We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel; cold neighborhood but easy UG access.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Ranked #213 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NYC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel; cold neighborhood but easy UG access.”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Canary Wharf has been "mallified" -- tons of restaurants and shopping but all very contemporary and with little character. That said, this clean hotel offers good access to all arms of public transportation, making it a good place to locate and them explore.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassGirlNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    714
    205
    71
    34
See reviews for
265
911
118
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here with a friend for a long weekend to do some Christmas shopping & soak up the nightlife. Having stayed at this hotel previously, we were confident of a pleasant stay & we weren't disappointed. Despite there being a mix-up with our room, check-in was quick & the staff extremely poluite & heplful. The rooms are nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. The DLR is close by (2 minutes around the corner) which is very handy. I really cannot fault the hotel at all - my only gripe would be there was a little noise from the DLR in the room but if you take ear plugs (as I did) it isn't a problem. Would highly recommend this hotel & will most definately be returning next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laydee_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed at Marriott's all over the world < typical starting sentence for complainers :)

I had the opportunity to visit London and got a great deal to stay at the West India Quay Marriott for a very discounted rate.

Check-in was quick and efficient, not bad but definitely had better. The check-in girl didn't really do much to go 'above and beyond', she was merely polite and friendly.

The porters were very helpful, always smilling and carried our bags for us.

The concierge wasn't great, he told us to take the tube to Canary Wharf but when we checked on the map there is a stop at 'West India Quay' which was literally right outside. We also asked how much a taxi to Mayfair would be and he had to google it.

Rooms were very clean and the beds were amazing! So comfy and I really like the gold throw on the ends. Power showers were very nice touch too. We had a really great view over the water.

Location was ideal with the tube stop right out, shopping centre near by and not too far to get into London. Lots of pubs/restaurants within immediate walking distance for casual drinks/dinner.

We had breakfast in the hotel which was very nice, lots of selection and hot food hot and cold food cold!

On check out, I literally dropped the keys and told the gentleman my room number and that was it, no "how was your stay" or did "I want a receipt".

Overall, it is a gorgeous, clean and modern hotel, I just expected more from the service aspect.
Like I said, not a bad experience but definitely not a memorable one in terms of the hotel and service.

Room Tip: Request a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmagoughitsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very conveniently located for offices in canary wharf. The breakfast offering is very good and the choice of bar, dinner venue are good enough.

However, the rooms are uninspiring and wi-fi is offered at an additional price to the highly inflated room rate.

The only caveat is that I don't usually stay in London hotels as this is my home town. So the above may be applicable beyond the Marriott.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RazNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

hi
I stayed here on the 6th of November. at a room rate of 395 I was expecting something really special. overall the room did not have what I would expect at that sort of level. poor lighting, no bath robe in the room, poor quality tolietries. the room I stayed in looks nothing like the room picture quoted on the website.
I am an advocate for Mariott normally but I would not stay here again.


Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MayHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in November 2012 with my husband. We had never stayed in the area before, and we chose it because of its location close to the O2 arena.
We arrived late, but the check-in was very efficient and soon we had our key to our room, and the luggage were brought upstairs for us. Because of the late hour, we decided to have our dinner at the hotel`s restaurant. The staff was very professional and provided me with food alternatives (due to allergy). Great service! (and good food, too:)

The room was very clean, and quite large (by London standards). Lovely bed (firm, but not hard) with lots of pillows. Very nice bathroom with tub (yay!) and plenty of hot water (though not the best water pressure). Basic, but adequate toiletries.

My only complaint was that the room was very hot and quite stuffy. Even when the aircon was set to max speed and "cold" it took over 1 hour to get it down to a temperature that made sleep possible. Tip: if you like the room to be a little cooler when you sleep, put the aircon on max speed before going out to dinner. That way you don`t have to endure the noise from it while trying to sleep.

Canary Wharf was lovely! It is a business area, so there are lots of different restaurants and cafes around, within 2 min walk of the hotel. There are also a couple of large shopping malls with "up scale" shops. It was relatively quiet during the weekend. The tube takes you to the city centre in 15-18 minutes.

(Not perfect location for traveling to and from Heathrow: The Heathrow Express takes you to Paddington station -> requires changing tube lines twice. If you ride the tube (Piccadilly line) all the way from Heathrow you will only have to change once, but it will take you 1-1,5 hours.)

All in all, a very nice hotel. Will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Excellently run hotel with responsive & attentive staff. Great location for the 02. One touch phone number for all services was answered in 3 rings. Room service, laundry & replacement hairdryer were enabled v quickly. Clean and modern

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirmileAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel
Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel
#125 of 1,067 in London
877 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marriott Executive Apartments London, West India Quay
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#73 of 1,067 in London
3,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London Canary Wharf
Novotel London Canary Wharf
#104 of 1,067 in London
172 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel West India Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel West India Quay

Property: London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Address: 22 Hertsmere Road | Canary Wharf, London E14 4ED, England (Formerly London Marriott West India Quay)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in London
#115 Romantic Hotel in London
#145 Family Hotel in London
#160 Luxury Hotel in London
#175 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel West India Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the Canary Wharf district, the London Marriott Hotel West India Quay offers luxurious accommodations and access to the city's most popular attractions. Indulge in a deluxe steakhouse experience at Manhattan Grill or maintain your workout routine with our state-of-the-art fitness center & sauna. We boast a prime location just 11 minutes from London City Airport and 10 minutes from Europe's largest indoor shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your London Marriott Hotel West India Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Marriott West India Quay Hotel London
Marriott London
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing