We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Ranked #212 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stockport, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Great Location”
Reviewed November 19, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night. We were going to the 02 for a concert (Foo Fighters) and it seemed a perfect location. The hotel itself is in a very nice setting at West India Quay. There are plenty of restaurants and bars in walking distance. Unfortunately there was engineering work on the DLR (there is a station next to the hotel) so we had to use the Jubilee line instead. This was not a problem as it is only a few minutes walk to the station at Canary Wharf.

The hotel is lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was also great.

I would highly recommend staying at this hotel and especially if you are visiting the 02 as it only takes 10 minutes to get there.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank KCJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,048
    710
    202
    68
    32
See reviews for
259
900
116
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2007

I was staying here on a Friday night for a weekend of exploring Docklands and Greenwich, but I also had to get into the West End for a theatre trip.

Its a great waterfront setting but a longish walk from the Canary Wharf Jubilee Underground Station. The view from the room overlooking the water was superb and there was no disturbance from the adjoining Docklands Light Rail line. The room was spacious, spotless, well-appointed and comfortable, as was the rest of the hotel.

Breakfast was superb - a huge range of hot and cold food.

  • Liked — Quality of accommodation
  • Disliked — Long walk from Underground
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevie390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2007

I visited London in 2003 and stopped by the London branch of my company on Canary Wharf. There was nothing going on there at all. Just businesses in high rise buildings.

My husband had to go to London this year to work for his company, which is, like almost all investment banks, on Canary Wharf. Because of this, we stayed at the Marriott West India Quay.

Canary Wharf is now a booming area. Even on the weekend, there were restaurants and shops open and it was lovely. There's a place called Brown's right next door that has the most wonderful brunch on Sunday's and the shopping center has everything you could need.

It's close to the Jubilee line on the Tube and the DLR stop is right next to the hotel. The center of London (Green Park, Mayfair) is about 15 minutes away on the Tube.

The hotel itself is clean and has great amenities (fitness center, restaurant, room service, bar, great staff). My only complaint was that the room supposedly had two double beds, but they were actually twin size. Not uncommon in Europe as we're used to the larger beds in the states.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel--especially if you have business on the Wharf.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kamcc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

Just spent a long weekend here.This is a business hotel not a very warm hotel but very clean and the location is great for the tube into london and the O2 (saw Prince superb).There are good bars and restaurants next to the hotel and a very short walk takes you to canary warf shopping centre which houses most shops you would need on your trip.I got a £109 + vat per night room rate through marriotts own web site which for a 5 star hotel in london is pretty good but its lacking something and doesn't feel luxurious at all certainly not 5 star.Everything in the hotel is expensive £9.99 pay per view film,£18 full breakfast,£3.40 small bottle evian in the room mini bar.If you are a business man/woman working in the business district on works expenses I would recommend this hotel.However if like me just a weekend tourist i would stay in the ibis or holiday inn express and cut your bill in half.On a positive note the staff are very friendly and the beds extremely comfortable ask for a front facing room as our room 472 was overlooking the tube and you can hear the trains but its not too bad.London itself is fantastic and travelling on the tube is quick and fun.Dom -Manchester

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank wood1beez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2007

We were attending a concert at the 02 Arena so this was the perfect location being less than 10 minutes away by tube.

We arrived late on the Friday evening, the hotel was a bit confusing to find by road. Once there the check in process was very quick, we had a twin room on the 4th floor which was a really good size and very comfortable.

On the Saturday my partner had a massage and beauty treatment in the on site health spa which she really enjoyed.

The hotel is surrounded by several restaurants and bars giving a good choice of dining. We did not use the hotel restaurants but we did use the bar which was very good and made very good cocktails.

We found the staff very polite and helpful. We will be staying here again.

  • Liked — The beds a really good size and comfortable
  • Disliked — The heated bathroom mirror made it very difficult for my partner to put on her make up on as she was getting too hot
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank envotech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

I spent four nights in August 2007 at this hotel. I booked it because of its proximity to Greenwich since I was attending two concerts at the 02 Dome. It's a five-minute walk to the Canary Wharf tube station, which is one stop from North Greenwich and the Dome. The hotel staff was very helpful and efficient, including very late night room service served quickly. The housekeeping staff was wonderful and flexible. The Canary Wharf area is quite nice with a shopping mall and several restaurants within easy walking distance. I had a King room on the end of the building near the Docklands station in which one whole wall was windows. Terrific views, and the blackout shades kept noise and light out when desired. There was a lovely marble bath and plenty of closets, drawers and storage. A fuse blew in my room late one night, and it only took about 10 minutes for a housekeeping engineer to come up to fix it. Overall it was an excellent experience.

  • Liked — Location and staff
  • Disliked — Long distance from Heathrow
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jsoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2007

We stayed at the Marriott Canary Wharf for one night whilst in London to see Prince (who was fantastic!). It was perfectly located for the 02 Arena, only one tube stop away.

Overall the hotel is great. It was comfortable, very clean, tidy and the rooms were kept to a very high standard. Our bedroom was looking out over the Thames and had full length windows so had lots of natural light. One problem we did have, although admittedly this happens in many London hotels, is that you can’t open the windows to get some fresh air.

The bed was large and comfortable with very soft pillows and duvet. Two room plus points were the shower & the hairdryer – both very hot and powerful (esp the hairdryer compared to some of the pathetic things you have to dry your hair with in some hotels nowadays!)

Breakfast was the usual London price but very nice. Hot food cooked to order, pastries, toast, fruit etc all fresh.

We had dinner once we got to the 02 Arena but the hotel is located right by Canary Wharf where there are numerous bars and restaurants if you don’t wish to eat in the hotel.

Parking is not available at the hotel itself but there is a car park at the cinema complex opposite. There is valet parking available but for the price we felt that it wasn’t really worth it. You can pull up outside to drop off your baggage and the car park is literally 1 minute walk over the road.

Overall a well maintained hotel with polite staff, perfectly located for the 02 Arena.

  • Liked — Location to 02 arena
  • Disliked — No fresh air in bedrooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lovely72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#75 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,237 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel
Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel
#130 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marriott Executive Apartments London, West India Quay
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Fraser Place Canary Wharf
#454 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel West India Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel West India Quay

Property: London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Address: 22 Hertsmere Road | Canary Wharf, London E14 4ED, England (Formerly London Marriott West India Quay)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in London
#115 Romantic Hotel in London
#145 Family Hotel in London
#161 Luxury Hotel in London
#175 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel West India Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the Canary Wharf district, the London Marriott Hotel West India Quay offers luxurious accommodations and access to the city's most popular attractions. Indulge in a deluxe steakhouse experience at Manhattan Grill or maintain your workout routine with our state-of-the-art fitness center & sauna. We boast a prime location just 11 minutes from London City Airport and 10 minutes from Europe's largest indoor shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your London Marriott Hotel West India Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Marriott West India Quay Hotel London
Marriott London
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing