We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Customer Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM London Bankside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #88 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is my second visit to this hotel and just to say Ali on reception and Christopher were extremly helpful when my remote would not work then crashed on me....

Thanks to the team for being so helpful and pleasant. what a pleasure to stay with such wonderful staff to meet, greet you and help..

Great customer service. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,066
    818
    117
    42
    14
See reviews for
276
1,539
194
546
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

ultra modern hotel!!! amazing big bed!!! funky tablet to control blinds, curtains and lights, you even get mood lighting!! nice touch, we had a different colour room every night!! so relaxing, was a pleasure to get back to our room after a busy day shopping and sight seeing!!! Really cool hotel, we didnt try the food but it smelt lovely, yes the rooms are small but is all you need,very clean, tele with music channels etc, fridge, hair dryer, you dont get tea or coffee in the rooms but we weren't bothered, this is a funky cool hotel and we loved it, the staff we really helpful and the lobby is great, fireplace sofas and cool décor!! highly recommend this hotel !!

Room Tip: staff advised us of best room, front of hotel as there was building work at the back, not on the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonfox1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

stayed only one night for a quick stop over from london. was easy to get to on the tube from heathrow and hotel in a great location so close to soutwark station and for a walk along the south bank (london eye, big ben etc)

The rooms are great so clean and compact. The bed is amazing so comfy i didn't want to go out with all the free movies and wifi. The samsung table you use to control the whole room is a funny novelty. The rain shower also a touch of luxury.

I booked this when it opened so got a good discount but prices are still reasonable for londo, will defiantly be staying here again or other citizen m's..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I absolutely adore this hotel. It's close to the Southwark Undergroud station, and pretty easy to get to from Heathrow Airport. Check in was a breeze, you have a self-service counter with someone waiting to assist you if you have any problems.

The rooms are amazing, everything is controlled by a Samsung tablet. You can set mood lighting in the room, control the temperature, television. Not to mention the free-wifi is amazing!

The beds were very comfortable, and they even included an adorable little rag doll.

The entire place is spotless, breakfast was great (I would pre-order to save a few pounds), and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

The hotel is down a small street though, if you're walking from the underground, but there are a lot of little stores where you can buy little meals to go. A few restuarants nearby as well.

I will stay here again and again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessieNYC225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Look no further - for Concept, Comfort, Cleanliness , Creativity and Cost - it does not get any better than this ! There is an ease and such a relaxed ambience that you feel instantly at home - well , in your dream home ! Every detail has been thought through so carefully that you feel instantly cared for - Ambassadors who look genuinely happy to be at work , Colours and Quirks that tease the mind , a room so well designed that you feel as if you are in a Cocoon ! I recommend booking the breakfast and spending a lazy am reading newspapers and taking in the ambience . Whether for business of Pleasure this Hotel will not fail to impress . If just for you - a wonderful indulgence!
A place to just be .... ( do not get me started on the Coffee , Champagne and Cocktails!)...........
Claire ( Citizen C) !

Room Tip: All are identical - but late check out great option and very reasonable - more time to enjoy breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Wouldn't stay anywhere else in London, even on a higher budget. Free wifi everywhere, cell signal perfect throughout, tablet in every room which controls the blinds, lights, tv (with unlimited free movies as well), etc. Great showers. The food was excellent for breakfast and the bar was lively (but not too loud) and well staffed even at 2am.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derekpsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here on business for 5 nights. I found it very modern and funky with a buzzing bar/lobby area which makes a nice change. The bed was amazing, comfy, huge with massive pillows. The tablet was original and entertaining and it was nice to have free movies and WiFi. Also the sound-proofing was excellent. Far better than most hotels.
I have no real criticisms of the hotel I decided at the end of my stay. I have, I think, criticisms of my own old-fashioned preferences. After 5 days I had seen all the free movies I wanted to see (about 12(?) available ranging from horror to kids), seen all the lighting options, I missed a kettle and longed for a carpet rather than hard flooring (should be mopped each day for me). I also don't understand the video in the lift of people having a meal - strange.
Incidentally, you'd struggle to work for long at the table with stool but perhaps you'd be lounging with your 'pad and the free WiFi. I'd suspect it was an age thing but there seemed to be a fair proportion of middle-aged people around the place. Therefore I decided it's just me. Would return for a short stay though.

Room Tip: The person at reception told me the courtyard rooms are quieter than the street ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Me_n_Him99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#58 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#102 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#44 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,923 reviews
Notting Hill
La Suite West - Hyde Park
La Suite West - Hyde Park
#441 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Property: citizenM London Bankside
Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in London
#33 Business Hotel in London
#61 Romantic Hotel in London
#79 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CitizenM London Bankside England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing