We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible pie average mash”

Goddards at Greenwich
Order Online
Ranked #25 of 1,668 Quick Bites in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Greenwich
Description: Goddards at Greenwich serves London's most traditional meal of pie mash and liquor. This meal can be traced back through the 1800's and is an important part of London's food history. We are open everyday serving handmade pies which are baked throughout the day. We are a family run business that has been serving pie and mash since 1890. Our air conditioned licensed restaurant can seat 100 people and we also offer desserts and cold drinks. We look forward to serving you London's most famous dish!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I ordered the chilli beef pie and double mash with Gravy.
The pie filling resembled a liquid with no meat content at all and virtually tasteless. The pastry was under cooked. The mash was ok but contained a lot of lumps. The gravy and chilli vinegar were by far the best part of the meal. I was really looking forward to visiting this place and left very very disappointed I can see why it’s cheap and won’t be returning

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank S1K444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Short walk from Meridian Line. Simple pies choice and beer. We tried the cold jellied eels. Very interesting and nice. We tried the beef pie, lamb & rosemary, steak and ale pie. First time for me. Very reasonable price. Very friendly counter staffs.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank foongaili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

It’s clean! Which is surprising for the amount of trade that pass through their doors.

There is a small amount of seating down stairs and more at the back and upstairs.

The food is pie and mash. Many different types of pies with mash and peas.
They also serve sausage rolls.
They did show sausages and mash on the kids menu but I was given sausage rolls (the kids would have liked sausages).
The food is nice.

I would definitely go back, to try more pies.

Fast service but, you do need to carry your own plate (and the kids).

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 4forT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

This place is very traditional and good value. The service is jolly and the food is good enough. Mash was a little watery but the gravy is good and plentiful. Worth a visit if you are looking for traditional pie and mash.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Happy_Seal_Pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2019

I'll let the pictures speak for themselves.. So much great food at such an amazing price.. Made you feel like family from the moment you step in the door, If you're in Greenwich, so worth stopping in here.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Mayes2158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goddards at Greenwich also viewed

 

Been to Goddards at Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing