We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, technology & nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #87 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value, technology & nights sleep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

booked for a one night city break for £99, which was cheaper than other hotels in the area, yet the hotel is of very high quality.

only complaint is that the 'rain shower' had not been properly cleaned so only half the nozzles worked, however there was another shower head so it didnt really matter.

silent room, huge bed (6ft square), and incredibly comfy nights sleep. great to have free movies and wifi to relax after being out all day. mood lighting and automatic blinds were also a good feature. would definitely recommend, just clean the shower heads!!

Room Tip: windows are by side of bed (great to stargaze while you fall asleep) but go higher up for more priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,162
    854
    123
    43
    14
See reviews for
298
1,601
200
575
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked fairly last minute, having read other positive reviews on trip adviser. We were pleasantly surprised with the standard of accommodation for such a good rate, especially in London. We a suckers for contemporary yet comfortable styling and this hotel hit the spot, especially as the staff were so helpful and informative. The little touches like being able to control the lighting, tv and blinds all via a tablet device was brilliant, I had fun changing the lighting while my other half was in the shower!
The room is compact, but I really liked it as it felt cosy, especially on a cold wet December day. The food and drink on offer was excellent, especially the breakfast, it kept us full all day. The drinks are a little pricey, but the bar staff were really knowledgeable, and it is London, drinks are very rarely cheap in the city.
The location was great for us, close to Waterloo, and near tube stations to be able to zip around London with ease. It's also great that it is so close to the Tate modern and lots of bars and restaurants along bankside.
I would really recommend this hotel for a short London stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THE_LAMINGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was one of those few occasions when the reality is actually better than the website. Easy to find & a great location for the New Year's Eve fireworks & several tube/train stations. Check-in was automated but there were plently of friendly helpful staff on hand if you needed them. The room was compact but immaculately clean with everything that you need for two nights in London. The bed was massive & one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. My husband loved the tablet that operated the blinds, lights, TV etc & had great fun changing the colour of the shower room. It was so easy to use & great fun. The breakfast seemed a bit expensive when we booked it, but it was definitely worth it. Great choice of cooked & cold food as well as real fruit juice & coffee. If you don't want to eat at the hotel, there are several shops & cafes around. A fantastic New Year's Eve to remember for years to come. The only thing wrong with this place is that I can't afford to stay there more often!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
150 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Citizen M in Amsterdam last year and was quite blown away by the style and value for money. The London hotel goes one better. It's spacious, funky, and a really laid back place to unwind after a day out in London. In my case it was work, but nonetheless, Citizen M has set a new benchmark for low cost short stay hotels others will struggle to match. My favourite place to stay overnight in London, bar none!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ComptonScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and i really enjoyed our new years eve nite, in what was a Compact, Contemporary,comfortable, room and in an overall stylish hotel. The hotel was good for us as cyclists as they had their own secure cycle parking area which I think every hotel should cater for! The room had a bed which was very large and comfortable but unfortunately being old fashioned I am used to getting into a bed which is actually made for us, rather than havin 2 pillows & a duvet piled in the middle of the bed for us to actually make it ourselves!? The other thing which was missing in the room and I'm probably being old fashioned again but I love a kettle so that Im able to make myself a nice cuppa....We were on the 5th floor which had a good view of the city although we found that the windows were not very soundproof even at the height we were!
We did love the idea of using the tablet to operate the lights, blind/curtain, temp, tv, internet(which was free :-)) so for us this was a very new and a great inovative way to please urselves with how we wanted the room to feel & enterntain. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to everyone who wants a good position in london as this was only a 5 min walk to the Tate modern & the embankment....The staff were nice and friendly and helped with check in & out which u do yourselves via computer! oh so modern! and even the lifts took a few minutes to work out how to use...with the aid of the card you are given when you check in! We cannot wait to go back again which we are planning to do new years eve again...

Room Tip: higher floors are quieter from street below Good for cyclists with secure parking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliemay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Convenient location for the eastern end of Central London, We just needed a room for a night so we could see the New Year's fireworks. The hotel was actually part of the fun rather than just a place to shower and sleep. Easy check in. Throughout the hotel they have gone out of their way to make it just a little bit different, the decor I think you would describe as "retro", but check out the pictures and decide for yourself. The room we stayed in was small but had all we needed. A big comfy bed, and lots of toys, We enjoyed playing with the lighting options. The shower/toilet pod is a little strange and.....how to put this delicately....it would be good to stay with someone you know well as it is not totally private. Moving on, Breakfast was excellent - buffet style. We only had a quick snack the day before that was good too, I enjoyed the Sushi. All in all good fun. Top tips? Car parking is expensive and limited, so public transport maybe better. Don't forget to press the button to lower the blinds - New Year's Day hang over's are not improved by bright sunlight. .

Room Tip: We were told the front can be noisier but has better views, the reverse is true of the back. You are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParcyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked the citizenM for New Years Eve on a special offer. We arrived around 4 and was greeted by a helpful host who guided us through the simple check-in process. We entered the room and were amazing by the cleanliness, style and features. The room had a tablet which was wonderful to set the mood and control the room. The room also came with a power shower, free wifi and movies, the hotel in general was a read breathe of fresh air. The hotel is located around 10 minutes walk from London Bridge and has many shops around it for anything you may have missed.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a classy night in London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisehb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#55 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#107 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#53 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,280 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Property: citizenM London Bankside
Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in London
#33 Business Hotel in London
#61 Romantic Hotel in London
#80 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CitizenM London Bankside England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing