We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of the League”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Ranked #228 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top of the League”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were pleasantly greeted on arrival, but as we arrived early morning our room was not ready. The Reception offered to store our luggage in a secure locked room till our room was ready. Room was quite large, clean and modern, and although you could see the DLR from our window it was actually very quiet. We booked this hotel for an event at the 02, and am glad we did as it exceeded our expectations and was a great location for the 02. The breakfast was hot and plentiful and great value at £8.95 eat as much as you like. I would have no hesitation of staying at this hotel and gain and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    531
    154
    42
    40
See reviews for
558
382
82
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belper, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was my first choice in location when visiting London. The area is easily accessible and traffic-free. The staff are all welcoming and helpful. I would definitely stay here again as access to the ExCel and the tube for the city are within a few minutes walking distance. An excellent hotel overall.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Randomly visited Premier Inn in Docklands as a friend lives nearby. The receptionist, Warren, was great! As soon as I stepped through the door, he made me feel so welcomed and even made jokes. He helpfully directed me to the nearby Chinese restaurants when I mentioned wanting Chinese food for dinner as I found the area a bit confusing. Other staff were also friendly to me and I had a pleasant stay in a nice, clean room.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank LTran2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier Inn D, Manager at Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at London Docklands (ExCel) Premier Inn and I am delighted that you had a positive time with us.
I am also delighted that you found the staff attentive and knowledgeable of the local area, which definitely made your stay “less confusing”.
The location of our hotel is fantastic with great transportation and local restaurants (if you wanted something different from our menu).

At Premier Inn, we pride ourselves on providing all of our guests with a great service, great food and a fantastic nights sleep. It is great to get feedback from our guests about what we are doing well and what we can improve on.

Thanks once again for taking the time to give us feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
360 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The room was very clean and modern. Best of all, it has a bathtub in the room and the bed is quite comfortable (although there are occasional poke at the back but generaly quite good).

We paid about £108 for the room and we've tried the dinner and breakfast at the hotel. The dinner was very good standard, we ordered the beef and gammon and it were really tasty. The orange was slightly half sized by using the tall glass... The service was superb through out the evening.

The breakfast selection is not the biggest that we have tried but given that one only paid around £9 for all selections per person, it was quite good standard with everything look and tastes fresh. Will definitely go and stay at this place again... It was my first time at a premier inn and I was truly surprised on its quality... it was much better than some of the rundown hotels that I've stayed at Hilton outside of London and I was even a member to Hilton Honor's club.... :(

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth-Therese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier Inn D, Manager at Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at our hotel and I am delighted that you had an enjoyable time with us. I am also pleased that you found the staff attentive and the rooms immaculate, which you found was a very pleasant surprise :)
It is so good to know that you found the hotel faultless and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit to London.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked this hotel as our first choice hotel was full and in retrospect we are all very glad we did as the hotel was a very pleasant surprise. My image of Premier Inn was quite budget but that has certainly changed I don't know if all Premier hotels are the same or this hotel is just extra special. The bedroom and bathroom were large and spotless, a very welcome relief after a busy day and everything worked! Despite being close to an airport and the DLR the noise was minimal and we slept welI. All the staff were really friendly, positive and very helpful. We couldn't fault what is effectively a low cost hotel. The service and quality we received you would expect in a more expensive hotel but rarely find. We will definitely book again..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank to192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

A fairly normal Premier a Inn - clean, bright, functional, etc.

What makes this better than the normal (for the money) is the staff. From those on check-in to those in the restaurant (dinner and breakfast) nothing is too much trouble.

Far far far better than I expected? Been about 7 years since I last stayed at a Premier Inn and if this is the "new standard" then I shall be visiting more often (I hotel stay for work at least 1 night per week on average).

Thanks you to the staff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev-B-Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier Inn D, Manager at Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at London Docklands (ExCel) Premier Inn, I am really pleased to see that you found your stay here was better than normal because of our staff members from our receptionist to our restaurant.
In these last 7 years, premier inn has gone through many developments, which includes joint ventures from outside of the UK to being one of the best hotel brands.
We pride ourselves on providing all of our guests with a great service, great food and a fantastic nights sleep. It is great to get feedback from our guests about what we are doing well and what we can improve on.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuhai, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had a wonderful time at this hotel. The hotel is close to the tube station called Prince Regent, which it easier to travel into different tourist sites. When we arrived the staff there were very helpful especially the Manager Warren( i guess so )who impress me the most, he not only provides us the exceptional customer serves including solving the internet issue in my room promptly and effectively, but also give us very good recommdations on every tourist site we plan to travel as its first time for us to travel london and very confuse on what route should i travel on without wasting too much time looking round.very helpful ! i ll definitly come back again if we have chance to visit london in the future:)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier Inn D, Manager at Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Many thanks for posting your kind feedback following your recent stay with us at London Docklands (ExCel) Premier Inn . I was delighted that you had a wonderful time at our hotel and that you found our staff very helpful by providing exceptional customer service like recommending tourist sites for you to visit as well as promptly resolving your Internet issues.

At Premier Inn, we pride ourselves on providing all of our guests with a great service, great food and a fantastic nights sleep. It is great to get feedback from our guests about what we are doing well and what we can improve on.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit to London.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#260 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London ExCeL
Novotel London ExCeL
#295 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis Styles London Excel
Ibis Styles London Excel
#555 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Excel Docklands
Ibis London Excel Docklands
#463 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel
Address: London Docklands 2 Festoon Way | Royal Victoria Dock, London E16 1JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Best Value Hotel in London
#97 Romantic Hotel in London
#102 Family Hotel in London
#158 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of London Docklands, our Premier Inn will be sure to suit all your needs whether they are business or pleasure. Take a trip to the O2, which is only 20 minutes away. Or explore out to central London. The choice is truly yours, with the DLR (Prince Regent station) only a short walk away. Our dedicated and friendly staff will do their very best to meet your every need. With a Thyme restaurant on site you can be sure you won't go to bed hungry. A great nights sleep and a comfy kingsize bed will be just what you need after a long day at work or sight seeing. Premier Inn, a good night sleep guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel London
Premier Inn London Docklands (Excel) Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing