We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple place - don't expect too much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Belgravia Hotel
Ranked #410 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Simple place - don't expect too much”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

While they call themselves The Belgravia Hotel, this is really a very very simple b&b. I didn't expect much (especially after reading all the other reviews). I chose this place for its close proximity to the Victoria Coach Station. I needed a place to shower and sleep, that's all.

It's really a very short walk from the Victoria Coach Station and that's what I wanted. I rang the bell and the guy who opened the door looked at me with suspicion until I showed him the confirmation. He only accepted cash for the room (deposit already paid).

I happened to get a room on the top floor. It was tough getting the suitcase up those steep and narrow staircase! I had requested for a room with a bathroom and the room was clean enough with 2 towels on the bed. There was no room to open the suitcase though. The bathroom was tiny (of course) and if I was taller, my knees would have hit the wall when I sat down on the toilet. Having said that, the toilet was clean and it flushed, there was hot water (pathetic water pressure), I really couldn't complain.

There was actually a a small TV with a cable box. I half expected it NOT to work, but it did. Ha ha.

I think it was the hottest day in London's history and so I suffered that night. No fan, no aircon, just a small window (thin curtains). So it's a good thing I sleep easily and was not too disturbed by all the noise from the street (a lot of noise).

I had to leave early the next day, so I decided not to wait for breakfast (starts at 8am). So I left the keys in the room, as instructed, and almost rolled down those steep stairs.

All in all, a fairly safe and uneventful stay. Considering I paid 51 pounds, I really didn't expect much, hence I wasn't disappointed either. Of course there was room for improvement, but hey I survived :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    30
    24
    148
See reviews for
25
75
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Near glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

do not stay in this hotel! the pictures are fake and it will spoil your holiday. we booked online and when we got there it was totally different! the hotel was dirty and smelly we had booked for one night, we refused the room as the condition was really bad and didnt want bitten by bed bugs. we were told by the staff take it or leave it you will still be charged. we paid £100 and are fighting to get our money back. it totally ruined our visit for the olympics

Room Tip: do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Do not book a room with this hotel. It is filty and disgusting. The staff are rude and unhelpful. I just wish i had read the reviews before i booked a room with them. At the beginning everything seemed to be going well until my boyfriend and i were shown our double room. It was a complete mess. The room was tiny. There were damp and water stains on the floor and roof. The bed needed to be replaced. It was ripped and the springs were broken. The shower was very small and it needed a good clean. The room floor needed hoovering. The windows were extreamly thin and we could hear everything that was going on outside, it was very loud. Needless to say we had the worst night sleep. My boyfriend had insect bites on his back and his body was itchy for most of the night. Also when we booked the room we were told a plasma t.v, tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer is included in the room price which the hotel lied about. When we complained the next day about the room the guy on reception could not care less. He started arguing with both myself and my boyfriend, he was abusive and didn't want to deal with the problems we had faced. He even had the cheek to ask for £2.00 for storing our luggage there untill we were ready to pick it up which no other hotel has done before. I explained to him that we got our room key 4hours later than expected as the room was not ready and if he could waiver the luggage fee as it seemed unfair. At this point he went ballistic and actually started shouting in our faces. He blatantly ignored us and said that we should book in with someone else next time as they have plenty of romanian and polish family's that would book in with them which i'm not surprised about because i saw a romanian family living in the hotel kitchen. Some photo's are included.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed here just before Christmas 2011. This hotel looked nice in the pictures- I called the hotel before I arrived to ask a few questions and they were very pleasant. Upon arrival, it was a complete change. The front looked nice but once you got upstairs there was black filth ground into the carpet with dried bubble gum. It was disgusting. I had asked if I could store my bag there when I arrived in the morning (arrived on early international flight)- on the phone before I arrived they seemed very helpful- when I arrived it was as though I had inflicted harm on their whole day. Even upon arrival, I was greeted with "Are you sure you have a reservation here?-- You might have one somewhere else- we're getting guests that don't belong here". The room smelled of mildew. You share a bathroom with the whole floor <1 bathroom--as in 1 toilet with shower in a room for multiple people on the floor> (which might be out of toilet paper...and no.... there is none in the cabinet to replace it with (it might be stolen so they keep it safe downstairs)-- if it runs out while you're in there- you'll have to go ask for more. I came back to find a RAT in my bed and was told that London is full of rats and it shouldn't be a big deal. I checked out early and requested a refund due to all of the problems- they gave me a minimal refund.

Room Tip: Just avoid this place unless you have no other option
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeoldmixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed in this hotel 3 years ago an I had a bad experience with the customer service,but last month I booked again in the Belgravia hotel which was under new management and a lot of changes.nice rooms still small but very clean and comfortable.Very welcoming staff who made me feel like home.I paid only 50 pounds per night and I had nice breakfast and being served from the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Faizidanof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

me and my girlfriend went to london for the weekend, we were planing to stay with a friend but he was living in Croydon! and my gf started moaning about how far it is and how horrible Croydon is so we agreed to stay in a hotel somewhere near victoria,we started looking in ebury street and oh my god the prices is expensive, I think it was because of the area in the middle of london anyway, the cheapest hotel we found was belgravia hotel for the record it was the one in 118 ebury street! well we were suprised that the rooms are small, in the beginning we thought its gonna be bad, but it was not the receptionist was friendly and funny, rooms were small yes but clean, hot water and heating were working, I just opened trip advisor and saw the reviews and i was surprised to be honest because it dosent seems good at all, but my personal experience me and my girlfriend, it was good and we did book already for the coming weekend to come back and stay there, prices are good comparing with the other prices and the hotel is just behind the coach station.... well i do travel alot and i think that people will always complain about the bed and breakfast hotels... maybe because the dont understand what bed and breakfast means or maybe they dont understand that the price depends on the area... I dont know, I went there and guess what, IT WAS GOOD!

Room Tip: good for couples and young people and the price is better than the other hotels considering the qual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gabor186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Serioulsy wish i had read the reviews before i put myself and my husband through the nightmare Belgravia DONT DO IT! As the other reviews say it is as awful as it sounds we'd paid for two nights but left after the first couldnt bear to stay another night on a bed that had springs threatening to break through the mattress each time you turned over. I have emailed to complain but as yet have recieved no reply! Not going to keep repeating all the previous complaints are sadly correct.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Row4891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#189 of 1,069 in London
1,370 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Belgravia
Belgravia Rooms
Belgravia Rooms
#336 of 557 in London
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Lord Milner
The Lord Milner
#16 of 557 in London
432 reviews
Belgravia
B+B Belgravia
B+B Belgravia
#72 of 557 in London
677 reviews
Belgravia
Lynton Hotel London
Lynton Hotel London
#42 of 557 in London
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belgravia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belgravia Hotel

Property: The Belgravia Hotel
Address: 118 Ebury Street | Belgravia, London SW1W 9QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia , Victoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #410 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Belgravia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New 3 star Bed & Breakfast Hotel in Central London Victoria, 2 Mins from station, free 24hr Broadband Internet, friendly staff and full cooked breakfast. Affordable, comfortable and central accommodation including English breakfast. Situated in Belgravia, close to Westminster, Sloane Square and easy access to all London attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your The Belgravia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belgravia Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing