We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How to cheat customers”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of DesVins Cafe & Bar

DesVins Cafe & Bar
Ranked #6,789 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: French, Bar, Cafe, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant is on the main concourse in St Pancras International Station, so address may not be perfect match
Paris, France
1 review
“How to cheat customers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Mulled cider didn't have a hint of alcohol in it and yet cost £5 for 125ml! Baguettes were so white like the part-baked frozen ones from a supermarket. Chips were awful and tasted and looked like coming from a freezer as well. This place is seriously a joke and they take an advantage of those poor passengers who need to rest during their journey. AVOID!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    47
    23
    13
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ideal place to wait for a train”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We arrived as we do. We had a beautiful breakfast sandwich and lovely Hot coffee. The staff were prompt well informed about their products and smiley. We sat in comfort listening to relaxing music in an ideal place to await ones journey

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stroppy staff, no customer service - avoid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Sunday 3rd November - popped in here for quick snack and drink. Rude staff - wouldn't let us bring in our push-chair and luggage - told us to keep it outside. When we did, we were told in no uncertain terms to move it away. Ordered a smoothie - told didn't have any - even if they were homemade. General unpleasant attitude - don't seem to realise that travellers in an international railway station may have luggage and want to kept it close by. Ended up going to The Betjeman Arms on the upper level. Had superb food, fresh and homemade, good service, heaters and able to keep our luggage near. So go there instead.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireandSimon_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
682 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Luke warm coffees”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Popped in for a quick drink at this cosy looking place with friends, before boarding a train. My beer was OK but their capuccinos were luke warm and very small. One sip and they were gone; all cold froth and no substance. Pricey, too. Sadly we had no time to complain so went on our way vowing not to repeat the visit. Shame, looks so good but delivered so little.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy-S60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Eating in St Pancras Station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Travelling on my own as I often do, & staying close to St Pancras Kings Cross stations I was looking for somewhere close at hand to have my evening meal. I wandered through the concourse & found this lovely looking restaurant, a quick look at the menu for 'healthy Options', I thought this will do nicely, I ordered my food at the Bar, that's the way they do it there, listened to the recommendation of the server & ordered the half chicken meal.
I have to say that the 'dish presented & served to me at my table' was not quite what I was expecting. The chicken was very ordinary, the potatoes 'small' were oily & in their skins. There was a teeny little pot of a cold vegetable, I think it was red peppers. I was hungry so I ate it all. Was I satisfied you may ask? Well kind of, I had a meal, which fulfilled a function. I was hungry & it filled me & took away my hunger. My first impression of the restaurant was a positive one!!! But sadly they are trying to 'punch way above their weight'
The concept of this French Style restaurant is good, but sadly the only thing French about if was it's French Name...
Maybe I was there on one of those 'off moments' .... But I don't think so :-(

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DesVins Cafe & Bar also viewed

 

Been to DesVins Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing