We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love that hotel!”
Review of The Zetter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Zetter Hotel
Ranked #100 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love that hotel!”
Reviewed July 23, 2007

A second stay for us at the Zetter and we again had a fantastic time. I am amazed by some of the less than ecstatic reviews I have seen - it is my favourite hotel in London and one I don't hesitate to recommend. Ticks all the boxes - quirky, polite, chic, unpretentious, yummy food, smiling happy staff.

What more do you want!!!!!

  • Liked — Everything! But especially the cockails, vege options on menu and sumputous pillows
  • Disliked — I had to leave
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tssmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    280
    67
    21
    10
See reviews for
80
395
56
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2007

we went for dinner at the restaurant last friday, 13th july 2007.
it was four of us and we have the most amazing dinner ever. starter, main course and dessert. we also have wine and we only paid £150.00. great for such a nice restaurant, great location too.

would advise everyone to go and try.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mercobusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
njacquet
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2007

I had a wonderful time at The Zetter, the room had a great view and was a good size, the food was great and the service very nice... a beautiful touch: they have their own water!! The location is also with great access to the city and very lively night area...

Definetely will come back!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank njacquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, Kent
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

I booked my husband and I a night away in London as a surprise for our wedding anniversary. My sister who is a travel agent had recommended The Zetter as she thought it was just our style. How right she was!

The staff at the reception area were extremely helpful and attentive. I usually find the staff extremely rude in London hotels, though I think this may be a language barrier thing as they are nearly always foreign with very poor English. Any doubts I had regarding The Zetter were quickly forgotten. They asked if we were local, if we wanted to know anything about the area, whether we wanted dinner reservations, breakfast in bed etc. Always smiling and chatty. I mentioned it was our anniversary and later that evening we returned to our room to find a bottle of wine with a handwritten postcard from the manager, Justin, expressing his congratulations. Not something you hear everyday.

I booked us a St John's Superior room which was lovely (room 411). I thought it was about normal size for a city hotel and it certainly wasn't tiny but made excellent use of space. Bathroom was clean and modern and the shower was AMAZING. I wish I could have one in my home. Bath robes are lovely and comfortable. Bed was fabulous.

Reception area was lovely if you're into quirky, retro styling. The bar area is fantastic with great decor. We took our Mr & Mrs Smith card which gives you a complimentary cocktail. The cocktails were fabulous and the bar staff were very attentive and chatty.

Location is not too bad - a 10 minute walk to the tube and a 20 minute walk to Covent Garden. I think there are a couple of clubs nearby if that's your sort of thing, but it wasn't for us!

Only complaints are: no complimentary toothpaste - you have to pay £2 for a (really cute) dental kit; DVD player was constantly skipping or freezing; Internet isn't free either which is a real shame.

  • Liked — fantastic decor, great rooms & excellent customer service
  • Disliked — DVD player skipped, no free toothpaste or free internet access
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jodieb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

Booked a 2 night weekend stay at the Zetter and as 2 girls sharing was advised to upgrade to a St Johns Sq superior room at a rate of £170 per night incl bfast which was supposedly a bigger room with a queen bed. We decided to splash out on a really nice hotel as a treat for the weekend.
On checking in, we were amazed at the size of the tiny room which had a double bed. After half an hour of the front desk faffing about (totally disorganised), we were eventually moved to a similar room, still not £170 worth in my opinion.
We were overall really disappointed with the hotel, rooms were like grey cells of mdf and the "wallpaper art" was a rectangle of fabric on the wall. A bit of neon lighting too - really not worth the pricetag and photography on website makes it look better than it is.
We decided to check out after 1 night as the hotel did nothing to address our issues as they were full both nights and seemed to be much more interested in the wedding guests arriving. We moved to Threadneedles for another £10 per night. Was like going from rags to riches. Worlds apart.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmmaDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
112 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2007

Stayed at the Zetter on a business trip. A really unique hotel. I live in downtown Chicago so I'm used to a bit of noise every now and then and didn't have an issue with it as other travelers seemed to. I had a double bed, flat panel tv with interactive features such as music selections and movies. Bathroom had a great rain shower. Would stay again.

  • Liked — Modern, clean and different from your average Hilton
  • Disliked — rooms are on the small side
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eyehearttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
175 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2007

Small unimpressive reception - check-in was efficient, if uninformative about the amenities, breakfast times etc.

Standard double room was on the small side, ok if you're on your own, but would have been cramped for 2 people, as would have been the bed. Modern, stylish decor, though I wasn't keen on the drab, khaki colour scheme.

Small tv, with only a handful of channels, controlled through the PC, which made it slow & cumbersome to operate.

I wasn't tempted by the breakfast, which seemed expensive at £16.50 for an 'English', in a hotel that is minimalist in most other respects. There is a Tesco just round the corner though.

On the plus side it is in a good location, only a short walk from Farringdon tube station, and just over a mile from Kings Cross - near to Sadlers Wells, St Paul, Tate Modern & with many restaurants nearby. You also get a free Guardian newspaper (though a cut down version) and a informative newsheet with weather forecast & local attraction/events, which was a nice touch.

In summary, a nice, modern, stylish hotel, though for the price (£134 for a standard room at the weekend), I would suggest you try Malmaison, just round the corner, with larger rooms, more amenities, a nicer building, and a bargain at £134 a night (including breakfast) if you book through Superbreak, or The Hoxton Hotel, again significantly cheaper.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TerraIncognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#131 of 1,067 in London
534 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#261 of 1,067 in London
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#48 of 1,067 in London
1,871 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#70 of 1,067 in London
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zetter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zetter Hotel

Property: The Zetter Hotel
Address: 86-88 Clerkenwell Road, London EC1M 5RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in London
#88 Luxury Hotel in London
#113 Romantic Hotel in London
#131 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zetter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zetter Hotel has 59 bedrooms including 7 rooftop studios all with a private outdoor terrace. Located in fashionable Clerkenwell, the hotel is a perfect destination for those looking for hotels with style, comfort and bags of personality. Built by eco-conscious hoteliers, the hotel uses energy-saving technology and eco-friendly materials wherever possible. This approach also includes water pumped from the hotel's own 1500-foot bore-hole beneath the building which not only helps make the building self sustaining but also supplies The Zetter's bottled spring water that is served in the restaurant and rooms. The hotel is home to the celebrated Bistrot Bruno Loubet and next door is award-winning Cocktail Lounge at sister hotel The Zetter Townhouse, an exciting collaboration between The Zetter, chef Bruno Loubet and the creators of 69 Colebrooke Row. The neighbourhood boasts of superb restaurants, excellent pubs, clubs,wine bars and a number of galleries and theatres. Explore the surroundings on Brompton bicycles which guests can hire from the hotel free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Zetter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zetter Hotel And Townhouse
Zetter Hotel London
Zetter London
The Zetter Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing