We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hog roast - best food in St John's Wood”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The New Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The New Inn B&B
Ranked #159 of 573 London B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hog roast - best food in St John's Wood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Although I live close by, I had not realised until recently that the pub had changed hands. It is a hidden gem in St John's Wood and does the best food in the area. I should know since I have tried all the restaurants, cafes and pubs on the main high street and surrounding areas and had almost given up finding a good local place to eat. After I ate here on a Sunday (fantastic roast lunch) I could not stay away and came 3 more times in the same week to work through the lunch tapas menus which is great value for money. I then asked them if I could bring a party of 15 for a full jog roast. We had a fantastic time, the food was excellent as always and the staff and owner, Nick, extremely welcoming. I will be back very soon and regularly. Based on the service and food, I will be recommending this hotel to anyone who comes to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    61
    12
    6
    13
See reviews for
36
88
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I can't fault the New Inn. Unfortunately we didn't have time to eat there but we had drinks from a good wine list. Nick, the owner, as well as all of the staff made us feel so welcome. It's a charming pub and the rooms are extremely comfortable. Not huge, but fantastic comfy beds and smart modern bathrooms. A real find, and very handy for Primrose Hill, Regents Park and St John's Wood tube. So central, but in a quiet street. I'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philippa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in London and now that I have found The New Inn, I will never stay anywhere else. I am very particular in selecting hotels, and The New Inn was just perfect for me. The aesthetic is charming and (most important) the standard for cleanliness is impeccable. The location cannot be beat if you are looking to be central yet somewhere quaint and away from the crowds. What most impressed me, however, was and the friendliness of the staff. Everyone here is so nice that I felt at home at the Inn after weeks of traveling. The New Inn offers something that the large chains just cannot. It’s the loveliest little hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights in October to celebrate his birthday. We had two meals during our stay and both were amazing. The staff and owner were all super friendly, funny and helpful. The pub it's self is a short walk from St Johns Wood tube station and its really easy to get to the centre. The rooms were very clean and a good size. Most of all the pub has a lovely atmosphere at all times of the day, we were made to feel very welcome and could've easily stayed at the pub instead of seeing the sights of London! Would definatley recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarfwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Based on reviews on TA and the convenient location of this place I made a booking via bookings.com (normally reliable) made booking on 8th October for the 27th for one night. Received a call from the manager on 22nd Oct with some rambling excuse to say that they had overbooked and could not honour my confirmed booking. Whoever was to blame it smacks of disorganisation at best and at worst I suspect thy had a more lucrative booking so decided to bounce my one night booking rather than decline a longer one that turned up later so if you book here beware. Wonder what this reflects about this places general level of customer service

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We recently visited The New inn to see and listen to the talents of blues singer Sean Taylor.
Nick the owner is a very congenial host,and his staff are most attentive.He has taken this establishment over and changed it, from a beer slopping corner local,and given it a slight continental feel.You can watch tv in one part,you can dine in another or as we did,enjoy a bottle of wine nibbling on cheese and olives whilst listening to live music.
Unfortunately it was rather empty.So atmosphere was lacking slighty.
They deserve to do better,give it a try,live music every Tuesday,and other special nights too.
They also have rooms above ,a few paying guests drifted into the bar and seemed happy enough.
So if you are ever in St Johns Wood and Fed up with the normal Gastro pub,and seek an alternatve,especially on a tuesday night when Sean Taylor performs,you will not ,i hope be dissapointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deladsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have stayed in some very disappointing London hotels (anyone who has had the nightmare of staying in The Earl's Court Gardens Hotel will know what I mean) and as we were only in London for the one night before a game at Lord's we thought we would stretch our budget to this delightful and conveniently located Inn. £99 for a twin room but note this does not include breakfast.

We had stayed here a few years ago and were pleased to see it hasn't really changed; apart from the absence of the Thai food - they have now switched to doing their own up-market traditional pub grub; available up to 22:00 I believe. The rooms are tastefully decorated, spotless, really comfortable and very spacious. Tea/coffee making facilities and the thoughtful option of an electric fan were also included.

The pub is a short walk from St John's Wood tube station and the High Street which has a good range of Italian, Lebanese, French and miscellaneous restaurants and cafes (where incidentally good breakfasts can be had if you want to eat a little more cheaply in the morning - would recommend Gail's breakfast or the Cafe Rouge's petit dejeuner by the way) and it's only a two-three minute walk to Lord's Cricket Ground.

The New Inn has a range of Green-King Ales and a comprehensive selection of wines, again not cheap, but given the location probably appropriately priced.

The real plus point to recommend the New Inn though is the staff; I booked by phone and Rene couldn't have been more charming or humorous and this was the same when dealing with him and his colleagues during our short stay. The bar service in the evening and check - in / check - out procedures were consistently carried out efficiently, courteously and with lots of laughter. We felt special, but I don't think we were treated differently to anyone else. This again made us think the New Inn is worth the little bit of extra money we were paying. Will we go back? Definitely!

Room Tip: If there is a major cricket match at Lords scheduled - book early. The New Inn will certainly be ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IgnatiusJBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.4 mi away
Danubius Hotel Regents Park
Danubius Hotel Regents Park
#314 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,274 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#506 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.5 mi away
London Marriott Hotel Regents Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Swiss Cottage Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
0.8 mi away
Primrose Guesthouse
Primrose Guesthouse
#47 of 573 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Inn B&B

Property: The New Inn B&B
Address: 2 Allitsen Road, London NW8 6LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Inn B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hotel and Gastropub in the heart of leafy St John’s Wood. Ideally located a stone’s throw from central London and a short walk to the nearest Underground station, The New Inn offers stylish, comfortable and affordable Double and Twin accommodation. All rooms are en suite and equipped with Freeview T.V. and WiFi. Make the most of the local area during your stay. St John’s Wood has an abundance of independent restaurants and cafes and beloved attractions such as Lord’s Cricket Ground and Regent’s Park are moments from your doorstep. Downstairs you can enjoy excellent food in relaxed and stylish surroundings. Our menu has been curated by Savoy trained owner Nick Tyrie, offering only the finest locally sourced produce. Complement your meal with one of our carefully selected wines and beers or sip from our vibrant cocktail list. Enjoy Sunday lunch soundtracked by live jazz every other week as well as a selection of other live music events, visit our website for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The New Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel London
The New Inn B&B London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing