We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel ibis budget London City Airport
Ranked #691 of 1,078 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Good value cheap (for London) hotel, with relatively easy access to LCY. There is not much around in the way of restaurants without driving. A pub is about 10 minutes walk away. The hotel does have snack foods and beer and wine etc, as does the petrol station on the corner next door.
The room itself is "cosy", the separate toilet does not seem to have an exhaust fan! And the shower stall is just big enough. No plug for the sink, so shaved in the shower :(
At one stage the smoke alarm went off for a few seconds, rousing me from a light sleep! A bit later as I was dressing somebody (housemaid? guest?) opened the door, but then rapidly closed it.
Anyway, the bed is firm and only 2 pillows, but that was ok. The lounge downstairs was a mess in the morning after people having breakfast and nobody cleaning up. Free wifi throughout is a nice change from Aussie!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
Thank Hoss007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarinderSingh, Manager at Hotel ibis budget London City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Ibis Budget London City Airport. We appreciate your kind words. In the meantime, we have noted your comments about the issues encountered during your stay, which will be dealt accordingly. Please accept my sincerest apologies.
See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Alley
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 932 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

I dropped two friends doff at this hotel one evening as they were catching an early flight from London City Airport the following morning. It took 20 minutes to check in as the computer was playing up. The receptionist obviously had no idea how to cope in such a situation.

She eventually allocated a room and I helped my friends carry up their bags. What a shock awaited us as we opened the door - it was already occupied! Thankfully the occupant wasn't in her room as we would have given her a heart attack! We quickly backed out of the room and closed the door firmly.

My friends went downstairs to remonstrate with the receptionist whilst I stayed with their luggage. They eventually returned having been given no apology but allocated a different room on the same floor. The same result - yet again this second room was occupied! What on earth was going on?

My friends were in shock so I went down this time. The receptionist didn't seem fazed by this total lack of security. She simply said 'oh that's okay, because if you get in you can't get out again!' Couldn't work out what that meant as there we were having gone into two occupied rooms and come out again pretty quickly! I'm afraid I lost my temper and shouted at her, demanding to see the manager. Needless to say he wasn't on site, in fact I suspect she was the only member of staff that night.

After much fiddling and physically checking paperwork, she gave my friends yet another room. This time she actually checked the room herself to make sure it was empty, worrying that she had so little faith in her ability to believe the hotel system.

I can't say much about the room other than it appeared to be the standard budget Ibis room, I every small, with no extras but clean. To be fair to the receptionist she did book a taxi for my friends for the next morning and it did turn up as requested, so she got one thing right.

The hotel is close to London City Airport. Eat before you arrive as there is absolutely nothing in the area other than a petrol station (the hotel is tucked behind this, you actually access it by driving through the spectral station!).

My biggest concern is the complete lack of security particularly as one of the rooms we entered was obviously occupied by a lady. We are honest people, but be aware other guests may well not be. My advice is either don't touch this hotel with a barge pole, or if it is your only option then don't leave anything you value in it when you go out.

Room Tip: Make sure you lock your door as you enter your room as others can access it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cricketmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarinderSingh, Manager at Hotel ibis budget London City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am really sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay. We treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and the matter will be dealt with accordingly. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologizes, and feel free to contact me on 0207 474 9106 or e mail me on h3578-dm@accor.com to discuss this further.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Alley
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Setonas
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NarinderSingh, Manager at Hotel ibis budget London City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Hotel itself and the experience of staying there couldn't have been worse. Difficult to find, badly decorated. Expensive (£129 single person for one night)
No facilities. Extra charge (£4.95) for third-rate self create breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
1  Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarinderSingh, Manager at Hotel ibis budget London City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay. We treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating to address the matters raised. Please feel free to contact me on 0207 474 9106 or on h3578-dm@accor.com to discuss this further.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Alley
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Mikey341
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NarinderSingh, Manager at Hotel ibis budget London City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The hotel is very similar to other Ibis Budget properties which I have stayed at in various different countries. Although basic, it was functional and very clean. We stayed for one night after attending a gig and used public transport to get to and from Islington, which was pretty straight forward.

There isn't much around the hotel by the way of restaurants, however the Westfield centre at Stratford has plenty of restaurants and can easily be reached via the DLR/tube.

The continental breakfast was again fairly basic but served its purpose, as there are few places around to get breakfast so eating in the hotel in the morning allows you to get off to a quick start in the morning.

The DLR station is around a ten minute walk away along a pleasant path lined with trees and plants, the area seemed safe to us even late at night as we were returning from the gig.

The noise from the planes wasn't a problem with the window closed, however as it was a very warm night we left the window open and as a result we were woken up early by the flights which were taking off which were very noisy.

Overall, whilst this hotel is by no means luxurious or somewhere to be considered as a romantic retreat, it served its function as the cheapest hotel in the city and it was very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 586Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarinderSingh, Manager at Hotel ibis budget London City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Ibis Budget London City Airport. Our team is delighted that you enjoyed your stay. In the meantime, please be assured that we have noted the issues highlighted which will be addressed.
See you on your next trip hopefully!

Kind regards

Emmanuel Alley
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel itself is close to a rail station which is handy but that's about all its got going for itself. Staff were not very friendly on check in and room was not very clean (hairs on floor, grummy mirrors) the worst part was the smell. Room & sheets smelled heavily of smoke and cheap washing powder. Was charged a £10 deposit to use a hair dryer that came from the dark ages and overheated in my hand!!! Would not have bothered at all if the attitude of the guy at the desk had been different. He was rude to the point of embarrassing. Will never stay in an Ibis budget again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Backpackerbabe80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarinderSingh, Manager at Hotel ibis budget London City Airport, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Apologies for not living up to your expectations. We’ll look into things, and all the issues you highlighted will be dealt with accordingly. I hope we can welcome you back to Ibis Budget London City Airport some time in the future. Do feel free to contact me on 02074749106 or e mail me on h3578-dm@accor.com to discuss further.

Kind regards,

Emmanuel Alley
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#723 of 1,078 in London
142 reviews
Viking Hotel
#763 of 1,078 in London
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge London Woolwich
#468 of 1,078 in London
396 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Travelodge London Excel Hotel
Travelodge London Excel Hotel
#358 of 1,078 in London
879 reviews
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#350 of 1,078 in London
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget London City Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget London City Airport

Address: North Woolwich Road | Silverstown, London E16 2EE, England (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , East End / East London
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Green Hotel in London
Price Range: $45 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget London City Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis budget Hotel London City Airport is a low-cost hotel a short walk from London City Airport terminal. This London hotel well located at London Docklands with good transport links for central London. The hotel has 81 guest rooms and is 100% non-smoking. Each room comes with en-suite shower and a flat screen TV. A continental breakfast buffet is served every morning. The hotel offers on-site free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Etap London
Hotel Ibis Budget London City Airport England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing