We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,042)
Filter reviews
4,042 results
Traveler rating
2,665
1,111
173
71
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,665
1,111
173
71
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews citizen m mood lighting free movies borough market rooms are small controlled by a tablet room controls high tech london bridge funky hotel huge bed tate modern southwark tube rain shower south bank lounge area loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
3,063 - 3,068 of 4,042 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Loved this hotel - fantastically comfortable bed, super quiet which is a rarity in this area of London and overall funky concept including the stuffed rabbit! The concept is ideal and I will definitely be going back. More of the same please Citizen Matt

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Bankside is undergoing a renaissance, evolving into a young, chic, urban destination. The CitizenM hotel fits spot-on into that model. I love the concept: Identical rooms, built around a king-size bed. Just enough room for one - or two who are very close. A common area that is actually fun to hang out in. Plenty of current technology. This is not your parents' hotel.

Sadly, after four nights, my husband and I left still enamored of the concept, but faulting the execution. I'll start out with the high points:

-Loved the great location, totally convenient to everything.
-Liked the self check-in, with staff assistance at the ready just in case.
-Adored the concept of the room: Living on a big comfy bed, playing with technology.
-Admired the layout of the room: Surprisingly functional for such a small place.
-Enjoyed nice linens, including big towels and a fluffy duvet. (No wash cloths for the shower gel, though.)
-Appreciated free internet, free movies, a Galaxy tab to play with.
-Relaxed in the large, well-designed, lively common areas.
-Obsessed over the bathroom "pod" lit by customizable LED lights - both fun and functional!

There are a couple of issues to be aware of when you choose this concept:

-The frosted glass bathroom pod offers visual privacy, but no other kind. So you will want to be *very* comfortable with your traveling companion.
-The room has a niche for everything - except a suitcase. Further, there is precious little space to unpack - the "closet" is tiny, with four hangers. There is a big drawer under the bed, but it is filled with an extra duvet. So, expect your suitcase to take up some inconvenient spot in your limited floorspace.

Finally, we encountered a number of problems independent of the room design:

-Our room air conditioner could not cool the room below about 80F, which made the fluffy duvet kind of moot. We contacted the staff, who said they would look into it; there was no follow up.
-One wall of the room is a window, with two blinds: blackout and sheer. Ours, however, only had blackout. With blackout blind up, there was no privacy; with blackout blind down, the tiny room became pretty claustrophobic. Again, contacted the staff, who said they would look into it; no response.
-There was a surprising amount of street noise, given that the hotel is new construction.
-The Galaxy Tab periodically froze, preventing operation of the TV or bathroom lights.
-The staff have been compared to Apple Geniuses, and that comparison is apt, for better (friendly, approachable) and worse (bit of a cavalier attitude toward customer service).

Overall, we left still loving the concept - so much so that we would recommend CitizenM to those of our friends who would appreciate it - but not intending to return ourselves. At the end of the day, a comfortable, quiet, well-maintained room and excellent customer service are still more important than trendiness.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms that overlook the construction site. The rather marginal soundproofing is no match for the loud equipment noise.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 28, 2012

Hi "CaptainH",

Thank you for your review. I'm happy you enjoyed the Bankside area, our design and concept but naturally I am disappointed you left with mixed feelings due to some less positive elements.

There are no excuses when experiencing issues with the room temperature, tablet moodpad and blinds, and this subsequently not being followed up by our Ambassadors. As you acknowledge, the Ambassadors are friendly and approachable but I am sorry that you perceived their attitude to service as cavalier. The overwhelming approach of the ambassadors is to seek total guest satisfaction. I am sorry that we have fallen short in this instance. We have shared your comments with the team and I would like to assure you that we will continue working hard to deliver exceptional customer service at all times.

We built citizenM for today's traveller, those who appreciate contemporary spaces, art, great bed and shower in a hotel room, 24/7 food & beverage outlet and no hidden costs - I mean, free Wi–Fi because internet is about freedom, free movies on demand, Skype phone rates and smart use of technology. I understand you are one of them and feel sorry we let you down in execution. I sincerely hope you will give us another chance in the future, either here in London but also Amsterdam, Glasgow or soon in NYC, Paris and Rotterdam.

Wish you safe travels.

All the best,
citizenDiego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The concept is very cool, each room the same, no fuss (no room service nor full minibar). The common area is very attractive and all of the staff is very friendly and eager to help. The only thing is the size of the hotel rooms, for two people with lots of baggages too small - however, for the light traveler perfect. As we travelled as family, we managed to get two rooms next to each other, there are no connecting doors for family rooms.

Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Senona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you are a techy, funky, PC (Mac) person that enjoy's difference this is for you. If n the other hand you are 'traditional' forget it. Also if you measure your accomadation by whether you can 'swing a cat around' this is not going to suit as you cannot 'swing a kitten' in this space.

This is a Marmite hotel you will simply love or hate it. If you are not PC savy then go somewhere else, if you tech you will love this room and it can make you laugh more than ever before. For example, if you belive the TV button pusher is the domain of the male of the species I came in and turned on the football. Now in doing this I left the 'Tablet' which controls the whole room to my beautiful wife! As she played with the tablet she went straight for the 'Romantic Setting' which changed the whole mood of the room to pink/red and intantly turned off the football in exchange for some madness on the TV. After a a few expletives the football was recovered and my wife went to sleep.

No really it is fun, when you want the blinds to go down they seem to go up and as we laid in bed naked we wondered who could see us laughing...

The staff are brilliant, the lobby, bar and food very different than anything you have ever had before, we loved it and you have to come here looking for fun, if you are the serious type go to the Ibis,or the Travel Lodge you won't laugh there, if you love a bit of fun this hotel is a must..

Our Best Tony & Nicki Vee (Relationship Experts)

Room Tip: Go for the king it's small and you don't want smaller than this as this is small!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This place was brilliant, if you like your technology and gadgets, you will love this tasteful and highly stylish hotel, the self touch screen check in, the Samsung tablets in the rooms that control everything! even the electric blinds!.. It really is lights, camera, action!, clean fresh rooms with mood lighting, great staff and vibrant bar and chill out areas in the main reception make you want to book a longer stay. Great location not far from the Tate Modern

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agentwills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews