We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent budget option ...”
Review of The Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel
Ranked #586 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

A group of us (two couples) stayed here recently. For London the rooms were a good size and clean. The staff were also helpful. It is about 200m from the tube (northern line) for sightseeing and close to Clapham High St for nights out. For anyone who doesn't want to pay extortionate prices in the city centre I would definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1987fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for The Gateway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 155 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

An excellent location but didn't get off to a good start when despite having paid they wanted all our card details including security number in case we lost the key. On leaving they wouldnt return details saying they had already destroyed them. Why do this prior to checking out ? The rooms were clean and functional but it is a conversion and the thin plaster board between rooms meant you could hear everything from adjoining rooms. There was no mirror in room apart from one in the bathroom so ladies very poor facilities for hair and make up.
Final straw was the heal of my new shoes disappearing into the Lino floor due to holes in the floor boards. Not the best place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneyN58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

OK so what I mean is relative to the price so for the price I paid it was excellent. The room had plenty of tea, coffee, biscuits and kettle etc. was very clean and so were the bed clothes. There was no cooked breakfast or dinner but it is right next to a great eatery ' Avalon'. The most important needs were more than met even ear plugs in case you are a light sleeper ( a nice thought). For the price it is better than expected and as we were doing the London - Brighton bike ride it was only 400 meters from the start.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room not on the road (front of hotel)
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel and we found it excellent value and convenient to all amenities.
There was some noise from traffic and the tube but it was not a major problem though it is possible that in other parts of the hotel it was. The room though small was very clean and the tea making facilities was a bonus. It is very close to Clapham South Tube.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

A lovely little hotel. The receptionist was very friendly and the room was a standard double with a wetroom style en-suite. But for only £75 it was a bargain especially as amenities such as tea/biscuits, towels and radical showergel were provided for less than the cost of a travelodge. It's only 2min from clapham south underground or 5min from balham station. The underground does pass under the hotel however it is not loud and didn't prevent me from sleeping soundly.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Small, profesionally run hotel conveniently close to tube lines. Impressive cleanliness and service, and very comfortable nights' sleep Wanted to extend my stay, but they were fully booked. I'll return.

Downsides: potential to be a little noisy (though this never affected me) and the bathroom was small though sufficient. If this concerns you then book a hotel higher up the price ladder.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Appelk00s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here last week as it was close to a wedding I attended. Good practical single room with bay window, therefore a bit noisy, and reasonably sized bathroom. The traffic noise could have been overcome by the earplugs provided, though I did not need them. Coffee, tea and biscuits provided in room and good hairdryer. Friendly front desk staff and electronic security code to enter the building. Location is excellent, right on bus route 155 to Elephant and Castle and 150 metres from Clapham South tube station. I did not have breakfast there but sampled local restaurants and coffee shops, of which there are several.

Room Tip: If traffic noise bothers you, ask for a back room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Balham
Travelodge London Balham
#372 of 1,072 in London
555 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Windmill Clapham
Windmill Clapham
#105 of 1,072 in London
565 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Premier Inn London Clapham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Clapham Junction Hotel
Church Street Hotel
#516 of 1,072 in London
430 reviews
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#337 of 1,072 in London
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel

Address: 14 Balham Hill | Clapham Common, London SW12 9EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in London
#343 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $87 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel London
The Gateway Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing