We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great afternoon out”

Eltham Palace and Gardens
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.60*
and up
London Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Bus Tour and Entry to Over 60 Attractions
Ranked #83 of 1,599 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great afternoon out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Took my Mother to Eltham Palace on Sunday 10th March 2013 (Mothers Day) and was pleasantly surprised to have such a little gem of a place on our doorstep.
My mother has to use a wheelchair and the facilities for the disabled and the helpfulness of the staff were excellent !!......They helped us to use the disabled car park and took my mother to the upper floor in a purpose built lift...absolutely first class treatment by all of the staff.
The house itself is lovely Art Deco and we will return in the summer to explore the gardens, which I am told is also wheelchair friendly.............

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank brianvickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    180
    33
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful house with a difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

I took my 2 boys age 10 and 6 this morning to Eltham Palace . We are English Heritage members and had not been before.
We had a great time exploring all the fabulous rooms and my boys loved having there own audio phone to listen to what each room was used for .
The staff were very helpful, especially in the tea room as my youngest son has allergies and they happily catered for him .
We were made to feel very welcome .
After our tour of the house we ventured outside to the fabulous gardens and had fun finding hidden pathways and walking round part of the old moat .
After a quick game of hide and seek we walked around the outside of the whole house and admired the views.
My boys didn't want to leave !
We will definitely go back again :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Clydeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
555 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 886 helpful votes
“Enchanting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Eltham Palace is wonderfully restored and has a fascinating history. The downstairs hallway for which it is famous is absolutely beautiful as are the rest of the rooms. I think this is a particularly interesting place to visit because the family story (the Courtaulds of haberdashery empire and then philanthropic art fame) is relatively recent (20th century), so you really do feel as if you are stepping back to when they were there and experiencing precisely what they experienced. The best English Heritage venue we have been to, and we can't wait to go back in spring.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank tjh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Eltham Palace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

A wonderful example of Art Deco.
Definately worth a visit. Easy parking, cafe, garden and small but perfectly restored house.
You can really imagine living here in the past - make sure you take time to watch the short film show upstairs - perfectly brings it all to life.
The gardens are elegant and beautiful, the house is facinating and although the tea room is probably the least attractive in a National Heritage house that I've visited, it is more than adequate. The whole property is run with respect and care, and staffed by helpful, happy and informative.
Set in beautiful countryside, despite being so close to town - leave time for a good walk from here around the local area.
Local pubs were not good on our visit - best eat in the cafe at Eltham Palace!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank emmasouthlondon00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Eltham Palce”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The visit her was very good wonderful views from the gardens . To see this house restored is great .The restaurant us a must good food but go for afternoon tea as the cakes are to die for

Helpful?
2 Thank Timbo756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eltham Palace and Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Eltham Palace and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing