We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not without its charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Belgravia Hotel
Ranked #410 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not without its charm”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Me and my family arrived on Saturday afternoon to be greeted (just some guy opening the door, no hello or welcome!) by some guy in shorts and a t-shirt. At first I thought we arrived at someone's house by accident and accidentally woke them up, but as it turns out, this was the place. We then followed him down to the basement where the office was and he demanded cash upfront, even though the website said we could pay by credit/debit card.

Anyway, we got some cash from across the street to once again meet this man who simply gave us the keys, told us our room number and that was it. Didn't show us where to go or explain any of the facilities or anything. I assume he went back to bed.

In the room, it was tiny, but we didn't care, it had a double bed a single bed a shower and a toilet.Unfortunately there was no kettle or coffee/tea making facilities in our room which seems bizarre as every other hotel, B&B or guesthouse we have stayed in has provided us with these, but I can live with that. What we can't live with is no soap. Not even a single bar to be found and the shower holder was broken. There was no toilet roll holder and the TV had to be plugged in and manually setup, but we didn't need it, just a heads up for those of you who do.

Onto the next morning we ventured down into the basement for our "continental" breakfast which consisted of processed cheese, processed ham, two bowls of cereal covered with clingfilm, instant coffee and some orange juice and milk in jugs. It was basic, and to pay over £70 for a budget hotel, I would have expected at least a slice of real cheese.

But saying this, our experience with the female staff was wonderful. They were helpful and courteous compared to the miserable guy the previous afternoon. They offered directions and recommendations to attractions and other places. It's a budget hotel, but if they wish to get more glowing reviews, have a word with the guy that takes the money, it doesn't cpost anything to be helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moe_Syzlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    30
    24
    148
See reviews for
25
75
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I do not know where to start, me and my boyfriend arrived at the belgravia late last night we were greeted unfriendly by a strange man to then betaken down to a basement which was where the reception was.. He demanded that we pay up front to where I had to go over to natwest to draw out money immediately (no cards accepted) he didn't even tell us where the room was we had to ask to which he gave a blunt reply "3rd floor" atfer going up about 3 flights of stairs we came to our hell hole (room) the room smelt of smoke/wet dog. The window was wide open , damp had gotten Into the ceiling which meant the ceiling had sagged and had cracks in it. It also had odd looking stains on, there were bare exposed electrical wires coming from the walls, tv didn't work, no wifi password, the radiator was fixed on the highest possible temperature so was absolutely boiling, we had to sleep with the windows open because of this and the road outside is so noisy so no sleep at all. No tea or coffee making facilities. The toilet on our floor was broken so you had to walk down 3 flights of stairs to use it. The one toilet for the whole hotel was also blocked. When wanting to complain to staff no one was so be seen, left about 8 am in the morning having no shower or breakfast there would rather bathe in a pond. Worst nightmare do not GO!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgian1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Positives - good location, nice staff, cheap breakfast on offer
Negatives - extremely small room, horrible damp smell in the room, old and run down furniture.
Bearable for a night or two if you need somewhere cheap, but I would not stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nashville614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

For the price paid, it was really bad room and the service. I would say its more like a 5sqm room with bathroom inside it. Its really dirty place. Very unhygenic conditions. Curtains were smaller than the window so outsider could look into the room and outside light could come into the room. Windows were open at the edges, this caused cold wind to come into the room.It was very uncomfortable at the night. I would recommend youth hostel better compared to The Belgravia hotel. Night staff was not helpful at all. Whenever asked for something to improve sleeping conditions like cloth to cover the curtain. Answer was simple, we cannot do anything window is too big. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone.Only to those looking to have bit of prison living experience.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel completely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamlesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Avoid this hotel at all costs, if I had looked on here in advance would never of booked. we stayed Saturday night with friends, I’m in the hotel world so I do have some standards. We arrived to be shown down stairs to what they call an office had to pay up front. No help with bags got to our room absolutely disgusting would of left but no were else to go. All bulbs had been taken out of fittings except for centre on everything about the room was nasty, it smelt of the drains TV not working properly décor very poor, toilet was like a Porto cabin one shower Brocken and smelt. Our friend room even worse you could hardly swing a cat the furniture looked like it had come from a skip the toilet was nearly in shower, we felt really embarrassed. Offered breakfast I think you know my answer!!! Any good reviews are defiantly not written by guests. My advice spend more for better..The rest of our weekend was excellent. A good restaurant if anybody looking Café Des Amis Covent garden look for deals excellent. Avoid this hotel….

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a14vot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Their ads and what they promote is so far from the truth! I booked a room for three people with a private bath. We arrived in London on a Friday night, so after paying and being charged on our credit card, there was no going back. Upon arrival we were given the key and told we were on the third floor. After climbing 6 sets of stairs with our luggage, our key didn't work. We had to go back down to the basement where the "office" is and the guys tending the office followed us back upstairs with screw drivers to essentially break into the room. That should have been the first clue to run like the wind. The room had a double bed, a twin and the bathroom was no larger than a phone booth. Literally! There was no cold water, only piping hot. No toilet paper, no soap, only three bath towels and a TV that we had to rig up to work. There was only one "working" outlet in the room and when we attempted to use it to charge our phones, we discovered it was balancing in place with tape! If we plugged or unplugged anything, the lights in the entire room went out until we re-affixed the tape holding it together. The one window in the room wouldn't stay open, so we propped it open with a coat hanger. They offer breakfast in the "dining room" which was a small room in the basement. Upon arrival we couldn't help but notice two of the three light fixtures in the room literally hanging out of the wall with wires exposed. The "free breakfast" consisted of cereal, milk, orange juice, white bread, cheap deli ham, American cheese still in the plastic, butter and jam. The coffee was instant coffee and they had instant hot cocoa and tea. Not exactly what their picture on the website shows, which is more like what would be expected. The kitchen in the basement consisted of a small college dorm style fridge, two hot plates and a small efficiency sized sink. We couldn't help but notice a picture of the queen on the wall, which we assumed made it all better. After going back to the hotel on day two of staying in what we dubbed "heartbreak hotel" we couldn't help but notice an overwhelming smell of body odor and urine which permeated the entire building. We expressed our discontent with the young adults who were tending to the place, but their hands were tied. They obviously weren't the ones in charge and merely shop keepers. After it was all said and done, not only did I take pictures, but I sent them to the local authorities for health and safety violations. The place is disgusting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with 2 friends. Booked 3 single beds and got a double and a single. The toilet was actually partly in the shower. There was a used make up pad lying in the shower when we arrived. Disgusting is one word to describe the room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yipsandyeos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#189 of 1,069 in London
1,370 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Belgravia
Belgravia Rooms
Belgravia Rooms
#336 of 557 in London
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Lord Milner
The Lord Milner
#16 of 557 in London
432 reviews
Belgravia
B+B Belgravia
B+B Belgravia
#72 of 557 in London
677 reviews
Belgravia
Lynton Hotel London
Lynton Hotel London
#42 of 557 in London
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belgravia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belgravia Hotel

Property: The Belgravia Hotel
Address: 118 Ebury Street | Belgravia, London SW1W 9QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia , Victoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #410 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Belgravia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New 3 star Bed & Breakfast Hotel in Central London Victoria, 2 Mins from station, free 24hr Broadband Internet, friendly staff and full cooked breakfast. Affordable, comfortable and central accommodation including English breakfast. Situated in Belgravia, close to Westminster, Sloane Square and easy access to all London attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your The Belgravia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belgravia Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing