We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
citizenM London Bankside
Ranked #84 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Fantastic stay at this hotel - the staff were friendly and helpful, the lobby was spacious, cool and comfortable. Really recommend it to anyone staying in the city - great location too.
Agree with above (below?) two reviews re: the tablet (especially regarding raising expectations).

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the garden space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BamBam615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,244
    877
    130
    45
    14
See reviews for
303
1,662
205
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Great people working in the place and the whole experience was just amazing, London has a new place to sleep now :)
Very exciting to be in absolutely new environment, huge lobby with best books around, big screen tv and homy styling which gives you impression of one big living room where you can have a speak easy atmosphere and feel like a part f the whole community.
Room - had different moods and free movies, free wi-fi and massive comfy bed...

first impression is WHOW what is that place !? just go and try it because I loved it

Room Tip: Rooms are the same so don't worry to chose any, front rooms look is better (Tate Modern and Lond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheburashka_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Great location + lovely customer service. Stayed on the opening night so there were a couple of teething problems, but overall the experience was great. Only 2 issues:

1. It's next to a building site, which means at 7am you are rudely awakened by construction work.
2. Our room overlooked a central courtyard, with outside seating on the ground and first floor. This meant we could hear conversations + music from the hotel speaker system till almost 1am.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, social media citizen at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Hi "Justin12345",

Thanks for sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor. You were a founding citizen at citizenM London Bankside and tested our hotel before official opening.

During the test sleep you stayed in, we have had the courtyard opened the entire night, but it will be closed earlier in the evening, avoiding the noise.

We hope to see you back here or at our other hotels in Amsterdam or Glasgow.

All the best,
citizenDiego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Affordable luxury is the by-line at CitizenM. So you get a modern look to the public spaces that hovers somewhere well above IKEA and below Starck. They are big on open plan so the whole ground floor is one large space split into a multitude of differing zones. The design aesthetic is a bit cluttered for my taste and badly let down by the, let’s be polite, erotica sprinkled liberally across the many bookcases which I found both dated and demeaning. Overall the space is a pleasant place to be and felt appropriately buzzy as it filled up.

The rooms are small, well finished and have lots of bells and whistles, all controlled from your ‘moodpad’ a Samsung Galaxy Tablet with a custom interface via which you control everything from lights (including various mood settings), blinds, curtains, temperature, TV, free internet etc etc. I found the software a bit glitchy and the various interfaces less than perfect. For example, I couldn’t find a TV channel guide showing current and future programmes only a scrollable list of channels that I had to go into one by one to find out what was currently showing. The problem with offering something like the ‘moodpad’ is that it immediately raises expectations. It is clear that there exists the possibility of something fun, intuitive and productive, but some more development is needed.

The least successful part of the stay was that we needed an engineer to attend and ‘reboot the entire room’ at 11.30pm just to get all the lights to turn off so that we could go to sleep.

Breakfast was good with lovely pastries, but way too much packaging on each individual teabags.

I should add that we stayed on the second night that the hotel was open (and for free!) so some glitches are only to be expected and indeed our free stay was intended to enable CitizenM to understand and iron out exactly the sort of problems listed above.

When the teething issues are successfully dealt with CitizenM will offer a lot of style, fun and utility for the price band they are in.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaddySausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, social media citizen at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Hi "DaddySausage",

Thank you so much for trying out our hotel before official opening.

We invited citizens to test our hotel for free and understand that there would be issues arising during your stay. I thank you for your patience and feedback. The hotel will be now closed for a few nights so that we can fine tune these and be ready for welcoming the first paying mobile citizens.

Safe travels and see you soon!!

All the best,
citizenDiego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Positives: 1) Friendly staff, 2) Great location with a 10 mintute walk to Blackfriars Station 3)Powerful shower with luxurious soft towels. 4) Enormous comfortable bed 5) Delicious breakfast with plenty to choose from.
Negatives: 1) The 'tablet' which controls pretty much everything in the room was great in theory but in practice was glitchy and kept turning itself off when not plugged into the charger (even though it had 97% battery power remaining) Also the film we were watching kept freezing so we had to switch the system off and start again. 2) Although the welcome pack said that to dial the reception you just dial 001 from the room telephone, this took you to an automated answer machine with no one to speak to.
In summary, a very pleasant experience with a just a few teething problems which is not surprising on their first opening night!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, social media citizen at citizenM London Bankside, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Hi "DaddySausage",

I'm happy you enjoyed the experience as a test sleeper, thanks for sharing your comments with us via the survey and to fellow citizens here on Trip Advisor.

Although all rooms have been checked, that was the first night of the hotel. We understand that there would be issues to fine tune before official opening, this is why we have organized the free test sleeping over 3 nights. The hotel will be now closed for a few nights and then re-opened to welcome the first paying guests.

citizenM is the new kid on the block in London. We learned that a hotel stay can be a pleasant experience other than just a night sleep. We believe that free Wi-Fi, free movies on demand, 24/7 food & beverage just like our kitchen at home are things mobile travelers are looking for. No-no here is over paying for services we don't need such as huge outdated rooms, marble fountains or a piano men but instead, get that home away from home feeling, in a contemporary and inviting environment.

I hope to welcome you back here in London or at other citizenMs in Amsterdam or Glasgow.

Wish you all the best and safe travels.
citizenDiego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#105 of 1,068 in London
3,082 reviews
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#52 of 1,068 in London
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#55 of 1,068 in London
3,465 reviews
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#427 of 1,068 in London
9,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM London Bankside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM London Bankside

Property: citizenM London Bankside
Address: 20 Lavington Street, London SE1 0NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in London
#33 Business Hotel in London
#61 Romantic Hotel in London
#79 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM London Bankside 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London’s buzzing Bankside district—just minutes from the Tate Modern and Millennium Bridge, within walking distance from Southwark tube station (Jubilee Line) and London Bridge (Jubilee & Northern Line)—192 luxury non-smoking rooms await with free Wi-Fi, free movies, and a tablet MoodPad to control every hi-tech detail. Work or play in the oversized Vitra living room lobby with floor-to-ceiling stunning art, a prolific MENDO bookstore to peruse or purchase for your travels, and of course, canteenM’s 24/7 scrumptious eatery and bar to cure your hunger and thirst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your citizenM London Bankside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CitizenM London Bankside England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing