We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Eltham Palace and Gardens
from $224.60
More Info
from $91.20
More Info
Reviews (890)
Filter reviews
864 results
Traveler rating
540
234
50
16
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
540
234
50
16
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english heritage henry viii art deco house medieval great hall entrance hall audio guide childhood home vacuum cleaning hammer beam roof gardens are lovely grew up national trust children's playground love art rose garden open to the public second world war
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 864 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

An enjoyable day but I feel it is rather overpriced. The buildings and gardens are lovely and the children enjoyed the playground. Not impressed by the cafe though.

Thank pollyoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having rejoined English Heritage after a gap of four years my wife has been wanting to visit Eltham so now that we are members again we drove down on Sunday 4th and we both found the property well worth the journey as it was more interesting and informative than what we had expected. With the weather being fine it was also lovely to walk around the gardens.

1  Thank busterSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnglishHeritageTA, Social Media Champion. at Eltham Palace and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent visit to Eltham Palace and Gardens and that you are once again enjoying the benefits of your English Heritage membership. Perhaps you should return in the spring when the gardens will be full of colour once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a reminder to look at reviews on here - for example the Evamaria whinge about the palace not the gardens shows the danger of democratising critical judgement because not to imagine the point of Eltham Palace/Hall is the art deco is to see someone who didn't understand why she was coming in the first place! Utterly bizarre.

Rather the art deco is the point - it wasn't a place until bought and upgraded in the early 20th century and the rooms show the ambition and elegance of that era. It's not a film set so the rooms are maintained not the pages of a home decor magazine - which means you get a sense of how it was lived in.

From the utterly unique entrance hall with the glass ceiling feature, to the staircase with dramatic views down through corridors and the bathrooms which demonstrate a house a the very forefront of modern technology in to the 1930s, this place is great.

Evamaria might have thought she was going to a Holiday Inn to see a recently renovated bedroom and bathroom combination but better informed visitors can ignore this.

She is at least right that the gardens remain beautifully maintained with palace walls setting off the moat/waterfeature. And all in deepest darkest SE London.

Good cafe too - recommend the Shepherd's Pie!

1  Thank Gulfstream229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

As members of English Heritage we thought we would take my Mum out for the day and decided to visit Eltham Palace.

We have been before but were quite taken with the place so it was lovely to return. The art deco interior is jaw dropping! Just the little details - each room has been exquisitely preserved, it really is like stepping back in time. Such a unique family and it is so interesting to read about them as you walk around. The older part of the house, the original part is also breathtaking and blends seem less from old to new.

The gardens again are stunning, we were lucky with the weather and it was lovely to walk around. There is a cafe and the food is very good; for those visiting with young children there is a huge fort/play area for them.

Anyone visiting London should take some time out to visit this wonderful place.

Thank 916kellyp916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

We regularly go to Eltham palace for a walk around the beautiful gardens in sunshine or in rain. We fed the beastly fish and made leaf boats and we wrap up the trip in their suitable cafe.

Thank MiloEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2018

I was expecting a millionaires art deco residence, but it was just a tired thirties interior. The odd not very exciting piece of furniture, the rest shabby and uninspiring. The only stunning place is the medieval hall, if the rest of the palace were that good it would be worth a visit. The Gardens are lovely and on a nice day a beautiful place to walk around.
I might go back in the spring for the Garden, definitely not for the palace.

Thank evamaria800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

There's something for everyone here. Set a whole day aside. The interior is beautiful and unique; the gardens are fabulous - never been anywhere quite like it. There's a good cafe too.

Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

interesting visit but ruined by lack of clear signs. I understood that they have a temporary problem with the usual main entrance. I was sent in completely the wrong direction by a staff when attempting to find the exit. Current entrance not easy for the elderly or those with a disability. It should not be a big issue to put up some clear signs.

Thank john o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018

This place was a disappointment to us, but if you are into art deco you will like it. We prefer properties a bit older! Not much of the medieval history in evidence at all - Just in the hall.
The gardens look lovely and we would have spent much more time wandering there, if it had not been raining.
We were not offered the audio guide that people talk about, and I did not see anyone with one.
We walked from Mottingham Station, but followed an Eltham Palace sign at an intersection we came to, which was a mistake. It took us a long way round and we got lost. I had to ask at a shop how to get there. Fortunately it was not raining at that point! Going back to the station was a lot quicker, after I asked someone at Eltham Palace. It is actually easy to get to Eltham Palace from Mottingham Station if you just keep going straight down the A208. So it was a lot quicker getting back to the station, which was fortunate given the weather had deteriorated considerably!
There is a cafe and shop.
We were pleased we got in for free with our NZ Historic Places Trust membership, as it certainly wouldn't have been worth the GDP15 admission per person, for us.

Thank roaming_kiwi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

Run by English heritage cost to get in £15 per adult concessions a couple of pounds cheaper. Bulk of the tour conducted using a multi media device with headphones which gives you comprehensive information as you move from room to room. Building is immaculate and the blend of medieval and art deco very different. Nice garden to walk around though now heading into autumn may not look it's best.
Art deco part of house ahead of its time.

Thank CJL57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews