We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
68
82
19
5
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
68
82
19
5
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews northern line tea coffee facilities minute walk ear plugs are provided main road one night road noise quieter room tube station small fridge attending a concert comfortable bed checking out brilliant hotel perfect location free wifi excellent stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 182 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the Gateway last Saturday Evening. Lovely welcome from the lady on reception who showed us to our room. The room was clean and comfortable with tea making facilities. Plenty of tea and coffee left to use, no restrictions like many hotels. Perfect location for us near family and Clapham common only a 2 minute walk.
If you have a car I would advise book a car park space in advance which is only £5 for the night.
Unfortunately our room only had a view of a brick wall but we were only sleeping there not having a holiday. Will definitely use this hotel again in the future.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

We stayed there for one night as we were going to a concert in Brixton which is only about half an hour away from the hotel.
Clapham South underground station and Clapham commons only a minute walk away.
The receptionist who checked us in, Alex I believe, was very friendly and helpful with direction and where to eat as they do not serve breakfast. There’s a very good cafe across the road ( the Commons Room).
Our room ( number 2 ) was situated downstairs in what must have been the basement, not much to see out of the window but we were only staying there to have somewhere to sleep in London.
The room itself was very spacious, clean and tidy. Tea and coffee facilities are on offer with biscuits. The bed was comfortable, a bit small but good enough. The Tv wasn’t tuned in so we could only watch the news on the BBC iPlayer.
The bathroom is on the large size as well which is a rare occurrence in London hotels for the rate we paid.
We planned to do the Clapham commons parkrun, and found that it is only a five minute walk from the hotel which was perfect!
A nice hotel to stay in.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Remy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018

We were visiting London to catch up wth family who live in Clapham and booked into this local hotel. The rooms were spotless, as were the reception and all other areas of the hotel. Although they do not serve breakfast,there are so many eateries locally that this is not a problem. We arrived very late due to delays in our flights so we called the hotel to advise. Alex very kindly left us the key and instructions to let ourselves into the hotel. Checking out was just as easy, we will definitely be booking in again the next time we visit London

Room tip: Maybe ask for a room at the back as front rooms are on a main road south a busy pub a couple of doors down
Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank small2564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2018 via mobile

We stayed in The Gateway Hotel for 2 nights; a Saturday and Sunday ...

Alex ( the Brazilian guest welcomer ) is really friendly and helpful - he is ‘front of hoist ‘ and just perfect for the role !

We didn’t spend an awful lot of time in the hotel itself, but it is great value for money by London standards, and close to numerous places of interest in the capital.

Clearly, as Clapham is SW based - it’s really handy for Battersea Arts Centre , where we went to ...

Would I recommend?

Yes, it’s not the Ritz, but it’s not a dingy B&B either :)

Thank you Alex - keep looking after your clients ... !

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank TimHerbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018

I wanted a hotel close to the Royal International Air Tattoo. Normal price for this hotel is £80 per night. Because of the local air show, I paid £320 for two nights! For that money I expected more.
It’s ok, for £80 a night I would have been happy.
The staff are helpful and very nice and accommodated dietary needs with no complaints. Breakfast was very good. Bar good and prices ok.
Bed comfortable room clean. Coffee facilities available although on our second day the room was cleaned but the biscuits were not replenished.....£320!! I would have expected them to be replenished. Good location but noisy due to main road, but I can live with that.

Would I stay again? At £80 a night for sure. £160 a night inflated for local demand, not a chance!

Room tip: It’s on a main road, so expect some noise.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank stuart a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews