We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Townhouse living is quite fine”
Review of The Zetter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Zetter Hotel
Ranked #213 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I entered the Townhouse on a typically London-gray Friday afternoon and was asked to wait for my room, as there were two other guests who had just arrived in front of me. I waited for about 10 minutes in a plush armchair the lounge (there is no real "lobby" in the Townhouse) and an employee came over and sat down with me to go through the check-in process.

She then showed us to our room, and informed us that we had been upgraded to the Townhouse Apartment (which I later found it is the nicest room in the place). It is -- simply put -- a den of cool. Like a playground for adults with all sort of neat little gadgets and oddities (which I am sure we did not fully uncover in our two nights). The Apartment is on the 1st floor and has 4 windows overlooking quaint St. John's Square. The bathroom is complete with a clawfoot tub, dressing table, shower, and REN accessories. The minibar is even stocked with pre-mixed "cocktails" from downstairs, although they are so potent that I'd characterize them more as spirits. They were, surprisingly, not very expensive however (we had three pre-mixed cocktails and a small bottle of wine for £27 total).

The weekend was very special indeed due in no small part to the Zetter Townhouse. I'd even recommend it as a little getaway for posh West-Enders looking to explore the foodie scene of Clerkenwell.

Now if I can offer some criticism (which now seems ungrateful given that they upgraded us to the best room in the house), it's that the staff is a bit mixed. Now, let's be clear here, the Zetter Townhouse is not Claridge's and one does not come here expecting (or even wanting) to be waited on hand-and-foot, but the staff was a bit aloof at times. For example, at the end of evening at the cocktail lounge, not just one, but two servers forced the bill upon me, even though we were clearly not finished. Was just one of two examples or not-so-perfect service that would have made an otherwise perfect stay a bit more perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 903 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stay at the Zetter a lot and it is consistently very good. Great staff, nice rooms and awesome showers. They could do with a more extensive room service menu and I've never really bought into the coffee facilities beings on the landings. Otherwise pretty much spot on.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Nic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I rate a hotel by the standard of whether I can stay there on my own and be comfortable. Here you can. And with friends, in the best breakfast spot in London, it is perfect too. The addition of the cocktail bar in the backyard Townhouse has made it worth its trip to London on its own.

Nearby restaurants (like St. Johns), the proximity to museums (walking distance to Tate Modern) makes it my home away from home.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pharaonics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at the Zetter Hotel in September 2012. Friendly and helpful staff, at reception.

The room was very comfortable, decorated in a 'quirky' style! had very good facilities and nice toiletries were provided. Good location to Farringdon tube station & frequent bus routes into the city centre. [my scores are based on the hotel only and not the bistro/dining]

On our first morning, due to a wedding party using the bistro for breakfast, we were asked to have breakfast at the Zetter Townhouse opposite the hotel.

Both at the bistro and the townhouse not all the staff were efficient or particularly welcoming. A cooked breakfast was included in the room price but any other option at breakfast was extra – we thought it would be better to have ‘any’ breakfast included (either the cooked or the continental) giving the customer the choice. Not all ingredients for one of the breakfasts was available.

Room Tip: views from the 5th floor included the shard, st Paul's, london eye
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elsaclegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Great service and a really cool cocktail menu - loved the theatrical addition to the martini. The atmosphere is good with seating arranged well for small groups and couples. Lots of curiosities around.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Although the rooms were a little small this was made up for by the decor and the friendliness of the staff . if you do happen to stay here during the summer make sure you enjoy their breakfast out on the terrace

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Rana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Wife and I stayed for long weekend whilst attending Olympics. Lovely Townhouse in good location and simple to connect to underground system at Farringdon. Food was good, the townhouse bar a great wee experience and loved the quirky clubhouse atmosphere. Our only quibble was that the four poster bed was very small for 2 people. Also, lack of storage for clothes in wardrobe. However, this was easily compensated for by the attitude of staff and the service level provided. Outstanding in all respects.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellysian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#226 of 1,081 in London
1,624 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#241 of 1,081 in London
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
London City Suites By Montcalm
Clerkenwell
The Bryson Hotel
The Bryson Hotel
#765 of 1,081 in London
103 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zetter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zetter Hotel

Address: 86-88 Clerkenwell Road, London EC1M 5RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in London
#113 Romantic Hotel in London
#161 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $206 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Zetter Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zetter Hotel has 59 bedrooms including 7 rooftop studios all with a private outdoor terrace. Located in fashionable Clerkenwell, the hotel is a perfect destination for those looking for hotels with style, comfort and bags of personality. Built by eco-conscious hoteliers, the hotel uses energy-saving technology and eco-friendly materials wherever possible. This approach also includes water pumped from the hotel's own 1500-foot bore-hole beneath the building which not only helps make the building self sustaining but also supplies The Zetter's bottled spring water that is served in the restaurant and rooms. Head Chef Ben Boeynaems has a light and contemporary approach to food at The Zetter and across the cobbles is award-winning Cocktail Lounge at sister hotel The Zetter Townhouse. Explore the surroundings on Brompton bicycles which guests can hire from the hotel free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Zetter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zetter Hotel And Townhouse
Zetter Hotel London
Zetter London
The Zetter Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing