We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Load of rubbish!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Grand London Hyde Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Park Grand London Hyde Park
Ranked #263 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Load of rubbish!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My boyfriend booked this hotel end of October as a Christmas present for me, upon arrival today to be told they had a system error and had over booked... Although When we rang up last night they confirmed we had a booking and everything was fine. I will admit after reading reviews on here last night I thought this would happen.. So they sent us in a taxi to the grand royal hotel.. And got given a room which was literally abed and that was it, you couldn't even walk around the bed! Very disappointed in this hotel as we were looking forward to our stay. Believe negative reviews and don't bother booking a room cause you won't get what you booked!

Room Tip: Don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sophie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Grand London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience so we can talk discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Park Grand London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    605
    251
    87
    92
See reviews for
401
493
139
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I decided to book a trip to London as a post Christmas getaway for myself and my Mother.
I found this hotel online as part of a special deal.

I arrived with my Mother, after half a day of sightseeing in London. We were looking forward to a rest and cup of tea. When we got to the desk we were faced with two unprofessional staff members. One was looking very shabby like he could barely dress himself and the other looked reasonable. They were both very unclear in what they were saying to us but eventually managed to state that the room we had booked had maintenance issues. I asked why they hadn't called and they said that they hadn't had the time. Next thing we knew we were faced with choosing two singles or going to another hotel in the Shaftesbury "Elite" Collection.

We chose to swap because we wanted a twin room.
I asked that the room be to the same standard in the alternative hotel, and that they put us in a quiet room.
We waited for a while. In the meantime a couple came in and were told the same thing, and offered a cup of tea (which we were not offered).

I paid then for this new room (no. 111) and we were escorted across the road to the Shaftesbury Premier. We were given room no. 118 (The Clubman) - This room was flawed and there were air conditioning units situated outside the window (which had a draft) - we had a broken nights sleep which impacted on Sundays sightseeing.

The Hyde Park Grand could not have been 4 Star - running a hotel isn't brain surgery - ensure you have maintenance teams at hand, train your staff to be courteous and speak in understandable and well constructed sentences, dress smartly, treat people with equality, and ensure that you stay in contact with guests should problems arise.

This is not the first time this has occurred - looking back at previous posts there have been many times this has happened - 1st Aug, 19th Oct, 31st Oct, 27th Nov, 7th Dec, 8th Dec.

I look forward to the managers response and also will be posting a review to the Shaftesbury Premier page - as that hotel also had much to be desired.

I will never go to this chain of hotels again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Grand London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience so we can talk discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Park Grand London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Miriam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

You're in Town Visiting or for Business on a budget or not ; Grand London Hyde Park is The Place! Great customer Service . Very detailed and Professional ! From the Moment you check in
To the time you reach your Room. Rooms are very Clean . The Restaurant has a Great Service every morning. Great People , Friendly and Professional.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your lovely comments about our premises & our fabulous staff.

We hope you will be back soon and for assistance in booking your future stay please write to me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

A lovely hotel, we never seemed to exit Paddington station the same way twice so it took some finding. The staff were nice, not very chatty but always said good morning and called the lift or held doors open. The room was small but adequate, the bed was SOOOOO comfy and the room temperature was perfect. The bathroom was very small but the shower took up most of this so was lovely not to climb over a bath to shower. Water temperature was perfect, towels were a little on the small side but I just like a big bath sheet!
The room was absolutely spotlessly clean, which is the main factor for me. Tea & coffee facilities were replenished each day and the hair dryer was the best I have ever used!
Breakfast was nice, I think the orange juice was a bit over diluted and the tea was quite weak on our first morning, but again this is personal preference. Everything was hot enough, there was more than enough choice and a good English breakfast is a must when we are sightseeing in London.
I would certainly consider staying here again for the price and especially if we are visiting the Hyde Park Winter Wonderland again as the location was brilliant for this. Maybe a bit too far out of the West End for a one night stay but we were there 2 so it was fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HJ-Bluebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to respond. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to read about our team’s friendliness and also your comments on our hotel cleanliness.
Hope to have a chance to give you warm welcome back in the near future.
Best Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Besana in Brianza, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Hotel is very nice and good compared to other 4 starred structures according to London standards.

The rooms are small but very clean and comfortable.

Breaksfast is average, but the staff throughout the structure is very helpful and ready

Room Tip: The club room on two floors is perfect for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank europewedding_massi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
As mentioned, our rooms are indeed different in sizes. I would like to request you to give us an opportunity to arrange room with bigger room.
We ensure every guest has a relaxing visit and thank you for your observation in regards to our Breakfast
We hope to see you again very soon.
Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend in December 2012. The room was clean, verry well heaten, with confortable beds.. The staff at the reception (Georgiana and Cristian) was verry helpful, always smiling, and proactive with our requests. They provided us useful travel tips and made verry good sugestions on restaurants we could chose. We felt really confortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela_V_12188644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your lovely comments about our premises & our fabulous staff.

We hope you will be back soon and for assistance in booking your future stay please write to me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
139 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

A nice hotel in a regency terrace very close to Paddington station. Very small rooms for basic offering, but all facilities present, with very good shower pressure (often a failing in many tall hotels converted from houses). Very willing staff, excellent breakfast, comfortable beds, and clean. For the price, given its location, hard to beat imho.

Room Tip: Much of a muchness.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at The Park Grand London Hyde Park were able to meet you expectations and that you loved the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back .
Kind Regards
Gourav Gutpa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#200 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Grand London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Grand London Hyde Park

Property: Park Grand London Hyde Park
Address: 78-82 Westbourne Terrace | Paddington, London W2 6QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#196 Luxury Hotel in London
#218 Business Hotel in London
#253 Family Hotel in London
#350 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Grand London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Grand London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grand London Hyde Park England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing