We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at Barclay House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barclay House London B&B
Ranked #39 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Amadora, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stay at Barclay House”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Very good place to stay.
Highly Recommended.
Central place, near everything.
Charlotte from Barclay was amazing, always ready to help and gave all the indications that we need.
If some day i return to London i hope to stay again at Barclay Road.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio_Santos77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
From warm Lisbon to cold London, these lovely guests braved the wet weather in exchange for lots of fun Christmas shopping. Thanks so much for the kind words; send us your friends!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    56
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
42
110
34
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2013

After several visits to London we ( my wife and I ) eventually foudn a very nice place to stay at a resonable price.Being important , the price it is not the most important issue when talking about Barclay House , are all the small details which added up make a real feeling of being almost " better than at home". Very comfortable bed , a very well thought room, a magnificent shower, very good breakfast , all combined with the warm attention of Charlotte make an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Delightful guests, from the grand expanse of Madrid, who spoke with me at length about all the architectural features that we've included to make guests feel as comfortable as possible.We so enjoy guests who appreciate that 'it's all in the detail'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Loving London and especially Christmas shopping, we have always been disappointed of mid-price range hotels. This year we've decided to go for B&B. This was the best choice we did.
Clean, central, pretty and functional rooms, Great breakfast and on top of this warm welcome and great tips for restaurant and shopping.
Will definitively be our home adress in London!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elgitano1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We are glad that you have finally found a great place to stay! London, unfortunately, offers a lot of mediocre, overpriced accommodation. We aspire to delight our guests and are glad that we did just that for these seasoned travelers (and shoppers!). Many thanks for the clear, concise review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pollenca, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is a very nice house in a very quiet place, and very easy to go everywhere in London. Hostess, Charlotte, helped us with maps and useful information to find special places, that was what we where looking for.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatiAppleseed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Lovely guests from a warm Balearic island who withstood freezing cold, wintery London markets, Christmas stalls and many vintage shops; all that makes a Dickensian Winter Wonderland. Glad that we could give you good ideas about the best vinyl records shops, to experience even more than you had planned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The room was small but well thought out. Wife had large luggage as we were going to Italy next and it was not an issue. Place is very secure. Breakfast is perfect for a city setting as you help your self to nespresso, croissants, toast, etc whenever you feel like it. Neighborhood is nice, not touristy, and ideal for the tube or bus. If you have any questions about the place please don't hesitate to ask.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmike2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Super-seasoned travelers--always a pleasure to meet like-minded guests; we exchanged ideas about Italy, ironically by email when they were here as they were so busy 'doing' London. Glad you loved our local eating and the fresh croissants served here. We'll try the place you stayed in Rome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was my first visit to London, and I could not have chosen a better place to stay for 6 days. Any anxiety I had as a solo first-time visitor was alleviated by Charlotte's support in planning my visit.
The facts:
The location is great with bus and tube minutes away.
The single room is small but very comfortable.
Breakfast is simple but adequate (croissants are delicious), and the kitchenette (small fridge, microwave, jug, coffee machine, toaster) allows you to have a cuppa or prepare a light meal.

Fortunately, I am booked for a return visit for 5 days in January.

Thank you Charlotte.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedheadNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
So glad you are returning for the big January sales! London awaits....Many thanks for your factual review; always very helpful for potential guests who spend hours trying to find the 'right' place to stay in expensive, albeit exciting and enticing London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

What a great find! We spent 4nts at this excellent boutique B'n'B situated 5 mins walk from Fulham Broadway underground and buses to central London. Good vibes on booking with friendly/helpful reply email. We were not disappointed - very warm welcome made us feel instantly 'at home'. Beautifully appointed stylish king size bedroom and super shower room. Amazing personal touches eg small umbrellas for guest use. Breakfast is self service from the central kitchen area (with microwave) - continental style but what a choice: breads, cereals, fruit juice, jam, marmalade, tea and coffee (fresh brewed if preferred). Drinks available any time of day. Very clean and comfortable and at a good price for what you get - try it, you'll like it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Glad you enjoyed it! You loved some of our 'gadgets' so I've emailed you links to purchase them. Hope to see you again when plans call for another round of the best of London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Malt House
The Malt House
#53 of 555 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Rue Saint Jacques Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Captain Cook
The Captain Cook
#31 of 555 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Villes Bed & Breakfast
The Villes Bed & Breakfast
#175 of 555 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Kandara Guest House
#26 of 555 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay House London B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay House London B&B

Property: Barclay House London B&B
Address: 21 Barclay Road, London SW6 1EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just named one of Britain's Best 50 B&Bs by The Times. Our guests want 5-star style at a reasonable price in expensive London; Pls note: we totally renovated in mid-2011--reviews before that relate to rooms no longer available. We offer two design-led, five-star styled guest rooms each with its own bathroom inside the room, ie 'en suite'. Guest rooms exude award-winning British design, super comfort and convenience: Phillipe Starke bathrooms, RLangford beds with hotel-style high headboards, secure highest-speed WiFi, excellent lighting, large desks by ChannelsDesign, LED flattest screen tvs, guest breakfast bar; all in one area of an 1872 Victorian terraced house with all modern amenities Barclay Road is a peaceful, tree-lined road off the fashionable Fulham Road. Friendly neighborhood (Fulham) in central, southwest London, north of the River Thames, ie on the side where most of the attractions are. 2-Min walk to tube/buses. Fulham Broadway tube (District Line/green). 14/414 Bus up Fulham Road to Harrods and 3 of London's major museums. Careful attention to your needs -- free, secure highest-speed WiFi, luggage racks, salon grade 2200 watt hair dryers, bathrobes, slippers, self-serve 'breakfast on the go', best maps and advice to make the most of your stay. Designed with the needs of experienced travellers in mind; well organised rooms with large desks and contemporary wardrobes, firm beds, granite/mirrored bathrooms with powerful HansGrohe Airpulse rain showers--plenty of hot water (not always so at London B&Bs), and triple-glazed windows with plantation shutters and lockable sash stops to allow for air circulation. Your hosts live on the property and are available to assist you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barclay House London B&B England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing