We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barclay House London B&B
Ranked #49 of 580 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Hosts where lovely, this is a really sympathetically designed b&b that is far nicer than many 'showy but soulless hotels in the area' . Everything was spotless, sheets and beds beautiful quality, bathrooms really smart and clean, we actually stayed in their smallest room, but it was actually just perfect as we didn't really need to have bigger, however book in advance if you do, as I'm sure this place gets pretty booked up. Own little kitchen to get your self a bite to eat for breakfast. I actually really like the fact they don't do a full breakfast as there are so many places to eat in Fulham, and everyone has such differing tastes that its the perfect decision , also it means you can get up when you like, and don't feel like your missed out. Location is great, everything easy about this place, and very helpful hosts, lovely piano playing. Utterly recommend to all. Who want to be a a nice safe part of London, a stones throw from all the good stuff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeamScarletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Over a glass of wine we learned that this guest is a rising-star chef who runs a very upmarket 'restaurant with rooms' in the Somerset countryside (ask us for the address as we are not allowed to post it here, unfortunately). So, we were thrilled that they were thrilled with everything we offer, including compliments on our homemade muffins for that Sunday's 'breakfast on the go'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 288 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

After years of hotels we decided to try a b and b and a special one for our 4 days stay in London in December! I loved the review in Sawdays and decided to book Barclay House. The choice has been excellent: great location AND customer service. We accepted the smallest room without an ensuite bathroom because the other rooms were fully booked and found exactly what Charlotte promised by email. A small but VERY comfortable room and an impeccable bathroom - really much much better than a lot of London hotel accomodations that I have tried. I found the communal kitchenette very handy both for breakfast and herbal teas during the day (plus the famous chocolate chip cookies). The area is great for dinners (when you come back from a long day trouring the city and want to find a cosy pub, a nice indian or a good hamburger) and being in zone 2 everything is very easy to reach by bus or underground. The house and the rooms are immaculate and very well furnished. Barclay House is a great alternative to urban/design hotels like The Zetter or The Hoxton. The area is very quiet and the mattress was a dream, we slept very well. I'll come back in March 2013 with my mother who is visiting London for the first time.

Room Tip: Of course the two big rooms (the ones featured on the website) are the best choice but if it is full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrancescaZMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Fabulous guests; this HR executive knows her stuff, and her boutique hotels in major cities! Glad she (et al) loved it here. It is Christmas Day, so thanks be to God that we are on track again with happy guests who appreciate the value that we offer in the super expensive city of cities, London!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights. Before we arrived we had no idea of its location from the city centre, but it turned out to be at a 'not bad' location. Although it's in zone 2 of underground network, at the station of Fulham broadway, we found it acceptable with our planning of where to go in these 6 days. During our stay we travelled to the west of city, including Kensington, Stonehenge, etc. and the traveling time had been saved.

The room was quite small. But it was clean and the self-help kitchen was well-equipped. The host was friendly and gave us a warm welcome on the cold and rainy day of our arrival. We had a pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

We are bit confused by this review to be honest so will email the guest to better understand changes we could implement regarding 'service', especially for future Hong Kong guests. We've had several HK guests this year and have enjoyed exchanging stories with them about our trip to HK and gathering tips for our next visit.

Regarding not knowing location before arrival, in future we'll specifically direct each potential guest to our website's interactive map.

Major London attractions are spread across 7 miles from west to east and about 3 miles north to south (not including the very far east side where the Olympics stadium is). Like HK, London is a big place with many 'centres'/neighbourhoods; historical buildings, museums, Royal Palaces and other 'tourist' attractions are spread across 'central' London. Londonium developed from Roman times on the River Thames in the east and spread slowly westwards over many centuries. From Portobello Market at Notting Hill, in the west (inner northwest to be more precise), to The Tower of London in the east (east of the so-called "Square Mile" financial district of London, historically known as 'The City of London' ), it is a span of 7 miles across what tourists would term central London or 'city centre'.

In short, there is no 'city centre' per se. London tourists plan their day around visiting two major attractions, e.g. a market, museum, palace or a specific foodie restaurant or famous pub and then working their way around those adjoining neighbourhoods.

We are in the London neighbourhood of Fulham (SW6), south of Notting Hill (W11)/Kensington (SW7) on the western border of Chelsea (SW3) which is on the edge of zones 1 and 2 for the tube.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed for 3 days there, and we really appreciated it. It's modern, comfortable, and closed to the best part of London. The public transportation are very easy to use from there.
The help-your-self kitchen is perfect for a little herbal tea before sleeping.
And the owner told us to go to the Spencer House, which was gorgeous, and only the locals know about it (it's a mansion that you can visit during the week end). We had a private visit just for us since we were the only visitors!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteFramboise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thanks for the compliments. These guests expressed appreciation for the small details that we have built into the two 'luxe-for-less' en suite guest rooms. In fact, there were guests staying in the other room, but perhaps the combination of our new wall and floor eco insulation as well as sound-attenuated glass added to the peaceful atmosphere. Our home-baked cookies were a hit too, if I recall correctly. Lovely to have met you and we'll try to visit the Paris B&B you suggested to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I advise to read also the negative reviews on Trip Advisor about this establishment - there is much truth in them still today. It is not for everyone. Despite the initial helpfulness with booking, on arrival it went downhill - from that I had to stand outside in the cold waiting for someone to let me in at late at night the night I arrived, to not fitting in the bed (too tall), noise on the stairs all night (the door of the bedroom is directly on the the staircase) and waiting for people to disappear so I could sprint from the bedroom to the bathroom. I was unhappy with some of the amenities (they were not all available as advertised) and the lack of privacy as I was in the room with no ensuite (not on the website) and the couple that run the B&B are not my preferred type of host - too intrusive, lecturing and don't listen - which is fine for some customers. I only stayed one night and went somewhere else. When I went on to explain my critique and asked for a partial refund for the nights I did not stay, they refused. Fine, but I've also received a torrent of abuse from the husband on email. I suspect he will reply to this posting in the same manner. If you want to stay like a guest in a stranger's house (which is often the case for a B&B), and pay for it, then fine. But it is more like a 3 star with 5 star bedsheets and bathrooms. And make sure you do not critique anything.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

We have never had a situation like this one. I am very sorry that this guest departed so quickly without mentioning to me a word of concern or disappointment.

We are always grateful to guests for their suggestions and act on them immediately, when given the opportunity. Only after the guest's abrupt departure on Saturday afternoon for a ‘sudden, unscheduled business meeting' did we learn of their many concerns and suggestions, for the first time, via their post-departure emails. In emails to them, I have continued to respond to every comment as well as to apologise that ‘the shoe did not fit’, from their perspective, for this planned 3-night stay.

We have apologised especially for returning to our home at 9:47pm for the guest’s arrival on Friday evening instead of the agreed ‘around 9:45pm’ in our emails.

Remaining neutral and respecting the anonymity of the guest in this response, future potential guests may wonder how this situation could have come about…

This guest contacted us about room availability, requesting the use of our grand piano, as well as a specialist tuning on the day of arrival. The two guest rooms that are advertised on our website were booked--they are on the 'raised ground floor' of the house, so up about 7 steps from the road at the level of the front door.

On the phone, we offered another guest sleeping room, only available on an occasional basis, one floor up in the private part of our home-- a further flight of stairs up into the house. This is a double-bedded room--compact, but well appointed--which many pianists and musicians in the recent past have enjoyed, with the convenience of the piano being just one level up from the guest room. Any guests using this 'upstairs double' room also enjoy access to the sitting room where there is space to relax, they may help themselves to a glass of sherry, port or cognac from our private bar, watch TV or browse through our library.

This unadvertised ‘upstairs double’ guest room was then described with photos via email to the potential guest as:
“Attached are photos of the compact double room (bed has a luxurious Tempur mattress) and its own private bathroom next to the room for your exclusive use. The cost is less than the rooms featured on our website because the room is small and the bathroom is next to the room vs 'ensuite'. In any case it is a very comfy place to stay and you are only one flight away from the piano.”

For future guests’ reference –
The ‘double’ mattresses in our guest rooms are the standard UK length of 190cm (6 feet, 2.3 inches long).
The ‘king’ mattress is the UK standard length of 200cm (6 feet, 5.6 inches long).
Both sizes of mattresses are shown, with measurements, on the architectural layouts on our website.

For every written comment of this guest we have implemented changes where humanly possible:
--the room now offers a different, very powerful hair dryer with a blue ‘cool’ button vs a cool 'position' on an all-in-one sliding power lever. We have also repositioned mirrors in the room
--we have made the amenities in this guest bathroom more visually accessible (several of them were behind a mirrored door and thus not found by the guest)
--we will set out new slippers on the bed vs in the closet drawer so that guests can find them immediately
--we have changed the website regarding the David Lloyd Fitness centre stating that we can usually provide access but we cannot guarantee which facilities may be temporarily closed or under renovation
--although we dust the black grand piano every day as dust in London is a major issue, we will offer to dust it immediately before a future guest plans to play it
--we will add legal wording on our website regarding if a guest departs earlier than planned, with the keys to our house and their room still in their possession, we will take by credit card a deposit for the keys until they are returned to us
--we will explain in our first email to any potential or returning guests to whom we offer the 'upstairs double' that things start moving in this ‘upper’ part of the house around 9:30am or so, deliveries may take place (like the delivery that we had taken and signed for this guest the day before), door bells may ring and our housekeeper will usually be around from about 10am if guests would like their room freshened up, sheets changed etc
--we will also explain in our welcome note to each guest (as we did with this guest) that we are here to do anything to make a guest's stay as pleasant as possible in our London Victorian terraced home, with its several flights of stairs. Guests are free to ask us when they cannot find something or if they need something.

Previous guests know that the old adage, 'Ask and ye shall receive...' certainly applies here at 21 Barclay Road. And often its is we who are asking if they'd like a glass of wine after a long day out in London or how we may assist further with their plans.

We have taken all of the emailed suggestions of this guest to heart. We have decided that in most cases it would be best to offer this smaller ‘upstairs double’ room only to our many returning guests, or friends of guests who have already stayed here and know our house. In turn we will rest assured that these guests will appreciate our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

A small room that is well thought out is a joy to stay in. The front room at the Barclay House London has a great big comfortable bed, two good reading lights, elegant robes with slippers, quality soaps and just enough of everything else that one needs fitted into the room and adjoining bathroom. Brand new in every aspect and well thought through by the owner Charlotte. Down the hall is the kitchenette that is perfect for making tea and toast again with all new appliances. Located on the District Line at Fulham Broadway, the location is just out of the hurly burly of central London so that at night it is quiet. Not to worry all of London's latest happenings are easy to access and your well informed host can fill you in with the must sees. It is helpful that there are house maps and bulletin board tips for local restaurants etc. There are even umbrellas supplied for the guests.

Room Tip: The front room even though at street level was quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

These world travellers have stayed in the best of the best, so we are pleased that they enjoyed our luxe-for-less guest rooms. As mentioned in this review, guests continue to express enthusiasm for how our architect succeeded in maximising the room space with guests' short-term travel needs in mind. And all the extras that you don't want taking up valuable space in your luggage are here for you; very powerful hairdryers, travel adaptors, travel wash and hooks for hanging things to dry, 10x magnifying mirrors, umbrellas, compact rain ponchos, as well as the 5-star dressing gowns and slippers that you'd expect in the best guest room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Spent a couple nights at the Barclay House and was more than delighted with my stay. First of all, the place was very clean and cozy. Loved the remodeled bathroom by the way! I'm not sure what sort of bed that was, but it just had me falling asleep within seconds! Location-wise, it's a couple minutes walk to the closest tube station (Fulham Broadway) and bus stops. More importantly, Charlotte was very welcoming and helpful. Even before arriving, she gave us advice on transportation to and from the B&B. Once we were there, she even pointed out all the spots I had to visit along with other little tips. Couldn't have asked for a better host! Will definitely return!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank kchb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlotteMD, Owner at Barclay House London B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Guests do love our beds, each with award-winning RLangford hotel-styled high upholstered headboard and best mattress. We've had several guests from Hong Kong recently; shopping is their passion! Many have discovered our local shops here in Fulham/Parsons Green, including the so English Emma Bridgewater pottery and all things vintage from CathKidson, as well as bargains to be had at local charity shops.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#33 of 1,077 in London
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Malt House
The Malt House
#29 of 580 in London
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay House London B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay House London B&B

Address: 21 Barclay Road, London SW6 1EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 580 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $132 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named one of Britain's Best 50 B&Bs by The Times. Our guests want 5-star style at a reasonable price in expensive London; Pls note: we totally renovated in mid-2011--reviews before that relate to rooms no longer available. We offer two design-led, five-star styled guest rooms each with its own bathroom inside the room, ie 'en suite'. Guest rooms exude award-winning British design, super comfort and convenience: Phillipe Starke bathrooms, RLangford beds with hotel-style high headboards, secure highest-speed WiFi, excellent lighting, large desks by ChannelsDesign, LED flattest screen tvs, guest breakfast bar; all in one area of an 1872 Victorian terraced house with all modern amenities Barclay Road is a peaceful, tree-lined road off the fashionable Fulham Road. Friendly neighborhood (Fulham) in central, southwest London, north of the River Thames, ie on the side where most of the attractions are. 2-Min walk to tube/buses. Fulham Broadway tube (District Line/green). 14/414 Bus up Fulham Road to Harrods and 3 of London's major museums. Careful attention to your needs -- free, secure highest-speed WiFi, luggage racks, salon grade 2200 watt hair dryers, bathrobes, slippers, self-serve 'breakfast on the go', best maps and advice to make the most of your stay. Designed with the needs of experienced travellers in mind; well organised rooms with large desks and contemporary wardrobes, firm beds, granite/mirrored bathrooms with powerful HansGrohe Airpulse rain showers--plenty of hot water (not always so at London B&Bs), and triple-glazed windows with plantation shutters and lockable sash stops to allow for air circulation. Your hosts live on the property and are available to assist you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barclay House London B&B England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing