayed in. They have a Samsung Tablet in every room, which controls the lights, the TV, opens and closes the shades... you choose the 'mood' in the room and it does all the rest. The TV channels were as good as you could hope for, and the Movie selection was definitely up to date, and had something for pretty much everyone. It's not HBO, more like an 'on-demand' movie selection like you'd find on a good airline, with a couple dozen options to choose from. The free WiFi in the room is a huge plus, along with British, American, and European outlets for charging phones and computers.

The reception area:
Besides the high-tech remote controller in the bedroom, the lobby is definitely the reason this hotel is ranked the trendiest in the world. There are books you can check out, and iMacs for public use, but the fully stocked bar (though somewhat lacking on Whiskey), free public WiFi, and plethora of seats are the reason why this lobby is a relatively happening after-work location... even for people not staying in the hotel. Next to the bar is the food (pay at the bar) where they have a small (but tasty) selection every day. If you're picky, they're across the street from some good restaurants (like Vapianos) as well.

The service:
The staff was very nice, and helpful during check-in, and quickly helped fix a problem with my TV when I couldn't get the channel to change (a simple room-reset worked). The bar staff was quick, and friendly.

The location:
It was about a 10 minute walk from London Bridge. It's easy to get to, there's a few other hotels along the street, and on this side of London Bridge are TONS of good bars and restaurants (Borough Market). It's no problem getting to or from the area.

The price:
Work paid for it, but per-day it was only a few pounds more than 'cheap' London hotels like the IBIS or the Premier Inn. Having stayed in those before, this was DEFINITELY worth the extra
expense.

Overall:
Couldn't have been better. I'll definitely be staying there next time I'm in London. HIGHLY recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the center court-yard. They're away from the street, and provide a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJZimmer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I loved Citizen M, from the quirky chairs in the lobby and bar, to the playful features in the room, including a floppy bunny, and colored lighting control. It was wonderful having a computer tablet to use in the room. It was like being in a Fred Flintstones pod. I did miss having a teapot. Great room. I'd go back in a heartbeat. The room was very quiet, which I didn't expect to find in London.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seriousbookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I'd never stayed south of the river before but my office is located near St. Paul's and citizenM was just a 15 minute walk and much better value than comparable hotels in other parts of London. Location was great both for getting to the other side of the river and for walking to restaurants/shops/transportation. Borough Market is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel and there are dozens of fantastic restaurants close by. There is also an M&S right across the street in case you need to stock up on any snacks, drinks, etc.

The lobby is impressive with lots of cozy seats and computers for guests to use. You check in using a kiosk, which is quick and easy to use and there is staff nearby to help with any questions.

When we got to the room we were a bit shocked as it is tiny with a MASSIVE bed. The room is probably about 60% bed. Immediately upon walking into the room there was a little closet and safe on the left and a big mirror, sink and counter on the right. The bathroom consisted of a toilet/shower cubicle that, while small, was surprisingly nice. You can choose to use the regular showerhead or the rainfall shower head, which I loved. After the bathroom there was a little desk and a nightstand with the tablet that controls everything in the room and from there it was all bed! The bed stretched from one wall to the other with a big window at the end and a big flat screen tv on one of the walls. It was so huge we could have slept on it in any direction and fit with no problem.

The bed was super comfy with nice, fluffy pillows and a cozy duvet. It was easy to use the tablet, which controlled the blinds/curtain, TV, temperature and room lighting. One odd feature of the room was the lighting - there was normal lighting through most of the room but in the shower area there was this crazy, colored mood lighting. You could choose any color you wanted or have it cycle through all or some of the colors. Nothing like showering in the morning with the room changing from blue to yellow to pink to red. Bizarre!

I'd definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to others. It was good value, very clean and in a good location. That being said, if you're planning to spend a good deal of time in your room this may not be the place for you as there isn't much space to spread out unless you're staying on your own.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T_in_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is very well appointed for the traveller, at the right price, a great bed and everything you need. The ensuite is a bit pokey but no problems at all. The hotel is also well located and the staff very helpful and friendly.
I highly recommend citizenM

Room Tip: Go for a room facing the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattkeogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Wonderful, friendly, and super location! Happy colours lend great ambience and the staff are wonderful. Just a few minutes from Southwark station (if you walk the right way....ask the ambassadors for directions), Globe and Tate Modern. Fabulous!!! Rooms are quite small but very well equipped and we did not mind it since we left early each morning and returned late at night just to shower and sleep. We got a very good price as well!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, apparently. Ours was on the fourth floor, facing the atrium. Very comfy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just spent an excellent 3 nights at this innovative. Rooms make best use of the small space. The bed is seriously comfy and huge, the best I've ever had in a hotel, same can be said for the shower. The Samsung tablet for controlling the room was a great and easy to use. The lounge and public areas are spacious, comfortable and very modern. Electronic check in/out was trouble free. Staff were very helpful and always smiling. Cooked breakfast good but not outstanding, pastries and cereals very good. Location is very pleasant, perfect for the South Bank, Globe Theatre and Tate Modern. 5mins walk from Southwark tube or the Millenium foot bridge. Free wifi, good price (especially for London). Can't recommend highly enough.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank afmorriarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,078 in London
3,356 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in London
#61 Romantic Hotel in London
#88 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $131 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CitizenM London Bankside England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing