We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Grand London Hyde Park
Ranked #263 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good location, pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Was due to stay in the Grand Royale London Hyde Park hotel but due to maintainence problems at the hotel we were sent to this one instead. We did not have a problem with this as we were notified a few days before travel and this hotel was still in the area we needed as we were going to the Wireless Festival which takes place in Hyde Park so we were happy as this hotel was still within walking distance. We also received complimentary breakfast for the inconvenience.

Check in was fast, our room was a bit of a maze to get to, lots of stairs and corridors once you get out of the lift. The room was small but not overly, and we didn't actually spend much time in there anyway so we weren't too bothered. The bed was comfortable. Being on one of the higher floors we had a lovely view from the window. The bathroom had a heated floor and the shower was powerful. The decor was nice and modern. The bedside lamp wasn't working when we arrived but someone came up to fix it instantly. Whenever we rang down for anything it was brought up extremely fast.

Breakfast wasn't anything special. I requested a fried egg on both mornings and they were brought out swimming in grease. The bacon looked as if it could have been cooked for a bit longer. And there didn't seem to be enough staff to be able to seat people, replenish cutlery and clear tables. In fact, it seemed to be just one poor woman doing all the work.

Overall we had a pleasant stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigtraveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us.
We ensure every guest has a relaxing visit and thank you for your observation in regards to our staff; I will forward you comments to them.
For any assistance you may required please do not hesitate to write to me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com

Kind regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    608
    254
    87
    96
See reviews for
408
500
141
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Just returned fro three days away with a friend. The hotel is in a great situation for exploring London. The staff at the hotel were brilliant nothing was to much trouble for them. Hotel was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was wonderful. We did have a little blip!! with the lights in our room but the Manager took the trouble to ring us and the problem was soon rectified. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your lovely comments about our premises & our fabulous staff.

We hope you will be back soon and for assistance in booking your future stay please write to me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waals-Br.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I recently stayed there with my wife, and we got a room for GBP 107,25, which is good, considering the chique neighboorhoud and the easy access to all transport. The room was not big, but both room and bathroom had everything you need and were very tidy. You get tea etc ... and there were bathrobes, a desk, wifi, flat-screen tv, etc ...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for the lovely comments on your visit to the Park Grand London Hyde Park.
As mentioned, our rooms are indeed different in sizes. I would like to request you to give us an opportunity to arrange bigger room for you.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We booked last minute to stay so was not sure what we were going to get. When we arrived we found staff to be very helpful and polite. Room was a little on the small size but totally adequate for what we needed and clean. Breakfast had plenty of choice and set us up for a long day in the centre of London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingsofsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
As mentioned about the room size. I would like to request you to give us an opportunity to arrange big room for you
We ensure every guest has a relaxing visit and thank you for your observation in regards to our Breakfast
We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee Why
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

First the girl lied to me. She said that they had "maintenance problems" and that she did not have a room for me as a result. Then she got on the phone with some central booking operator, who put her on hold. I kicked up a stink. She said that "the other property" only had a room at Heathrow!! I kicked up more stink! Then she did have a room for me, but it was in the basement. Tiny, old, worn-out, barely clean and difficult to get to as it is an underground rabbit warren. The only good thing is the wireless internet, so I can write this review. Be warned, this place over-books it's rooms, they are terrible. But this is London, for a good room you have to pay a fortune.

Room Tip: Beware of the basement rooms! If you get a room at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GIVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Grand London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience so we can discuss this further.

Thank you very much.
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livorno
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I recently spent four nights in this hotel, it was a very good experience, the room was tidy, very clean and comfortable, the staff always helpful and very kind. The location is perfect, very close to paddington and lancaster gate. Very recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Federica087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments and feel very proud that the team at The Park Grand London Hyde Park were able to meet you expectations and that you loved the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back and for any more assistance please do write to me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com

Kind Regards
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Let's start by the good points; a. Great location in London (bus 7, tube paddington) b. Beautiful building -- and the problems are: 1. Part of the Best Western, which obviously knows some serious obstacles in its reservation process, leading to over booking. We were ourselves moved from one hotel to another; I saw exhausted travellers making scandals to get their rooms etc. 2. Extremly bad sound isolation of the rooms - in addition to the loud electronic voice of the lift, we could hear too many things from our neighbours. The buidling is old and the cracking wood of the skeleton floors would need to be remade or supported by some cement. 3. Despite some very nice exceptions at various levels of the service chain, too many service people are not trained well enough, not polite enough, not trying enough. I have seen staff behaving in a way that I would not think seeing in London. The manager himself is behaving very nervously and does not help for creating harmony in the place. Some staff answer too easily "no" or tell you about their daily problems. A pity because some very good guys work there. 4. Breakfast - why do we need to get basic stuff at the table? 5. Cleaning - could be better. 6. Fire alarm - faulted - ringing a couple of nights at very unpleasang hours [because of a smoking guest we were said].7. Faulty WC.
Really try and avoid this one for the moment. Hope they improve in the future. In general, Best Western looks like need serious management shuffle and work at all levels. Won't use them - this specific hotel and others - in the near future. AVOID!!

Room Tip: if you can't avoid it, and if you have not been overbooked - try to be on the 6th top floor not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Professor_Camel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourav G, Manager at Park Grand London Hyde Park, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Park Grand London Hyde Park for your recent visit to London.

We consider the guest feedback of paramount importance whether good or bad. I would like to apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

It would be highly appreciated if you could contact me on housemanager.hydepark@shaftesburyhotels.com as per your earliest convenience so we can talk discuss this further.

Once again, kindly accept our sincere apologies & we look forward to welcoming you back at the Park Grand London Hyde Park.

Thank you very much.

Yours Sincerely,
Gourav Gupta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#203 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Grand London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Grand London Hyde Park

Property: Park Grand London Hyde Park
Address: 78-82 Westbourne Terrace | Paddington, London W2 6QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#196 Luxury Hotel in London
#218 Business Hotel in London
#253 Family Hotel in London
#350 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Grand London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Grand London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Grand London Hyde Park England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing