We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what we were looking for”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Zetter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Zetter Hotel
Ranked #103 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2009

We stayed at the Zetter as a stop off on our honeymoon on the way to Marrakech, and arrived in London before the earliest check in time, but the staff helpfully checked us in anyway. We were shown up to our fabulous corner room, which was stylishly decorated and extremely comfortable, with quirky furnishings and huge sash windows. Everything worked perfectly, was spotlessly clean and the entertainment system was easy to use.

We had planned to go out for lunch, but liked the look of the Zetter's restaurant so much that instead we decided to stay there to eat. The staff in the restaurant were lots of fun, making us feel very welcome, supplying first class pizza and puddings and then plying us with enough alcohol to make our short walk to Farringdon tube a truly hilarious experience.

After a sobering afternoon's shopping (spending most of our honeymoon budget on the King's Road), we arrived back at the hotel to get ready to go out for dinner, and this was possibly the best part of our stay. We took full advantage of the small but extremely relaxing shower room, entertainment system and ambient lighting.

We dined at Konstam (quintessentially quirky and fabulous, the best chicken and duck's liver we've ever eaten) and walked back to the Zetter, contemplating going out for the evening, but the bed was too comfortable and we decided on an early night ;o)

The next day we had a leisurely start, a fantastic breakfast then checked out and were able to leave our bags at the hotel whilst we went for a wander down to St. Paul's before embarking on the epic tube ride to Heathrow.

We will definitely be back, we plan to spend a weekend there for our anniversary and make the most of it, and if we could we'd move in.

  • Liked — That we stayed there for a night on our honeymoon..
  • Disliked — That we went to Marrakech - we wish we'd just stayed at the Zetter for a week! Really!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TorpedoTerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    277
    67
    21
    10
See reviews for
79
392
56
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

Oh dear - I booked this through Tablet and whilst it looks good on the site it isn't as good in the flesh. The lobby and and atrium are impressive but our room was a bit dreary. It has really annoying shutters opening onto Clerkenwell Road that don't close properly, the decor was not that cool, a bit sludgy, the bed was way too small and it was £230 a night.

The Modern Pantry and Cicada around the corner are very good for beakfast and dinner resepctively.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank DickieMLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2008

We chose the Zetter as the cheapest hotel nearest The Barbican, at only £99 for the room. We also payed £20 for the parking space which saved us from finding an NCP nearby. We had little expectation, due to the fact it was so cheap (compared to other hotels in the area) Well from the moment we got in the hotel we were surprised, the staff could not do enough for us, our room was clean, neat, stylish and had everything we needed to relax including a hot water bottle. Some people may find the rooms too modern, The vending machine mini bar system was expensive but no more than any other hotel I have stayed in. We decided to pay the additional £50 per head for the dinner and breakfast option. In the resturant the service was just as attentive, and the food was amazing and presented wonderfully, breakfast was just as great too so turned out to be a great additional option (we were not charged for any soft drink we had for either meal) . £100 per person may sound expensive for dinner bed and breakfast but we thought for the food we ate, and the superb service we received throughout our stay, it was well worth every penny and would go back

  • Liked — The service, it could not be faulted
  • Disliked — the colour scheme was dodgy in places
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentSlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2008

The Zetter; Restaurant and Rooms.
The first thing you notice is the wonderfull staff, they really went out of their way to help out with London hints and tips.
The room was fresh and the terrace was a treat. After you figured out how to turn down the heat the room is really confortable. Fresh linnen, a paper on you doorstep. Coffee (espresso) machine in the room.
The restaurant serves quality food for a reasonable price.
All and all a great stay.

Jan

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nescioamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Zetter over the August Bank Holiday weekend earlier this year and we absolutely loved it!

We were only there for two nights and we only wished we could stay longer.

When we arrived the staff were helpful and went out of their way to help us whether it was in the form of giving us directions or information on the area. We were impressed when someone escorted us up to our room and explained to us about all the amenities and facilities. Very few hotels take the time with each guest. We stayed in the deluxe corner room which was a little smaller than expected but perfectly formed. Everything was provided for in the room with the added bonus of the tea/coffee facilities and vending machines on each floor. A novel and brilliant idea! The rainfall shower was a wonderful feature and all the modern décor and touches throughout the hotel made it feel special and different to the standard hotel rooms nowadays.

Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner is a must in the restaurant and the location is ideal for other great restaurants, bars and clubs walking distance from the hotel.

I can’t say nicer things about the hotel. It’s a definite must for anyone staying in the Clerkenwell area!

  • Liked — The bathroom - the rainfall shower was fantastic. It made my shower at home look so feeble!
  • Disliked — Nothing - just the fact I had to leave.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2008

Pros:
Very clean
Staff brilliant (especially Miguel)
Good location
Great design
Comfy bed
Great mini bar
Great communal spaces especially the bar

Cons:
Very expensive. From £1.30 for a small bag of maltesters from the vending machine, to a charge to bring room service food to the room, to a charge for the toothbrush and toothpaste pack it all added up to a collossal bill. Maybe its standard London prices to pay £500 for 2 nights in the second most basic room exclusive of food, i dont know, but i got a bit of a fright. if thats not an issue for you though its pretty superb

  • Liked — design
  • Disliked — cost
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JILLYS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

We stayed for Saturday night, booked on the Friday and paid £135 for a 'superior' room booked direct on the hotel's website - the 'seasonal rate' which includes vat - so not sure why the previous reviewer coughed up so much! Room was lovely and spacious, overlooking St John's Square. 2 comfy armchairs, lovely comfy bed, great waterfall shower. It's about a 5 minute walk from Farrindgon tube so very easy to get into the city centre.

Breakfast was very pricey - £16 for the full English but that included a massive buffet with some lovely fruit, much nicer bread and jam than you usually get from hotel buffets, and endless coffee.

We'd definitely go back, and would recommend checking the hotel website for their own best prices.

  • Liked — Felt very luxurious - lots of fluffy pillows on the bed, comfy armchairs
  • Disliked — Expensive breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeymoonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#189 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#271 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#85 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#53 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zetter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zetter Hotel

Property: The Zetter Hotel
Address: 86-88 Clerkenwell Road, London EC1M 5RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in London
#91 Luxury Hotel in London
#113 Romantic Hotel in London
#131 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zetter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zetter Hotel has 59 bedrooms including 7 rooftop studios all with a private outdoor terrace. Located in fashionable Clerkenwell, the hotel is a perfect destination for those looking for hotels with style, comfort and bags of personality. Built by eco-conscious hoteliers, the hotel uses energy-saving technology and eco-friendly materials wherever possible. This approach also includes water pumped from the hotel's own 1500-foot bore-hole beneath the building which not only helps make the building self sustaining but also supplies The Zetter's bottled spring water that is served in the restaurant and rooms. The hotel is home to the celebrated Bistrot Bruno Loubet and next door is award-winning Cocktail Lounge at sister hotel The Zetter Townhouse, an exciting collaboration between The Zetter, chef Bruno Loubet and the creators of 69 Colebrooke Row. The neighbourhood boasts of superb restaurants, excellent pubs, clubs,wine bars and a number of galleries and theatres. Explore the surroundings on Brompton bicycles which guests can hire from the hotel free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Zetter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zetter Hotel And Townhouse
Zetter Hotel London
Zetter London
The Zetter Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing