We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CitizenM second stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #87 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I recently stayed here for the second time having originally visited shortly after it opened. The room, service and hotel facilities were as expected; flawless. Rooms are small and compact yet provide everything required for a refreshing and active stay in London, with all features of the room (temperature or coloured lighting to electronic blinds and curtains) controlled by the press of a button on the tablet provided! Location is ideal and situated a mere 5 minute walk from London Bridge (Jubilee line).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAB194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,183 - 2,189 of 3,469 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is great. I will recommend CitizinM to all persons travelling to London.
Fancy rooms, clean and well equipped.
The Bar and the common areas was fancy.
Perfect locations!
Will use this hotel next time when visiting London.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiaSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Brand new modern design hotel located in an excellent area. The staff was very good, helpful and attentive. all electronic systems worked perfectly and are used in the best way. In one occassion we run into a problem with the laundry service, which was deald in a professional manner by the Duty Manageress. General conclusion a very nice 21st century hotel but with very small rooms, chich for somebody who stays for more than a day or two and has to spend sometime in his room is quite unpleasant.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Popi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

On arrival stepping through the automatic doors I was amazed at the modern design of the reception area and cool dutch designed furniture. Automated self check in which was easy although there were enough staff available to help if you were struggling.

Yes the rooms are small, the bed is right by the window, we were on the 4th floor looking onto the funky courtyard and could see the Shard. However the room was really pleasant, the bed was so comfortable and the rooms are soundproofed! What I really liked was the Samsung tablet which allows you to control the blinds, lighting, temperature and TV - we had fun switching the moods from Romantic to party - LED coloured lighting was brilliant.

There's no tea and coffee facilities but to be honest that was ok for our one night stay.

We will definitely stay here again! What was really nice was being able to catch the Thames Clipper from Bankside x

If you like quirky funkiness with a sprinkling of luxury then it has to be CitizenM .... Can't wait for our next stay :0)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melgee31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at CitizenM for a week at the beginning of May 2013, and we had such a good experience. Firstly, the location is excellent. Located in Southwark, it's only 4 minute walk from the tube and it has bus stops on its front door step. The neighbourhood is south of the river right near the Tate Modern away from the hustle and bustle of the city but still very accessible, in a very artsy young and vibrant area. There was also grocery stores right across the road which was very convenient.

The hotel itself was amazing - cool, funky and modern decor with a few surprises like mood lighting in the shower and everything in the room controlled by a Samsung tablet. At first it took us a while to get used to but after a while we grew to love it. Self service check in and check out were great, staff were also nearby to help out if need be.

The room itself appears small when you first walk in but there is storage under the bed which we found useful. Shower was one of the best I've ever used in a hotel, and the big bottle of shampoo in the shower was a bonus too.

Staff were very attentive and helpful, although a few of them didn't speak English very well which caused a couple of miscommunication issues.

Amenity wise, the free wifi and use of the iMacs and printers downstairs were a lifesaver! Every hotel should have this on offer, it made it easy for us to buy tickets for attractions online and print them for free right there in the hotel.

My only criticisms:
- Didn't like the encapsulated shower & toilet, if someone had a shower the toilet area would become very wet which I didn't like
- Breakfast was very overpriced - £13.95 pp if you don't prebook! Not much variety on over either. I'd go to the Thyme buffet breakfast which is a one minute walk away at Premier Inn on Greater Suffolk St, much much better value for your money!
- Early checkin and late checkout fees of £20 were a bit steep

Other than that, will definitely staff at CitizenM upon return to London, great experience!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is brand new, which means that all sanitary and other room equipment are in an excellent condition. Guests check themsleves in and out, the process is simple and straight forward. You must note that the hotel does not accept cash payments, only vredit cards.

The rooms are all similar, they are not large, but smartly designed and well equipped.

The Hotel staff is all very young, very helpful and polite. The lobby bar and restaurant are -again- superbly designed, friendly with a nice self service.

Will definitely return there!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreLebanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

First I was attracted by the price. Then the reviews really stood out. Hotel worked for me as I was traveling alone. But the room would not have worked if my wife was traveling with me, there was just enough room for my stuff. Free wifi was fantastic as were the free recently released movies. LOVED the lobby/cafe/sitting rooms on the first floor. A great place to spread out and get work done or socialize. Excellent coffee bar! Cafe food pretty ok. GREAT staff, all were enthusiastic and helpful. Bankside location was fantastic. If you have time, Bourough Market is a MUST visit nearby.

Room Tip: Inward facing courtyard rooms a must for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BazLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,077 in London
3,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in London
#33 Business Hotel in London
#61 Romantic Hotel in London
#81 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $137 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CitizenM London Bankside England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing