We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Stratford City
Ranked #120 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very nice Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Stratford for two nights as a break to London. The Hotel is situated right in the middle of the Westfield shopping centre and is a three minute walk from the tube station. Being on the central line it is very easy to get into Oxford street and the immediate area. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly and check in was very quick.
We had a room on the 6th floor and access to your room is only possible by swiping your room card on the reader in the lift and then selecting your floor.
The room was spotless and all very modern with a large widescreen tv and in house safe. Tea/coffee making facilities were also laid on.
Breakfast was a good selection of cereals, hot buffet with the usual eggs, bacon, etc. and cold meats and fruit. Tea/coffee/orange juice etc.
The only gripe I have is that the internet is not free. Why do London hotels charge high prices for something that should be supplied free of charge. I refuse to pay £10 to hook up to the wireless service. Here in Jersey all major hotels provide this free.
Also if you are planning to spend a long time in central London this is a bit far out and the tube ride is quite long.
All in all a very good hotel, which is comfortable and quiet at night, with great views of the Olympic Stadium.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the Olympic Stadium ask for this when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerseyscampi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn London - Stratford City, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear jerseyscampi

Thank you very much for your brilliant review.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed our rooms with its facilities as well as our Full English and Continetal breakfast buffet which has a wide range from croissants and marmelade to bacon and scrambled eggs.

I would like however let you know that we do offer free Wifi access in our hotel which can be used once logged into our network. We do however have a premium access available which is recommended if you like to stream a movie or download bigger files.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    407
    85
    24
    14
See reviews for
225
438
74
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
108 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have stayed at many hotels, but never had such a pleasant surprise as with this hotel. LoOcation is excellent next to Westfield shopping center and Stratford station. Rooms are excellent and spotlessly clean. Awesome and comfortable beds. Breakfast is wonderful and definitely worth getting up for. But the best thing about this hotel is its staff! I dont know what the hotel manager has done, but never met as friendly staff as when staying at this place. They are serviceminded, with a smile and either with polite "Good morning sir" or a friendly "Hi ya". All seem to be local people, which probably contribute to them obviously feeling proud of the place they work at. Oh, yes, I will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larzon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn London - Stratford City, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Tack så mycket för en sådan stor översyn.

Wow, what a lovely review! Thank you very much.

I have shared your review with the entire team and all I could see was a smile on my colleagues' faces. Your comments motivate us to continue doing our best for every guest and reminds us all why we love working in hotels.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oss, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
139 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night for a business trip and really liked the stay. The hotel looks fresh, is clean and the rooms are big enough and have everything in the room what you might need. The room was clean and gave a real fresh impression.
The bathroom was good with a nice tub and a good shower. It has a nice and modern look.

The location of the hotel is great. It's in the middle of the centre of the olympic plaza near the stadium. The shopping mall is next to the hotel (shops, cinema, casino), the metro and railway lines are in the bottom of the shoppingmall so really close by. Even that the mall is next to the hotel, there is no noise that might disturb you.

The breakfast was also really good and had all the things you might expect from a real english breakfast.

I read some comments about the rooms but i didn't experience any discomfort due to the climate control.

Room Tip: Arive early so you can check out the great mall!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niels W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn London - Stratford City, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Icerider82,

Hartelijk dank voor uw beoordeling.

We indeed have a great location, minutes away from travel links into the city centre and airports.
Westfield Shopping centre furthermore helps to enjoy the rest of your day whether it is shopping, going to the cinema or even to gamble.

Your comments have been passed on to the entire hotel team to ensure we continue improving our service to ensure guests' expectations will always be met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have stayed here on three occasions in February for business purposes. The hotel is good clean with friendly staff. The bar and general areas of the hotel are good fresh and a quality you expect form a Holiday Inn. There a re good train links to central London and you are right amongst the shopping area with a short walk to Startford.

My main issue is the price variance and the lack of will to maintain your custom, the price has raised and is now a significant step up in price from the Premier Inn a short walk away and to be honest it is not that significantly better to warrant the price. The breakfast is better at the Premier Inn, however the staff are not as friendly and accommodating.

Reception staff are not phased when you tell them this and are happy to lose business to Premier Inn, therefore I feel it lacks the personal touch and the sense of care for customers, surely a longer term frequent traveller is good business, but apparently not?

Will continue to use when the price is fair and consistent as the beds and bathrooms are very comfortable and not purple!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the Olympic park as they are quieter at night rooms with odd numbers face the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobH567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn London - Stratford City, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Rob H

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

Our team was delighted to hear of your praises! I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us.

As many other hotels our hotel is following a flexible price strategy which is based on demand on rooms paired with events in and around London. Therefore it happens that we have days with different rates. However, if you have a look at our hotel website www.hilondonstratford.com you can find good deals such as our Advanced Saver rate, Ace is High or 2 for 1 offers.
Furthermore, our Sales Team is more than interested to get to know more about your travel and accommodation requirements and might be even able to offer you special contracted rate.

Please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly or ask the Reception staff during your next stay for further information.

We are looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst attending a conference. Room rates are reasonable (£115) and the standard rooms are more than adequate in terms of facilities and size. Bar and food offering is also good, and not too expensive by Holiday Inn standards. It was the staff who impressed me the most though - very helpful, charming and efficient. This visit has changed my perception of the brand in a positive way

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pga66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Stratford City, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear pga66,

I would like to thank you for your nice review of your hotel stay on Tripadvisor. It has been our pleasure to have you stay at our hotel and knowing we have made your stay as comfortable, relaxing and a most pleasant place to be. We hope to continue to do so for all our guests in the years to come.

We do hope you'll come back and visit us in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lisa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Booked two rooms recently for an overnight stay and it took us about 30 minutes to make the receptionist understand that although there were only 3 of us there, another of our party would be joining us after he finished work, making a total of 4 people.

The receptionist could not get her head around the fact that not all the people were there in our party, and was very reluctant to give us another (4th) key for the last person to arrive - crazy! In the end the only thing I could do was to explain to her as if explaining to a child, that we needed to leave a key on reception for the 4th person when he arrived and she finally understood!

Can it be that unusual in a hotel like this that people turn up piecemeal? Very strange. No apology for keeping us waiting or for the confusion either. Check in time is 2 pm and we arrived at 2.45 but only one room was ready with no apology offered for this situation.

A very unhelpful and unhappy experience which we put down to that one person (who also smelled of BO which wasn't very pleasant and not a great welcome to the hotel). Eventually one of her colleagues started laughing as the whole scenario was so bizarre it was like a sketch from Monty Python or something, but she (reluctantly) agreed to put an additional key behind reception for my husband when he arrived and all was well.

We ordered room service later on and I forgot my toothbrush so ordered one from housekeeping and all was dealt with very quickly and favourably.

When we checked out the next morning, again the experience was appalling! A different person this time who left us standing there for about 5 minutes (she was free), whilst she was doing something on the desk. It was only when I questioned was she available that she looked up and gave us eye contact and said that she was having problems 'logging on to our system' in an attempt to explain her lack of customer service.

It sounds like I am being very grumpy about this which I suppose I am but it surely isn't too much to expect that your first point of call in a hotel, i.e. reception, are trained well enough to say 'I'm really sorry, I'll be with you in a moment' or something to acknowledge your presence?

Not impressed.

The rooms were absolutely fine (we booked an exec room and a standard and the exec room was £60 more expensive and not worth it - both rooms are very similar), with comfy beds, clean rooms, good lift access etc.

The location is great as you are right on Stratford tube station (we were going to the O2 which is only 3 stops away), and parking at Westfield is both very easy and inexpensive (£7 for our overnight stay).

Would we stay again? Probably, if we got a good price but they really do need to sort out their customer service with their reception staff - very weak in what was an overall good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Stratford City, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Timgin

We would like to thank you for your feedback.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed staying in the Executive and Standard rooms and agree that boths rooms are comfortable and clean.

May i just let you know the difference between the two - Executive rooms are with King Beds with or without sofabeds, complimentary mineral water and chocolate bar, minibar, Bath Robe and Toiletries and tea tray. Standard rooms are with Queen bed and toiletries and tea tray.


We have passed on your comments to the entire team to ensure we continue improving our product and custmer service so as to make sure our guests’ expectations will be always met.

We hope to welcome you to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Lisa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
166 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We recently stayed here for a few days while visiting family. The location overlooking the Olympic Park is great. Excellent transport links into central London. The station is only a few steps away. The hotel is still very new so everything is still in tip top condition. Our standard room had everything we needed and was clean, comfortable & warm. Bathroom was a very good size. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment. Step outside and you are in a huge, new, stylish shopping mall with loads of places to eat. There's a cinema and a casino too. A great location if you're visiting London. I'd recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Olympic Park rather than shopping mall side. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FMMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Stratford City, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear FMMG

With 380 shops on our doorstep, you can definitely ‘shop ‘til you drop’! And we are glad to hear that you had such a good time.

Please rest assured that we have shared your comments with the team who are all very happy to have made your stay a special one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
The Westbridge Hotel
#104 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Ibis London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford
#475 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#106 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Stratford City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Stratford City

Property: Holiday Inn London - Stratford City
Address: 10a Chestnut Plaza, Westfield Stratford City, Montfichet Road | Olympic Park, London E20 1GL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in London
#54 Family Hotel in London
#85 Business Hotel in London
#104 Luxury Hotel in London
#112 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Stratford City 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Stratford City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Stratford City England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing