We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't frighten the horses!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - The City
Ranked #180 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Won't frighten the horses!”
Reviewed March 31, 2009

This is a solid, cookie-cutter hotel from the InterContinental chain. The location is great, offering a bit of piece and quiet from the madness of the West End, but within easy walking distance of theatres, restaurants and shops. It's true that having Blackfriars tube station out of action for a couple of years is a bit inconvenient, but both St Pauls and Temple stations are within an easy 10 minute walk.

The hotel itself is very contemporary and is well designed. Staff at reception and in the restaurant were very pleasant and welcoming.

The rooms are rather bland, cream walls with pale wood, but are of a decent size. It feels like the rooms could do with a soft refurb, lick of paint, deep clean of the carpets and bathrooms. The rooms aren't in poor condition but with such a modern hotel in the City you'd hope they'd try and keep standards as high as possible. One of the plus points for me, and why I've returned a number of times is because of the excellent sound-proofing. The door to the bedoom is heavy and solid and you very rarely hear any corridor noise, I've certainly never been disturbed here. Air conditioning is effective, though sometimes it's nice just to open a window and you can't at this hotel.

We've always stayed at the Crowne Plaza on an offer, this time it was a two for one deal which meant the room rate was approximately £60 per night and represented excellent value for money. Breakfast wasn't included and we paid for that separately. £22.50 for breakfast is steep, and adding a service charge to a self-service buffet is incredibly cheeky! We only ate there as I had a voucher for a free breakfast, I wouldn't recommend shelling out that money if you're having to pay, there are plenty of cafe's nearby, and even a McDonald's on Fleet Street!

A top tip if you're driving is that the roads around the hotel offer free parking from Saturday at 1.30pm to Monday at 8.30am. A complete bargain when you consider how much 24 hour parking can be in central London.

In summary, a hotel that probably won't have your heart racing, but offers excellent value for money for a weekend trip to London.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrightonAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    835
    201
    66
    33
See reviews for
599
849
101
499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, U.K.
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2009

We stayed one night with our 23 month old daughter and 4 month old baby. We had a standard room which was very spacious. A travel cot was provided free of charge with lovely Winnie-the-Pooh duvet and Pillow which our daughter loved. We had our own pop-up bassinet for the baby and the room had plenty of space for us to put up this as well as the travel cot.

A nice touch was the complementary bottles of water - not all hotels seem to do this these days.

The room and bathroom were clean and I liked that a room key is required to access the lift to the rooms.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyAndActiveToddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2009

Booked a weekend in London for my Dads 60th birthday.Upon emailing the hotel the night before to let the hotel know it was his birthday, his room was upgraded and a card and a gift were presented from the hotel staff.
He said the hotel was in a great location and had a fantastic weekend at the crowne plaza London City.
Thanks to all the staff for making his weekend extra special.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reddct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,286 reviews
294 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 674 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2009

Arrived for one night on Valentines Day and, very fortunately, was able to check in at 10am. Room was clean and modern with just a little street noise due to 1st floor location. Staff were very courteous. Right next door to Blackfriars underground (but I believe the station is now closed for several months for modernisation so you may need to check alternative stations). The hotel had a problem with their water heating system during my stay and were professional enough to put a letter under the door to explain the problem and apologise for any inconvenience. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2009

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in the City on Friday 13th March 2009 following a work event. Check in was very easy and informative – we were into the room in under five minutes. We paid £90 for an advance purchase rate standard room direct from the hotel’s website.

The room was a good size, with two double beds and plenty of space for luggage and clothes. The room was clean, the bathroom sparkling and both were well maintained. We had an inside room which still let in plenty of light from the atrium, however we were on the fifth floor so suspect that lower floors may be quite dark.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, especially if you want to be close to St Paul’s Cathedral and the surrounding area (although the closure of Blackfriars Station opposite the hotel until sometime in 2011 is unfortunate) and at the weekend it is lovely and quiet. It is only a five minute stroll to the bus stop and a 5-10 minute ride to the heart of the West End. Buses 15 and 23 will take you along the Strand and straight to Piccadilly Circus/Regent Street/Oxford Street West.

We recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good standard, corporate style, located in this area of London for a reasonable price. We didn’t use the restaurants or leisure facilities available so cannot comment on these.

Liked: Location, room, cleanliness and lack of hassle.
Disliked: The firmness of the mattress may not be to everyone’s preference, minor cosmetic damage to lamp and stereo.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrHandBaggageOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

The Crowne Plaza The City is a well located smart modern hotel.The checkin was fast and efficient and a nice touch was to be shown to our room by the receptionist.The room itself was a good size and clean with everything we needed.Even though the hotel is located on a busy road there was very little outside noise and overall the room was very quite.A bonus is access to the exective lounge with complementry coffee etc and good views.
Even with the closure of the tube station near the hotel transport is not a problem as St Pauls tube is only 10 minutes away and there are plenty of bars etc near the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2009

My 18 year old grand-daughter and I stayed for three days at the Crowne Plaza--I wanted her to see St. Paul's Cathedral, the Tower of London, the Globe, and take a boat ride on the Thames--even in super cold weather. The great location allowed us to walk everywhere. The hotel was comfortable and modern--quiet, with great beds. Maybe not a great view--at least from our room--but on the other hand, once we were on Fleet street we were near some of the greatest sights in the world. I also liked the restaurant, which was relaxing and serving good food. Be sure to go to the Blackfriars Pub right across the street. My granddaughter loved the publ. The staff was helpful, courteous, and I would say, went beyond the call of duty--like the concierge gave us a pass to St Paul's--which we did return, by the way, so someone else could use it. I would stay here again, in a minute.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniceSanAntonioTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#56 of 1,067 in London
3,403 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#76 of 1,067 in London
3,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#326 of 1,067 in London
4,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - The City

Property: Crowne Plaza London - The City
Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#123 Romantic Hotel in London
#143 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialities. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City
Crowne Plaza London - The City England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing