We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damn hip hipster joint in the heart of Hip-town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ranked #335 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Damn hip hipster joint in the heart of Hip-town”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Ace Hotel in London is like some cool lad's open house and everyone's invited. There is zero stuffiness here, no plush carpets, no stiff doorman, no snooty hotel clerk. It's all about nonchalance, hanging about, having a drink, meeting your mates, watching everyone, envying everyone's clothes, wanting all the furniture, thinking about changing jobs, maybe being a photographer....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoomWithAReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, EA at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments in regards to your stay at Ace hotel London. We’re overjoyed that you liked the hotel’s design and atmosphere. We wanted to create an environment that people wanted to hang out and have a drink while meeting mates.

We hope you come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    333
    139
    53
    46
See reviews for
143
280
53
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was excited to find that Ace Hotels had arrived in the UK and even more excited when the opportunity came to have a sleep over in the city!

The best thing about the hotel by far was the staff especially those in the lobby and behind the front desk. The help the team gave to get a last minute dinner reservation was fantastic, If I could remember their names I would mention them personally. They were all so friendly and helpful.
I agree with other reviewers that the decor in the rooms in particular might not be to everyones taste but it was very clean, new and I liked the difference .
It was a cool place to hang out both by day and night, we had brunch at Hoi polloi which I really loved, great decor, friendly staff and tasty food ( though portion sizes might be considered small for those with a hungry appetite!)

Downside we had to wait for 30 mins for cocktails at 2230 ...which was very annoying they need more staff behind the bar on a saturday night.

I would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel and higher floors are quieter Lobby Bar gets busy on a saturday nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CornwallFoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, EA at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Many thanks for your comments on your stay at Ace Hotel London. We strive to create an ambiance that makes our guests feel at home and in ultimate comfort. The staff at Ace, place the upmost importance in giving all our guests as pleasurable a stay as possible and so we really appreciate it when we get positive feedback. The Housekeeping team work very hard on maintaining the high level of cleanliness within the hotel and I will pass your comments onto them.

We hope to have you back at Ace Hotel London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is a very cool and trendy hotel. The décor is very unusual and may not be to everyone's taste. Our room was spacious and comfortable but not luxurious. It was equipped with an acoustic guitar and condom!

The staff were very friendly and not typical hotel employees. I would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celtic59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, EA at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Many thanks for your review on Ace Hotel London. We really appreciate feedback from our guests. Providing exemplary customer service is central to the Ace Hotel ethos and so to read that you feel our staffs was friendly and are more than typical hotel employees makes us smile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We came for cherrystones dj set which was amazing, the music was great we spent a lot of money at the bar downstairs which isn't the point, the night was advertised until 1am at 12am after buying a very expensive round the security demanded that we finish & leave? Nobody told us it was finishing earlier than billed, it was quiet so we understand but we were bullied by 4 security to finish or drinks even though we'd just bought them horrible attitude from obviously bored security even though we were the only paying customers in the bar. Targeted us like some kind of criminals. Good music bad location.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadeandowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Nadeandowney,

I was sorry to hear about your recent experience at the Ace Hotel Shoreditch. The hotel does strive to ensure that our security team are experienced and deal with any situation in with minimum fuss.

It would appear that on this occasion they have acted in a manner which is not becoming of our level of service. I am sorry that you and your friends were treated in this way and I would like to assure you that this will not be repeated.

I am glad that you enjoyed the music on the night, and I hope that you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

First of all, we were really looking forward to staying here… I had booked a Superior Deluxe Double because I wanted a turntable and guitar. I was happy to pay extra for this and did so.

On arrival things looked good, nice foyer and friendly staff.

We checked in fine but when we got the room there was no turntable or guitar. So, I went to back to reception and they tried to tell me that only some rooms have this. I told them that their website said otherwise - it states SOME Deluxe Double Rooms' have turntable/guitar but ALL Superior Deluxe Double have them. They apologised and said they would move us but it they would need to get another room ready so all fine. But, this took nearly two hours. During which time we were sat in the nice foyer/bar area drinking the pricey drinks. It was only when I chased them up for the 3rd time we were offered a complimentary drink. We were on a short break in London and could think of better ways to spend our first couple of hours.

When we finally got to the room it had the turntable/guitar - great! But, it was much bigger than the first room we saw. What did they try and fob me off with the first time? Although we had a decent room now, this left a bad taste as I felt this was either dishonest or incompetent. I had paid extra for a better room and expect to be given this!

The room was OK. Great bed and sofa but the rest was a mixed bag. Serious lack of tea and coffee making provisions (2 tea bags and a kettle that wouldn't fit in the sink and had to be boiled on the floor as there was nowhere for it to site as it's stored in a plastic tray!).

Decor and fittings are generally average and it looks as though things have been 'tarted' up to look better than they are. Bathroom ok but basically a budget hotel bathroom painted in 'edgy' colours.

Also, it was really noisy. Building work going on in the hotel and outside too. I realise that the work out side is beyond the control of the hotel but the windows aren't remotely sound proof so if you want a lie in, forget it.

When I emailed the hotel asking for my receipt (third time of asking) I raised my issues, to give them a chance to respond but was completely ignored. This was their response to my lengthy email:

"Please find attached the copy of the invoices you have requested.
And please let us know if we can be of further assistance."

So, they clearly don't care about their customers either. This was 2 weeks ago so they've had plenty of time.

And Ace Hotel - please don't put some generic answer on here because it will be embarrassing. You had your chance to deal with this and if you really cared you would have done so.

NB. I have since noticed that Superior Deluxe Double rooms have been removed from the website. It would be speculation to suggest a reason for this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank missingchannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Missing Channel,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor, I was sorry to read about the issues that you experienced during and after your stay.
All of our rooms do vary in size, and have their own individual quirks. I would like to assure you that there was no intention to mislead or upset you. The hotel has been open for just over two months and we are working through a few minor kinks. All of our superior rooms do have turntables and guitars in them but it would appear that on this occasion the turntable had been moved out of the room and not replaced.

I am extremely disappointed to read about the length of time it took to get a copy of your invoice and then your feedback in relation to your stay was totally ignored. I have spent some time this week trying to get to the bottom of where your email was sent and who responded to it both to no avail.

I would be grateful if you could contact me at the hotel to discuss the matter further. I would like to assure you that we take customer service very seriously and I would appreciate hearing your feedback directly so that we can learn from this experience and ensure that it is not repeated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Booked this hotel on the advice of a family member who just happens to be a interior architect who said he had visited other hotels throughout the world belonging to this chain, saying they were fine. Now when asking for a quiet room we were put into a disabled persons room and stayed there thinking it would be fine, it was spacious but very spartan with no tea or coffee making facilities apart from a kettle? When enquires were made to the front desk we were informed that there was a coffee shop by the restaurant area were we could purchase a cup of coffee.
Our interior architect family member has a good look around the room and was amazed by the sub-standard finnish to some of the items in the room. Wardrobe doors were just MDF material and they hadn't even been finnish off just painted over the rough edges. There was a mini bar and bottles of spirits in the room which was a nice touch, usual hotel prices.
In hind sight it would have helped if we had been asked if we minded being in a disabled room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Michael S,

Thank you so much for your recent review of the Ace London. I was saddened to read that the room that you stayed in was not up to standard.
We have gone through an amazing refurbishment programme and we have strived to ensure that all of our rooms are finished to a high standard. The items that you have pointed out in terms of finish are not what we expect and we have asked our building team to revisit the room that you stayed in and all of the accessible rooms as they have all been recently remodelled.

I totally agree that you should have been asked if it would ok to stay in an accessible room and we will ensure that the front desk team carry this out from now on.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Ace Hotel London in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I've stayed at the Ace Hotel in New York several times. I was thrilled to learn it was coming to London, and my stay didn't disappoint. Rooms seem larger than the NYC outpost. Love the decor and styling, especially all the little British details, like Revo radios and Falcon Enamelware mugs. There was even a copy of Wuthering Heights (my favourite book) in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remindsmeofyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin N, Manager at Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hey Remindsmeofyou,

Thank you so much for your recent review of the Ace London, it is also great to hear that you are a fan of our sister property in New York.

We always try to bring a little something of the city where the hotel is, it makes us feel that we are part of the city and it is so great that you have picked up on this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Shoreditch in the very near future, and I can assure you that our team in New York looks forward to seeing you there soon.

Have a great evening
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
#105 of 1,067 in London
4,543 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#130 of 1,067 in London
399 reviews
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#129 of 1,067 in London
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
M by Montcalm Shoreditch London Tech City
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#314 of 1,067 in London
545 reviews
Shoreditch
Boundary Rooms & Suites
Boundary Rooms & Suites
#612 of 1,067 in London
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel London Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel London Shoreditch

Property: Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Address: 100 Shoreditch High Street, London E1 6JQ, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza London Shoreditch)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Business Hotel in London
#238 Luxury Hotel in London
#302 Family Hotel in London
#331 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ace Hotel London Shoreditch 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ace Hotel London Shoreditch, a 5 star property in the historic Shoreditch neighbourhood, a hub for galleries, theaters and fashion, home of the Brick Lane market and a canvas for street artists from around the world.It’s a neighborhood with a long history of culture and industry — the first district where plays were performed in London, banned at that time in the center city, and later a center of in textile and furniture manufacture.Today’s Shoreditch is a leader in the arts, design, cuisine, culture and technology — an outpost in the global community of ideas. The design at Ace Hotel London hints at a wide range of influences from UK punk to the bold graphic style of the early 20th century Vorticist movement, to the clean Modernism of the Bauhaus.All rooms have vintage furniture, original artwork, in-room safe and flatscreen TV with Ace video-on-demand and Revo radios with Ace-curated radio stations, plus a well-stocked mini-bar and complimentary WiFI. Some rooms have turntables and a selection of vinyl and acoustic guitars.Easy access to Moorgate, Finsbury Square and Liverpool Street. Destination restaurant Hoi Polloi is by David Waddington and Pablo Flack who are restaurateurs behind Bistrotheque and Shrimpy’s. Gym is open 24 hours; the Hotel also features a Basement Bar with live gigs and DJ sets, a lobby bar, The Bulldog Edition - a coffee shop in partnership with Square Mile Coffee Roasters, an exhibition gallery, on-site juice bar, a flower shop, and 24 hours room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ace Hotel London Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London Shoreditch Hotel London
London Crowne Plaza
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing