We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good once you find it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Stratford City
Ranked #130 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a new Holiday Inn sharing its building with a Staybridge Suites complex (same group) in the Westfield shopping complex in Stratford, London. It could do with better signage as it's not like most hotels - the entrance is just a small lobby behind glass doors, like one of the many shops there. You can't drive up to the entrance, it's all a bit do-it-(and find it)-yourself. Reception is on floor 3, a short ride up in the lift. Better signposted is the Aspers Casino: if you're coming by car, use car park B, follow the Aspers signs, take the lift to the ground floor and the Holiday Inn is a short distance away just round the corner. Don't take a lot of heavy luggage though as you have to carry it all yourself!
We approached from the M11 and it's easy to find Westfield from there and to escape after visiting. It's also outside the congestion zone. Westfield's car parking is £5 all day, £8 a day at weekends, which I thought was reasonable as it's a very well monitored car park.
For a tourist I can't fault the hotel's location, it's an easy walk along Westfield's "The Street" from Stratford tube station (lots of connections and most of London is quickly and easily accessible) and literally on the doorstep of the shopping centre. When Westfield is open there are plenty of fast food and other restaurants (some of which are open outside the Westfield hours) as well as the shops.
One review on this site said the rooms overlooking The Street could be noisy so we had a more expensive room with a "park view", more like a building site at the moment but we could see the Olympic Stadium. Certainly our fifth floor room was very quiet and it was reasonably well equipped, few luxury touches though. A few niggles. These days charging for use of the internet strikes me as a bit cheapskate in what wasn't a cheap hotel. It's also a shame that though the rooms are supposed to be doubles, in fact there was only one armchair and one desk chair. Why do hotels do that? Also, you can't pay cash in the bar after 11pm when the staff have cashed up. In 2013?
Other than one breakfast (the breakfast sausages are not recommended) we didn't eat in the hotel as there are many other options for food very close by.
Very friendly staff, Merrily at the restaurant door and Saeed in the bar area were particularly efficient. Overall we had a good stay and can recommend this hotel, though next time we'll try the Staybridge Suites as they're a similar price with free internet and this Holiday Inn doesn't really provide a full service (though it does have a concierge in the lobby).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duty Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Stratford City, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Malcolm P,

thank you for taking your time and leaving a review for us. As we will hopefully welcome you again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us in advance in order for us to assist you with your luggage during upcoming stays.

As in all our public areas, we do indeed provide free internet access. When accessing the Holiday Inn connection, you have the choice between the free internet access option and the premium access which is a high speed internet access for £6,00/ day.

We will certainly forward your kind comments to Merrily and Saaed, who will be delighted about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,490)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,057 - 1,063 of 1,490 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as part of show and stay package great value for money! Location excellent, easy to get to and when you step out of the hotel your in the middle of a massive shopping complex - brilliant! Beds comfy rooms clean and impressive All staff really helpful and friendly - service with a smile! Love that holiday inn offer complimentary toiletries if you do forget any essentials! Breakfast was fantastic massive choice from continental to full English could not fault it! Will be back to stay again just to take advantage of the shopping!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa021187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duty Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Stratford City, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you Lisa021187 for your brilliant review!

As you already wrote, you will be back to enjoy more time at our hotel and in the adjoining Westfield Shopping Centre, which absolutely pleases us to hear!

We happily read your genuine statement that we 'serve with a smile' and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed one night on business and had no complaints. Easy to get to hotel by public transport and check in went very smoothly - a nice smile always helps and all matters ( internet / gym / breakfast etc) described in detail. Room was nice with a view of the Olympic Park - one very minor complaint is that there are no electrical sockets near the bed ., just near a sofa bed and desk. Nice and quiet and breakfast was good . Internet was free and good too. Check out smooth . All in all perfectly good and would stay there again if needed to be in that area again .

Stayed: October 2013
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duty Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Stratford City, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear David F,

we thank you for taking time to leave a feedback for us.

We gladly read that throughout your stay everything was to your satisfaction, and your comment 'a nice smile always helps' is a very kind and true statement indeed.

The team of the Holiday Inn London Stratford city is foward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is in the Westgate Shopping Centre with lots of restaurants just outside the door. It is a bit out of town but close enough with rail and tube links. The shopping centre is outstanding for the varity of shops and eating establishments. Not overrun with tourist like Oxford Street.

Room Tip: Overlook the Olympic Site rather than the shopping centre if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duty Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Stratford City, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Alex S,

thank you for your informative comments!

The Holiday Inn London Stratford City is located right next to the Westfield Shopping Centre, and as we can read from your kind review, you are one of our many happy guests who enjoyed our convenient location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

hotel in excellent position for travel to central London and for travel to the south and southeast as well.
Rooms facilities are very good and food available at hotel is very good.
The hotel is opposite the shopping centre so not far to visit and you would not know you were their as the rooms are very quiet which is a real plus.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vics53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duty Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Stratford City, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you Vics53 for your leaving us this pleasant review.

We are happy to read, that you had a very positive experience staying with us and we will gladly forward your nice comment regarding our cuisine to our head chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

So I didn't stay here but my colleague did. We finished work at midnight and went for a drink in the bar and even though the bar man had finished his shift and was locking up he re opened and could not be more helpful. So big thank you to the Hungarian barman at the holiday inn in Stratford city. He's done you proud Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank NathanBroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duty Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Stratford City, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear NathanBroon,

what a great review! Your feedback has been immediately forwarded, and our bar staff is very happy to read your comments. As we have two young gentlemen from Hungaria working at our Stadium View bar, we are sure they are both grateful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Over the last 18 months I have stayed in this property more than 30 times and have never been so disillusioned. What was once a showcase hotel for the Holiday Inn Group (IHG) is a shadow of its former high level of service and value. During the post Olympic period the room rates and the efforts made to hold existing customers and attract new was obvious, but now the standards have dropped. Food in the restaurant is poor and the bar choice limited, free wi-fi is so slow it takes an age to load a short email, and the staff surly and often uninterested. I am an IGH gold member but this stay I revived none of the membership benefits I have always received previously even though I paid a premium rate for the room?

Unfortunately, my last stay coincided with a large party of school children who were staying on my floor. This seems to be the core business for this property i.e. school parties and cheap tour clients. Nothing wrong with that until the school kids run riot at night. I complained but the duty night manager was disinterested, her only comment was that the noise would stop when the children went to bed.

I checked out the following day and moved over the the Westbridge Hotel on Stratford High Street where the proprietors where very happy to take my £130 per night and treated me with respect and courtesy.

Room Tip: High Floor overlooking the Olympic Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duty Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Stratford City, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Richard B,

we are sorry to hear that during your last stay you had an unpleasant experience. Since you are one of our frequent guests, you have had only enjoyable stays in the past. We know that you are working mainly during the night time, which is why we allocated a room for you at the end of one of our corridors.

We have been awarded 3rd place in customer service within the United Kingdom and 1st place of all Holiday Inn hotels in London on tripadvisor, which is why we would like to welcome you again for future stays at our hotel and provide our usual high standard of service.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any queries or questions you might have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbridge Hotel
#99 of 1,076 in London
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge London Stratford
#343 of 1,076 in London
1,256 reviews
East End / East London
Ibis London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford
#455 of 1,076 in London
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Stratford City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Stratford City

Address: 10a Chestnut Plaza, Westfield, Stratford City, Montfichet Road | Olympic Park, London E20 1GL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in London
#54 Family Hotel in London
#85 Business Hotel in London
#112 Luxury Hotel in London
#112 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $119 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Stratford City 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Stratford City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Stratford City England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing