We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quite good - not perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Ranked #321 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Scotland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Quite good - not perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a very clean and modern Ibis, with stylish rooms and bar. Food is normal Ibis/Novotel fare - nothing special but not bad in any way. Service is friendly and efficient.

A few things I didn't like:

No hot breakfast, not even if you pay a premium. I really look forward to a big breakfast and there's only so much toast you can take to plug the gap.
Wifi is on a tiered basis. While it's only £3 for the full-speed version, I resent paying that when many other hotels offer it completely free of charge, and you will need the full speed version for any kind of VPN access.

Cheap beer though for London.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlasdairMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benrabah, General Manager at Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear reviewer, Thank you for your feed back you have posted on TripAdvisor. I am sory to read that you were disappointed about not having the full English breakfast available as we only do this during the week ends as there is hardly any demand for it during the week. I am glad you have enjoyed the beer!! We hope to welcome you back at Ibis Styles Southwark Rose.
kind regards, Nawel Benrabah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    838
    222
    46
    26
See reviews for
343
622
111
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have just returned from a great weekend stay at this Ibis. We booked with an offer through my husband's Accor loyalty card and got a great price. We had a warm welcome from the reception staff and were given a room with a view of the Shard. We were concerned that being on the 1st floor it might be noisy, but this wasn't the case. The rooms seemed pretty well soundproofed. Our room was very clean and a good size with a large king size bed, two chairs, wardrobe, shelves, safe and tea making facilities. The bed was a little firm for me - but I do like a very soft mattress. The bedside shelves were really only large enough for the lamps on them, so a bit of a problem if, like us, you want to put a glass of water and/or book on them. The shower room was well designed with great water pressure in the shower. As with many hotel bathrooms, there was nowhere to leave a wash bag unless you have one of those that unfold and hang on a hook. The hairdryer is permanently plugged in within a unit which when opened provides a mirror in it's lid. Unfortunately, the hairdryer is one that you have to keep your finger pressed on the switch to keep it turned on - not easy to use when styling your hair.There is a temperature control in the room which worked well, but, as with all air conditioning, it made a noise. We found that we couldn't sleep with the window open because of the general noise from the City outside( we do live in quiet area and are not used to traffic at night) so the room got quite hot in the night with the A/C off. Continental breakfast (self service) is included in the price at this hotel and they offer quite a good selection of drinks, cereals, meat, cheese, fruit, yoghurts, bread, croissants etc. You can pay £5 extra for a cooked breakfast if you want one. It is not a large restaurant and we found that there were lots of people wanting to eat around 9am at the weekend. The staff at breakfast work very hard and efficiently to clear tables swiftly and seat people as quickly as they can. No one had to wait long to get a table when we were there. There is also a free drinks dispenser in the reception area of the hotel. We didn't eat lunch or evening meal at the hotel so can't comment on the quality. It is easy to walk to a number of attractions from the hotel - Borough Market, the Globe Theatre and Tate Modern to name a few. London Bridge underground is about a 10 minute walk and you pass Southwark Cathedral and Borough Market on the way. There is a car park which charges the normal sort of London hotel rates. We never saw it full during the weekend. We enjoyed our stay here and will return.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the Shard ask for one. These rooms are at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisallys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benrabah, General Manager at Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear reviewer, We really take pride in our staff and services and special supporting comments like these which keeps us motivated all the time to keep up the work ethics. Thank you again and all the team is looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to London.
Kind regards, Nawel Benrabah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a typical Ibis hotel: French-stylish lobby, good croissants, smallish but clean and modern rooms, shower only (but LEDs in shower head?!), no soap (one liquid for everything type place). Breakfast is a "continental" buffet - ie nothing hot - but has OK fruit and breads.Twin beds are small and hard - beware! Bring drinking water - there is nothing in the room.

I would argue that for £200 you can find a London hotel with character in a nicer area.. but it seems monday night is pricey here!

one last note - wierd smells and people in the lobby re-explaining that their toilet didn't work and they were desperate to find one near the breakfast area... Hmmm.

Room Tip: avoid twins if possible if you have back troubles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benrabah, General Manager at Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your positive comments you posted on here regarding your recent stay at Ibis Styles Southwark Rose Hotel. I am sorry you have found the room rate pricy however we believe that we are quite competitive in our Southbank Market Place. Thank you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to welcome you back.
Kind regards, Nawel Benrabah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel had its ups and downs.

The good points were: room was clean, maids were polite, the whole place was quiet and generally of a good standard.

However, as many other guests have said, the promised wifi is terrible and the staff seemed to have their good and bad days. Food service wasn't the hotels strongest point as their seemed to be a lack of waiting staff who were unorganised. The food wasn't great either, both breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flobaby2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benrabah, General Manager at Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear reviewer, Thank you for posting your comments on here. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay. Please rest assured that I will take note of your comments regarding WiFi and food and beverage service and the matter will be addressed. I hope we can welcome you back to the Ibis Styles Southwark Rose hotel soon.
Kind regards, Nawel Benrabah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#230 of 1,069 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,681 reviews
Southwark
Novotel London City South
Novotel London City South
#278 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London- Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel
Southwark
Mercure London Bridge
Mercure London Bridge
#327 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,698 reviews
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose

Property: Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Address: 43-47 Southwark Bridge Road, London SE1 9HH, England (Formerly All Seasons)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#250 Family Hotel in London
#271 Romantic Hotel in London
#337 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ibis Styles London Southwark Rose (formerly all seasons) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southwark Rose London
Hotel Southwark Rose
Southwark Rose Hotel
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing