We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Like all great travelers, I have seen more than I remember, and remember more than I have seen.” - Benjamin Disraeli”
Review of The Main House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Main House
Ranked #45 of 579 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2011

The Main House is perfection!

A superb and unique home away from home, complete with charm and elegance within the hustle and bustle of one of the greatest cities in the world.
If your voyages take you in search of discovery and authenticity in the people, places and experiences you seek: The Main House is for you.

Caroline and Moa were more than hospitable, going out of their way to enhance our London
experience. We were sad to leave, but in our return travels to London, we have found our true "home away from home."

P.S. Ample closet space, gorgeous antique furniture and rugs, heavenly beds with duvets, immaculate washroom with all necessities (including soap, soft white towels, toilet paper,
hairdryer, power adapters etc.) all on a quiet street in the heart of Nottinghill!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Decourvirlemonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 241 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2011

Mainhouse was by far one of the biggest disappointments we've encountered in our recent travels and we travel a lot. The alarm bells went off as soon as we arrived and walked into the hallway. Our room wasn't ready, so we wandered around the neighbourhood, which is lovely, featuring great shopping and interesting restaurants and eateries (a highlight including Otto Lenghi). When we finally returned the room we were first offered was no longer available -- odd, we thought! the room we ended up in was pleasant enough, though everything (upholstery, area rug, ...) were tatty. There was no closet to hang up clothing. No curtain in the bathroom, which was inconvenient and annoying. there were not enough towels (and when we asked for more or for them to be changed, we received none; the ones we had were soggy and damp). There was no soap provided for washing hands or bathing. And there was never enough toilet paper -- we ended up having to go out and buy our own one day.
It was expensive for what was offered; we left early and were still required to pay until the end of our stay, even though we gave several days notice.
I would strongly discourage anyone from considering Main House. We'll never return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Hazel Agnes r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Every bit of our stay was just fabulous. Perfect location, Notting hill couldn't be more pleasant. Very apartment like living with the amenities of housekeeping and morning coffee/tea. We stayed in the French suite on the top floor, lots of space and very comfortable. We felt very welcomed and enjoyed the privacy. Moa was very kind and happy to give directions, arrange a car service, or anything we asked.

We will definitely be returning to the main house for future stays in London! I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable, independent stay in London.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This was our fourth stay at the Main House. We usually arrange our vaction in London around availability of a room here. The location in Notting Hill is perfect - just a few steps to restaurants, shopping, and the tube. Each "room" is actually an entire floor (bathroom included) so you have a lot of privacy. Each of the 3 floors is spacious and wonderfully furnished - we've now stayed at least once on each floor. We've had to stay at other places in London but Main House is always our first choice. Caroline Main and staff are always friendly and professional. You don't find many places who lend you a jacket for several days because you forgot to pack one.

Room Tip: Book early to get the room you want. The floors differ in some details but all provide a wonderful s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rabilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

From the very first steps inside the house with the warm welcome of Moa, we almost felt at home. We spent 5 nights in the so-called "French suite", on the top floor, which strengthens the feeling of privacy and being at home; you should be reasonably fit to climb the four storeys and, above all, don't have too heavy and bulky luggage (this was several times rightly advised in the e-mails Moa sent us before our arrival).
The bedroom is on the back of the building, thus perfectly quiet (a miracle for busy Notting Hill), and the living room offers plenty of space. The location is perfect and Moa gives good advice about tube, buses and those little tricks always helpful for tourists.
The only disappointment relates to the bathroom which is very very small, so small that there is no space for even tooth mugs (none being provided, which seems a bit strange to us). Even though morning tea or coffee was brought to our room (lovely silver tray and pots), we would have liked to have at least an electric jug as it would have been nice to benefit fully from the large living room and have hot drinks in the afternoon after the strenuous walks and activities that tourists have to endure ! A small table or desk would also be welcome in the living room as it's not very convenient for writing or using a laptop.
Minor details like this could be easily corrected and would bring this guest house to perfection, as it is already very close to it.
On the other hand, free high speed access to Internet is a real bonus, as are the tourist books, guides and maps put at your disposal. I should also mention the fact that Moa provided us with two Oyster cards, which saved us the trouble and expense of buying them. The minicab service from the airport is also worthwhile. Finally, even if there's a discount at Tom's Deli around the corner, we found that a few yards further Daylesford (bakery, café, organic products, etc.) is more pleasant and cheaper.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul_Hamelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is not a hotel. Nor is it a bed and breakfast. Staying at Main House almost seems like you are staying with people you don't know but have mutual friends in common. Caroline and Moa are the quintessential hosts, and are very welcoming and helpful. This is their home, and while they welcome you with open arms, they don't hover and suffocate the way bed and breakfast owners often do, but they aren't inaccessible the way some of the reviews described. This truly did feel like a situation where a friend of mine called up her own friends in London and said, "I've got friends coming to London. Can they crash with you?" As soon as we arrived (unannounced as we were exhausted from the trans-Atlantic flight and not motivated to figure out how to use the phones), Moa was there to greet us and store our bags. Caroline soon made an appearance, and after introductions, figured out how much time we were spending in London and gave us FANTASTIC advice on how to make the most of our time. The house isn't marked on the outside as a B&B or hotel, so you really need to know where you are going, but that made it quaint. Again, staying with friends of friends . . . Location in Notting Hill is outstanding. We loved exploring the area. The room itself was HUGE. One of the reasons this place stood out when I was looking for accommodations was because it was large. It was furnished with interesting and beautiful pieces and had things like electric converter, hair dryer, books about London, and other things Caroline and Moa thought we might need. If the bedroom is large, the bathroom is even bigger. It looked like it had been another small bedroom at one time, but is now a HUGE bathroom with a large closet/armoire to store things in. I would tell you to beware about bathing, however. The window curtain in the bathroom is pretty much see-through and there is a man who sits on his balcony behind the Main Houseand probably enjoys watching the tourists take showers as he enjoys a pint or a bottle of wine. If bathing at night, we took showers in the dark! In the morning, Moa brought us tea or coffee after asking us what time we would like it. She was very quiet and discreet, and it was a nice way to wake up instead of loud banging or an obnoxious wake-up phone call. Other things we liked: the wooden floor boards creaked when you walked on them. Hopefully, we didn't disturb our downstairs neighbors, but we thought it was charming. Moa stored a bottle of champagne for us in a little cooler downstairs. We were invited to store other drinks there as well, and in the same room was a rather large collection of London reading material which we enjoyed. Another guest told us of a great little bar around the corner and we ventured there our last night. If you walk out of the Main House and are standing in front looking at the street, go right, then another right at the corner, and the bar is about two to three doors down. Literally, "right around the corner." Great bartender in there who is proud of his work and takes his time making fabulous drinks with precise presentation. We really enjoyed ourselves here. Between the Notting Hill Gate Tube Station and the Main House, you will come across the Notting Hill Library. A very helpful young woman working in the library allowed us to use internet for free by becoming library cardholders. She will use your hotel or B&B address to sign you up for a card, then show you how to sign up for free internet usage. The library card itself is a cute souvenir as it has a photo of Portobello Road on it. At the end of the stay, Caroline and Moa felt like friends, and I hope we will be able to stay with them next time we go back to London.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ELLASECRET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I chose the stay in the Main House for my long awaited London vacation this summer and I absolutely loved my 4 nights there. Right from our arrival in the early morning, Moa greeted my partner and I with a bright smile and showed us to the French Room. The decor in the room was rather inspirational from the warm furry rugs to the beautiful antique chest that contained all the essentials a first time traveller could possible need - Map, guidebook, hairdryer, universal adapter etc.

The primary reason we loved our stay at the Main House so much is because you're accorded just the right amount of privacy and yet, you're also provided good advice on how to get to markets and things. It feels like you're staying at a very stylish flat of a hospitable friends, complete with a whimsical breakfast joint - Tom's Deli, just around the corner.

I'd suggest booking far in advance to have an opportunity to stay at the Main House. Do also use the mini cab service from the airport that will be arranged in advance of your arrival by Moa or Caroline. It will save you money and the pains of snaking through airport cab queues.

Room Tip: Book in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank summers-sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#323 of 1,081 in London
1,618 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Vancouver Studios
Vancouver Studios
#396 of 1,081 in London
440 reviews
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#433 of 1,081 in London
296 reviews
Roseate House London
#63 of 1,081 in London
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Main House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Main House

Address: 6 Colville Road | Notting Hill, London W11 2BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 579 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $154 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Main House Hotel London
The Main House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing