We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A birthday let-down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge London Crystal Palace
Ranked #684 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Bromyard, United Kingdom
1 review
“A birthday let-down”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Summary: room not ready, sent to wrong room, party separated over different floors, disabled rooms only at far end of long corridors (accessible??), staff once seemingly uncontactable; and avoid the breakfast box.

Noting the advertised check-in time of 3.00 pm we arrived about 3.10 in order that my 85-year-old mother could have a rest before the evening festivities for her birthday that day. We were told that the disabled room we had booked for her was not yet ready and we would need to wait in reception. Half an hour later we were given the key to a room which turned out to be at the very far end of a long corridor (an unreasonably long walk for someone with restricted mobility), on a different floor from our own room which was unsatisfactory in itself. My mother’s room turned out not to have been cleaned after all – both twin beds dishevelled etc.

Back at reception, asking for a disabled room closer to a lift and on our floor, we were told that the hotel’s only disabled rooms are all at the far end of the respective corridors, which I commented was outrageous – I was told they had, quite understandably, had complaints about this in the past. My mother decided to opt for an ordinary room, which at least was close to ours and quite close to the lifts.

On the second night we had an urgent query on my mother’s behalf but could not attract a member of staff back to reception, using the bell provided, for about 20 minutes. There were at least two other parties waiting to check in and equally frustrated. But for the fact that all the receptionists we dealt with were polite, and the one when we arrived was as accommodating as he could be in the light of the failure of the staff to prepare the rooms and communicate which ones they had in fact prepared, I'd have given only one star for service.

If you like your breakfast fresh then don’t go for the “breakfast box” on offer here (UHT yogurt or pre-pack cereal, muffin, cereal bar and juice). While certainly not stale and well within use-by dates, it’s clearly designed to be delivered in bulk and to keep for months at reception. The contents of the boxes should be advertised on the website before people are inveigled into paying for them in advance (by the offer of a discount). At least I’ll know in future what an unsatisfactory “breakfast” this is.

The conventional "eco-friendly towels policy" (leave towel on rail if you don't need it replaced)
was ignored - clean towels all round for the second night irrespective of what they say; but that seems to be the case in so many hotels which offer only lip service to this issue.

Having said all that, the rooms we ultimately used were clean and the beds comfortable. There should however be at least the number of chairs as there are people using the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmj_gwhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Crystal Palace, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear cmj_gwhk, we are sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at Travelodge. We do expect our staff to provide high levels of service at all times and ensure all rooms are ready in time for our customer’s arrival. If the reception desk is unmanned then all reception staff should carry a pager to alert them that a customer is at the desk. We will ensure that the hotel are made aware of the feedback that you have left so that staff can be reminded of the importance of providing a quality service to all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    130
    70
    36
    50
See reviews for
117
128
31
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Why not be honest about where this travelodge is situated. Everyone who stays will find out. Bus stop outside to stations nearby. Good staff, good carpark quiet and superb views. Usual rooms. Much better than average for this chain.

Room Tip: Top floor best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michaeldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Car park (free) is situated behind the hotel then you take a lift to reception. The girl on reception was really friendly and welcoming and check in was easy. Took the lift to the 7th floor where our room was situated. It was the usual Travelodge room. It was basic but clean and this one actually had a picture in it which made it a little less clinical. The view was good and the bed was extremely comfortable. Would definitely use this Travelodge again. Good value at £26

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you suffer from vertigo then avoid this hotel as it's based on floors 7 to 9 of a tower block. Our room was on the 9th floor and was at the rear of the building.

The room had secondary glazing and was very good at keeping all the noise out as 'blues and two's' could be heard very loudly when open. The bed was a new style where they can now get a vacuum cleaner under the bed and a 10 inch king size mattress that was much firmer (a rating of 3 to 4 on the firmness scale) than other Travelodge's that we have stayed in. There were also 4 very well stuffed pillows rather than the 3 thin one's you normally get. This is a great step forward and let's hope Travelodge role these new beds out very quickly. For the size of the room the bathroom was very small; barely enough room to turn around.There was a shower only, which for myself is a big plus.

Security is taken seriously as getting to your room you need to use the key card in the lift to access floors 7 to 9 and then through the door to the bedrooms. Our only gripe was that our key cards needed to be reset everyday of our 3 day trip. Really don't understand why.

We arrived by public transport. It really is the only way to travel around London. The bus stops, to Croydon (20 minutes) and up to London (50 minutes to Trafalgar Square), are within 50 metres and run at very frequent intervals. There is also a Night Bus (N3) and route 197 run from the West End to the hotel throughout the night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatmanpauluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

As mentioned several times above, can confirm that (having lived about 400 metres away for three years) this TL is very definitely in Penge and a long drag up a steep hill from Crystal Palace; just look where Penge Market is!

Room was just about adequate with facilities pared to the bone e.g. not even a full roll of toilet paper provided whilst towels only present for one guest when there were two visitors booked for the room. Suggest that for quietest position one requests a room at the back as far away from lifts as possible. Generally noise levels were OK considering that the rooms are created merely by partitioning surplus office block space on floors 7, 8 and 9 – reception on 6. Don’t expect TVs to be tuned to receive BBC4, News24 or anything slightly highbrow.

Parking is reasonably secure – at least it is off-road – but whether security cameras are regularly monitored we don’t know. No registration number is requested when booking in so how would staff know which cars belong to TL guests? Seemed to be no issues when using other than TL designated parking spaces which is probably a regular scenario as a fair proportion of visitors are “white van men” who appear to need two spaces for their larger vehicles.

Reception staff were unfailingly friendly and pleasant and wanted to be obliging e.g. producing an electric fan for use in hot weather. However, maintenance capacity seems to be a problem.

On the first morning of our stay there was an obvious blocked shower drain filter which flooded the bathroom floor and, in consequence, prevented my partner from being able to shower at all. Reporting this to reception just after breakfast on our way out for the day – and suggesting the issue could be resolved by lifting out the filter and cleaning it (c. five minutes work) – reception staff merely offered a change of room! Not convenient at all and causing TL guests much more than 5 minutes effort. Offer was declined and we did the maintenance task ourselves in the evening but wonder how many others would put up with dealing with foul-smelling, slimy coagulated hair, soap and who knows what?

Overall, a reasonable TL which was convenient for our visit centred on Beckenham and, provided the prices are kept comparatively low, then will consider staying there again rather than our usual base in Croydon. But, please, get a maintenance person on your team!

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borderpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge London Crystal Palace, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear borderpath, we are sorry to learn of the maintenance issue you have detailed. We do expect our staff members to do everything they can to make sure your stay is enjoyable. They should offer assistance and be helpful at all times. All customer feedback is invaluable to us and we will ensure that the hotel is made aware of the comments that you have made and reminded about the importance of customer care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Reception staff were friendly, articulate and smiled. Room was very clean and the beds and bed linen were spotless. The bathroom deserves special mention. I am a wheelchair user with very limited physical mobility.The shower was superb having all necessary grab handles and a wide shower seat which made for a more secure shower experience. Toilet grab handles were also perfectly positioned.
Overall the bathroom facilities were of such a high standard that they should be used as an example for disabled facilities for other hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 772Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
Travelodge London Edmonton
#607 of 1,067 in London
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge London Whetstone
#473 of 1,067 in London
358 reviews
Chelsea
Travelodge London Raynes Park
Travelodge London Raynes Park
#489 of 1,067 in London
128 reviews
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#324 of 1,067 in London
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Crystal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Crystal Palace

Property: Travelodge London Crystal Palace
Address: 61-63 Croydon Road, London SE20 7TS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Best Value Hotel in London
#305 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge London Crystal Palace 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge London Crystal Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Crystal Palace England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing