We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place - good atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ranked #366 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had a smashing time here - really hip place and good service is guarranteed - good to see they are sticking to the standards the late owner set - good work guys, great stay all round. Only slight issue - the upper bar and bar area are stlll under construction but looks nearly finished - we can't fault it otherwise...

Room Tip: For hip and hippy alike
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlc12karl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Hey Karlc12karl, Thanks so much for the 5 stars its a really great way to start the week. I will let all staff know that you think we doing well and keeping the Ace vibe alive.

The Staff from Ace London xoxo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,037)
There are newer reviews for Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

791 - 797 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

Having been to their location in NYC, I was ecstatic to learn there was another in London! The staff on both the hotel and bar/restaurant side were friendly and extremely helpful. The attention to detail throughout was much enjoyed. The size and design of the "standard" room felt and looked much better than it sounds initially, we loved the window couch. Room service breakfast was delicious and reasonably priced. The location was great- short walk to food, awesome bars, Spitalfields Market etc. And super easy to hop on a bus or the metro (with helpful instructions from the staff). Can't wait for our next stay at The Ace.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stepokee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

The Staff at Ace London

Hey Stepokee, Many Thanks for the five stars it’s a nice way how to end the week. We are so happy to read the fact you’re an Ace enthusiast and have also stayed at the NYC hotel. We have a great team who love paying attention to detail and so to read that you noticed this is amazing.

Many Thanks,

The Staff at Ace London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for quick business trip in January. I loved the property, lobby was relaxing and open, the whole team was superb and a special thank you to Inga for a great welcome.
I will defiantly recommend to others and I look forward to return.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Brynhildur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Hey, Many Thanks for the five stars it’s a nice way how to end the week. Our staffs at Ace do try and make our entire guests feel welcome. I will pass the thanks onto Inga.

The Staff at Ace London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is my first stay at the hotel since it has changed hands and been refurbished. It is a bizarre mix of quirky trendy busy noisy. I didn't dislike it I just found it too different from what I typically expect when I'm away on business. The staff were pleasant at reception and even more so in the restaurant. The food choice is different but after an initial feeling that I was going to struggle to find something I would like I actually quite enjoyed my meal. The restaurant was busy with a pleasant atmosphere with various large groups of friends meeting up. The room was comfortable although had some weird clutter. Clipboards and pencil sharpener on the wall! Very low bed albeit it was comfortable. Tin cups were just impossible to drink tea or coffee from too hot to hold. Lots to choose from the mini bar sweets biscuits popcorn chocolate in addition to the normal drink choices. Free bar of chocolate and a bottle of water was a nice touch. Jury is out on whether I will go again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brownba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Hey brownbag,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Ace Hotel London. It always great to get feedback from our guests. We were pleased to read that you found the hotel a change from the normal style of hotel and that you enjoyed your meal in Hoi Polloi.

We totally understand your point on the mugs and tumblers, and we are currently reviewing the possibility of an alternative as the last thing we would like to do is injure one of our guests.

We do hope that you will consider us next time you are back in London.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Sleek, hip, fun, unconventional, easy going, stylish, etc. You could say a lot positive about the Ace. And it fits perfectly to the vibrant surroundings (Shoreditch). However, one usually seeks more than just fun in a hotel. Getting some decent sleep is almost impossible when your room is on the first floor overlooking busy Shoreditch High St.! We were so tired during the day because we could almost not sleep at night due to all the noise and light coming from outside. We had a lot of expectations after visiting the original Ace in Portland (Oregon), but unfortunately we felt pretty disappointed about our Ace London experience. Prices are not cheap at all and sound-proofing should be a priority for this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giorgionet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Hey Giorgionet,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere of the hotel. I am of course sad to read that you had a disturbed nights sleep.

The glazing of the windows is a challenge that we are looking to improve, we are located in a vibrant and exciting part of the city and the windows are double glazed but we totally take on board that the windows need to be looked at.

Thank you again for you taking the time to let us know about this issue and I can assure you that we will be looking to find a solution.

We look forward to seeing you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights before Christmas.
For us it was a delightful double confirmation:
a year ago we spent the night in Shoreditch has confirmed that this wonderful area and slept 3 years ago 7 nights ACE Hotel in NYC where we fell in love .....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matteo2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hi, Thanks for staying with us in Ace London. Its so nice to hear that you fell in love in the Ace NY. Make sure you come back to see us.

The Staff at Ace London xoxo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Had one if the basic doubles and although we didn't have a turntable. The room had this lovely aura about it. The bathroom was beautiful with soft fluffy towels, great toiletries and a very powerful shower.
The rooms are certainly not noisy at night and did feature air con.
The staff were all friendly and willing to attend to any requests.
Every detail seemed to have been thought about except for one thing; NO FREE WATER in the rooms! This must be the first time I haven't had a free bottle of water in a hotel for about five years, and as you can see, I stay in a lot of hotels!
Anyway, silly little gripe over, this a great hotel in a great, hip location that, in my opinion was reasonably priced for the quality.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Chubbychubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hi, Many thanks for the 4 star review. Thank you for the compliment and feedback. We hope to see you again! xoxo

The Staff at Ace London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
#103 of 1,072 in London
4,654 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#131 of 1,072 in London
465 reviews
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#141 of 1,072 in London
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
Nobu Hotel Shoreditch
#609 of 1,072 in London
55 reviews
Shoreditch
Boundary Rooms & Suites
Boundary Rooms & Suites
#616 of 1,072 in London
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel London Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel London Shoreditch

Address: 100 Shoreditch High Street, London E1 6JQ, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London Shoreditch)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Business Hotel in London
#260 Luxury Hotel in London
#302 Family Hotel in London
#331 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $196 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ace Hotel London Shoreditch 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, a 5 star property in the historic Shoreditch neighbourhood, a hub for galleries, theaters and fashion, home of the Brick Lane market and a canvas for street artists from around the world.It’s a neighborhood with a long history of culture and industry — the first district where plays were performed in London, banned at that time in the center city, and later a center of in textile and furniture manufacture.Today’s Shoreditch is a leader in the arts, design, cuisine, culture and technology — an outpost in the global community of ideas. The design at Ace Hotel London hints at a wide range of influences from UK punk to the bold graphic style of the early 20th century Vorticist movement, to the clean Modernism of the Bauhaus.All rooms have vintage furniture, original artwork, in-room safe and flatscreen TV with Ace video-on-demand and Revo radios with Ace-curated radio stations, plus a well-stocked mini-bar and complimentary WiFI. Some rooms have turntables and a selection of vinyl and acoustic guitars.Easy access to Moorgate, Finsbury Square and Liverpool Street. Destination restaurant Hoi Polloi is by David Waddington and Pablo Flack who are restaurateurs behind Bistrotheque and Shrimpy’s. Gym is open 24 hours; the Hotel also features a Basement Bar with live gigs and DJ sets, a lobby bar, The Bulldog Edition - a coffee shop in partnership with Square Mile Coffee Roasters, an exhibition gallery, on-site juice bar, a flower shop, and 24 hours room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ace Hotel London Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London Shoreditch Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing