We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #89 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Totally amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband booked us into this hotel for 2 nights from Monday, for our 1st wedding anniversary. As soon as you walk in you are totally mesmerized by the decor. Totally funky yet very relaxing! The rooms are pod like and a bit of a shock, however with the mood lighting, SUPER comfy bed and tablet controls the size of the room doesn't matter!

The decor is amazing, particularly the lite pictures at the end of the corridors. I even asked the staff whether you can buy these as pictures but unfortunately they are commissioned pieces. They would have looked great in my room or hallway!!

As this was for our anniversary one of the members of staff gave us 4 free cocktail vouchers, which was a lovely little touch.

Location was great as we went to the o2, Westfield in Stratford and Shaftsbury Theatre, which were all only a short train journey.

Breakfast was good, with a selection of cooked or pastry breakfasts.

All in all, I would definitely return to this hotel. Have even looked at Amsterdam and can't wait until NYC opens in 2013/2014 as I would love to go there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siannyparn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,161
    853
    123
    43
    14
See reviews for
298
1,600
200
575
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Really love the quirky design of the hotel and the living areas are really comfortable, modern and relaxing. The staff were really friendly on the whole.

The bedroom was a little on the small side and I did not like the bathroom section being so close to the bed, at all. Very little privacy so you need to be very comfortable with whoever you are staying with. However, it is worth being a bit cramped for a night to experience the rest of the hotel.

Unfortunately there were a few aspects that let it down.

1) I had an awful Mojito. I have had many in my time and it was really bad, very bitter. We told the barman and he was very ungracious and defensive and said he followed the recipe. I had a replacement drink but he made me feel really bad for my feedback and the situation in general. I was quite shocked at his reaction. Disappointing as he has been lovely and chatty earlier on.

2) The tablet broke and we were unable to turn off the lights so had to try to sleep in red light all night. Reception came to have a look but were unable to fix it.

In conclusion, I love the hotel, love the concept, love most of the design, just a shame about the little negative points. Would not stop me staying there and recommending the place tho.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelcakesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel was lovely but did have some "budget" elements, for example no bathrobe or toothpaste / toothbrush, additional mini bits and bobs beyond shower gel. The staff were really friendly, the breakfast was great and the wine list was exceptional. All around it was a great experience but I could not in all honesty give it full stars compared to "luxury hotels" I have stayed at in the past. Also, the bed was the most comfortable I had ever stayed in!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophiaBates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenDiego, at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hi "SophiaBates",

Thank you so much for sharing your citizenM experience with fellow travellers on Trip Advisor.

I'm happy you enjoyed our comfy XL bed and found the Ambassadors friendly, they were hired based on their genuine ability to smile and passion to serve.

Here at citizenM, we offer luxury where it counts, reason you won't find a chocolate on the pillow or a bathrobe but instead, free Wi-Fi, free movies on demand, a tablet moodpad to control everything in the room but also browse the web.

We believe we shouldn’t waste amenities if they are not used by all so if you do forget your toothpaste or toothbrush, our Ambassadors will be more than happy in giving to you. Little bottles of amenities were replaced by luxurious shower gels in every room, citizenAM and citizenPM were especially developed by a famous nose, who happens to also be responsible for creations of Comme des Garçons and Viktor & Rolf fragrances.

Wish you safe travels and hope to welcome you back soon.

All the best,
citizenDiego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Check in was at a computer terminal, fairly quick & easy, and a friendly member of staff was present-a good job if you aren't as techno literate as my beau. Lobby is v. v. cool, always a few cool looking characters lounging about on the designer chairs. The staff are obviously just bedding in, so any little niggles I had with the service will probably get ironed out as they find their feet.
The rooms are great, and thechnology plays a big part here too, as the lights, a/c, tv, curtains are all controlled using a tablet. Pretty easy to pick up but we could imagine some people being baffled. Rooms are pod-like, with a reallllllly comfy bed taking up the
entire window end of the room. This means the rooms are very compact, but we never felt squashed. There was a proper hairdryer in the room but no tea or coffee making facilities.
The hotel is quite well placed on the south bank, about 10 mins on foot from both Southwark and London Bridge.

Room Tip: Go for city rather than garden view. Not too much noise from the street, and it's just more inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcsnowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I must say that I was extremely impressed with this hotel, it's location, and furthermore it's staff. The location is very close to all the great sites at Wesminster, as well as a nice walk over the London Bridge, and was conveniently located close to the underground. The hotel, as it is brand new, was well kept, very nice and modest, and the hotel staff was extremely friendly and willing to accomodate any of my needs as far as questions about the city, restaurants, and POIs. The price was very reasonable and overall was a great hotel and trip. The rooms featured tablets that control the tv's, and lighting (which was awesome) and was great for researching the city throught it's free wifi. Overall, def. recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisFromBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I, in our sixties, spent 6 nights at Citizen M, and had a very positive experience. When I booked the hotel, my main concern was that we , as older guests, would feel out of place. Absolutely not so! The staff was wonderful, cheerful, enthusiastic, and helpful. One employee, TJ even insisted on making me several cups of lemon and honey tea because I had a bad cough. When we first saw our room my husband was complaining that it was much too small and cramped, but, after one day he felt totally comfortable. The only less than five star aspect is the low water pressure in the shower, otherwise, the bed, the lobby , the ease of everything had us totally sold.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MaryMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

If you've stayed at Citizen M Amsterdam, you know what's coming.
Clean, organised, querky, new, functional, affordable.
Liked the layout of the bathroom/shower facilities in this one.
the iPAD for room and TV controls really neat.
Equidistant between Southwark and London Bridge Underground stations.
Good staff and food.
We'll stay there on future visits for sure.

Room Tip: you don't go there for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itasca321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#55 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#106 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#53 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,278 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Property: citizenM London Bankside
Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in London
#33 Business Hotel in London
#61 Romantic Hotel in London
#82 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CitizenM London Bankside England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing