We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Zetter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Zetter Hotel
Ranked #104 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The best hotel in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This is my favourite hotel in London, hands down. In fact I don't understand why more hotels can't be like the Zetter: excellent service and everything just works. There's no fuss or drama. The place feels well organised and very rarely puts a foot wrong.

The location isn't brilliant, it is just a little off the main attractions of London. But the tube is close and Bloomsbury isn't far away.

And the dining is excellent, making it a fabulous choice. Most room rates offer a free breakfast and there's free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morebalti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    277
    67
    21
    10
See reviews for
79
391
56
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the service. It is one of the best I have experienced regardless of stars. It is situated in an area with lots of nice pubs, restaurants, etc. Overall a very good value for money (for London). The only not so great thing was the breakfast... It was not included in the price and was... ok. But again, everyone of the staff was very polite and accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xplorer1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My friends booked me room 505 for my birthday treat! And wow what a treat! The deck is fantastic, the room large and very well put together – everything you need. Lovely Ren products in the bathroom. I could not fault it.... bar a minor thing on the Sunday morning as they were jet washing the deck on the next door balcony...my only feedback would be I’d suggest not doing this on a Sunday after a birthday party the night before, perhaps wait till after check out.
I can also say the staff were charming and I would highly recommend the hotel for those who like chic and modern environments....and apparently the cocktails downstairs are fantastic!

Room Tip: Room 505 is the best in the building - the biggest deck and fantastic views across the roof tops!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venetiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, Kent ENGLAND
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked a room in the Zetter Townhouse but had the opportunity to stay in the fabulous Townhouse Apartment (think elegantly furnished, dark wood European salon décor) for one night. It was truly a superb mid-week treat. The room is quite spacious, and apparently can be connected to the Townhouse Suite to create even roomier quarters. There was a separate sitting area furnished with up to date magazines. Thick, red and cream striped wallpaper and luxuriant curtains on the 3 picture windows overlooking the square added to the elegance. The minibar was beautifully stocked (and affordable!). The bed was luxurious, the wardrobe massive and the bathroom beautifully decorated with vintage subway blocks, classic, bathtub with nickel tapware, and faded silvered mirrors. And this was just the inside of the room!

The Zetter Townhouse is much smaller than other boutique hotels but that is part of the charm. The staff were unbelievably friendly and accommodating. The lounge was packed yet they found a table for us to have a quick cocktail before dinner. Pre-dinner drink locations are abundant with the Modern Pantry and another pub just outside the townhouse. Dinner was at the gourmet restaurant Bistrot Bruno Loubet. Again - another superb experience, this time involving cuisine (the snail and meatballs, thin pork scratchings, veggie dip and beetroot ravioli are a MUST); service was also top notch and despite the buzzy feel, the restaurant was romantic. The continental breakfast basket, complete in a solo tin box for each of us, was a delicious touch.

All of this is 5 minutes from the heart of the City (where we both work), making this a perfect mid-week getaway. Highly, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Make sure to call the hotel directly to book. We did, leading to personalized service while there. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbenemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catifeoglou, Operations Director at The Zetter Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Zetter Townhouse. The Apartment is a delightful room and we appreciate how well you have described it in your review.

We will be sure to pass on your comments to our teams at The Zetter Townhouse and Bistrot Bruno Loubet - they will be proud to know that their "friendly and accommodating" attitudes along with our"superb food" helped add to your "perfect mid-week getaway".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed there one night and it was great. Staff was really friendly and helpful. Room had a very cool balcony, view and decor.

The restaurant (dinner + breakfast) were great as well.

Only downside, you have to walk 10 minutes to go to a gym (the hotel has 2 gym options/partners nearby).

Will try to go there again if possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oSCho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with 8 colleagues and was very impressed with the decor and ambience in the rooms and the reception/bar/restaurant areas.

The rooms are a decent size for London and very clean and well appointed.

I found the reception staff very helpful and friendly.

I was however, very disappointed with the service in the bar area, every time my colleagues or I needed a drink we had to hunt down the bar staff and then wait quite a lot of time for the drinks to be served. When we cam back to the hotel after dinner somewhere else we were told that the bar was shutting but we could go to the Townhouse part of the hotel, across the road which would be open until 2. When we got to the townhouse we were told they were closing at 12. I was quite surprised that there was nowhere for residents to drink after this time.

Anyway, we all had a good sleep in comfortable beds and enjoyed a very nice breakfast in the morning.

I would certainly stay here again but find somewhere else for late night drinks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
199 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

I forgot to review this hotel last year - I stayed in June 2012 but the options for when I stayed don't go that far back..... The staff were lovely from even before I arrived. I had to cancel one night's stay and was 20 minutes late in notifying them of this. They could have charged me for the night, but chose not to do so, thank you so much. The front desk staff were welcoming and friendly. They also sorted a couple of taxis for me and answered all my questions.

The room was compact but well equipped and quite designer. There isn't much by way of wardrobe space (or spare room generally) so you wouldn't want to stay in a standard room for more than a couple of days. Personally, I would prefer to have a bog standard kettle with sachets of instant coffee in the room rather than a posh coffee machine outside - it felt like being back at halls of residence sneaking out in my dressing gown to get a brew in the morning! I was also totally paranoid at leaving my keycard in my room and locking myself out in my early morning pre-caffeine stupour.

I did not have dinner in the restaurant but I enjoyed my breakfasts there.

It's well located - walking distance of the City - I walked to our office nr Bank one day and it took me about 20 minutes. It's also a really interesting part of London near Smithfield market and not overloaded with tourists.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayqueen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#184 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#274 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
citizenM London Shoreditch
#84 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#53 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zetter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zetter Hotel

Property: The Zetter Hotel
Address: 86-88 Clerkenwell Road, London EC1M 5RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in London
#92 Luxury Hotel in London
#113 Romantic Hotel in London
#131 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zetter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zetter Hotel has 59 bedrooms including 7 rooftop studios all with a private outdoor terrace. Located in fashionable Clerkenwell, the hotel is a perfect destination for those looking for hotels with style, comfort and bags of personality. Built by eco-conscious hoteliers, the hotel uses energy-saving technology and eco-friendly materials wherever possible. This approach also includes water pumped from the hotel's own 1500-foot bore-hole beneath the building which not only helps make the building self sustaining but also supplies The Zetter's bottled spring water that is served in the restaurant and rooms. The hotel is home to the celebrated Bistrot Bruno Loubet and next door is award-winning Cocktail Lounge at sister hotel The Zetter Townhouse, an exciting collaboration between The Zetter, chef Bruno Loubet and the creators of 69 Colebrooke Row. The neighbourhood boasts of superb restaurants, excellent pubs, clubs,wine bars and a number of galleries and theatres. Explore the surroundings on Brompton bicycles which guests can hire from the hotel free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Zetter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zetter Hotel And Townhouse
Zetter Hotel London
Zetter London
The Zetter Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing