We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Marvelous Hotel with Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London The City
Ranked #181 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2009

We took our 7 year old Grandson for his first trip to London, for a week trip, over the February half term. We booked with the Hilton Hotel Groups booking service using their talk to me messaging service, on their web site, after asking what the best deals were for central London, at the best price for 2 nights stay. This booking service was great and allowed us to check out reviews of the hotels that they recommended, by looking them up on Trip Advisor. We got a stunning deal of 2 nights for the price of one in a spacious Club room that had 2 double beds - a luxury room at an incredible rate (cheaper than staying at a Travel Lodge!).

From the moment we arrived to the time we left we were treated as though we were really special. Our grandson was over the the moon with how helpful the porter was as we entered the hotel and said - "wow it's just like like being royalty with your own servants". He availed himself, a couple of times, to calling room service to get extra biscuits, tea and milk and we have to say that all the staff were faultless on every occasion we need to call on them. Planning visits or getting tickets to places was a dream because the concierge let us use the Internet PC's in the business centre - if they were not able to do direct bookings themselves.

We didn't bother with breakfast at the hotel as it was an extra £22 per person for English - which to be honest was not at all a good deal. But as we new this when we booked, we were not all bothered about this. There were loads of good eateries just around the corner in Fleet Street and even by St Paul's Cathedral, which were less than a five minute walk away. You could have a full English for less than £6 and a lovely Continental breakfast, for some what less. On the Sunday morning we had breakfast at Paul's Bakery, next to the Cathedral for £17 all in, for the 3 of us and it was delightful, with home made breads filled with fine ingredients. Oddly, though, you could get a 2 course evening meal at the Hotel's posh restaurant for less than £11 per person - although we didn't get a chance to try this out and verify the standard it looked good.

If you want to grab an excellent pint of beer and have a really good taste of English food, then soak up the atmosphere at the Old Cheshire Cheese on Fleet Street - it's a must do experience and the open fires were great to huddle around, on the first night when it was a little chilly outside. The Blackfriars Pub directly opposite the hotel is also a cosy bolt hole with good beer and unbelievably reasonably priced, very quaffable house wine. Plus it has a stunning evening view of the London Eye and the OXO Tower, which shine out brightly across the Thames Embankment, if you sit at the outside tables!

BUT what really made the week end GREAT was the stay at the hotel itself - pampered luxury at a knock down price in a very, very pleasant area of the city. We can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowdyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,129 - 2,135 of 2,596 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2009

Reception & checkout very friendly & efficient. Concierge knowledgeable & very friendly.

Stayed 2 nights in king size club room. Room OK but number of cosmetic problems that did no justice to the premium rate charged e.g eye catching scratches on table in dining area (strange because the table surface had a glass top protective cover) and some furniture surfaces looking tired and dull.

If you think the inclusive continental breakfast in the club lounge an attraction..think again. On the weekend we were there it conisted of two croissants and half a dozen mini danish pastries....that's it ! apart from automated machine serving beverages. Two other couples walked in while we were there, saw the display & walked out again in disgust. The evening was bettter with a good choice of beer, wine, spirits & canapes

These little disappointments apart, the hotel is well located near tubes and attractions, clean and tidy and worth the money provided you get a good deal.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biglion678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CP-City, Sales Executive at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2009

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our concierge and reception team’s friendliness and efficiency.
We are currently in the process of reviewing our furniture and upgrading where possible.
Please note that full English and Continental breakfast is served on the weekends on the upper ground floor, Spicers restaurant, with no extra charge for those guests paying the Club rate or upgrade supplement. We do have croissants, Danish pastries and fruit available in the Club Lounge for those guests who prefer to have a quick bite.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza London – The City in the near future.

Best regards,

Maria Rodriguez
Sales Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

stayed at this hotel for two nights using points from Holiday Inn but have stayed at better quality Holiday Inns - expected Crowne Plaza to be better.

nice hotel with good facilities including gym. Wifi £5 per hour and room service available.

Bar prices extortionate not to mention the optional 10% service charge added to everything.

beds were comfy and room really nice.

local tube station is Blackfriars - PLEASE NOTE THIS TUBE STATION CLOSES ON 2ND MARCH 2009 FOR 2 YEARS - next nearest tube is 12 mins walk away.

would recommend the City Inn, Westminster to a friend first

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanzebra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Having searched through a whole host of reviews and hotlels for a theatre weekend.
I went for this one what a great hotel. Clean customer service superb. The staff could not do enough for you.
A nice touch having to use your room key for the lift for extra security.
I did'nt fancy the restaurant for evening meal, but as a previous reviewer said the Blackfriar acorss the road is a great London pub with good food.

The only down side for future travellers, the tube next to the hotel is closed from 2/3/09
for 18 months!!

However the 63 bus from Kings Cross to the hotel is a regular service for £2.00 each

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Looking through the reviews the most common thread is the friendliness of the staff and I would not disagree. We arrived too early for a room but we were helped with our luggage and promised the room would be ready later. When we returned the reception was fast and friendly and the porter very helpful. The room on the 7th floor was an odd shape but very comfortable with small but adequate bathroom and a coffee percolator. We were going out for a meal but the Spicers restaurant was open and we tried the Valentine Menu which was fantastic, although it was a bit quiet. Unfortunately the hotel boiler went down about 7pm which meant we missed out on a shower and got a bit cold but the hotel response was quick and apologetic. Also the friendliest hotel engineer ever! The hotel is a great location for St Pauls and the South Bank but not quite as easy to get into town, especially when the Tube Station is shut in March. We had breakfast at the Tate Modern - healthy but the most miserable waiters in town.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teacake_Taster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Just got back. Saw the fireworks at new years day. Great !!
Second time we booked this hotel and i think we book it again next time. Again we made a good deal for 4 nights.
Besides that it is a very comfortable hotel. The location is very good if you gonna take the subway, its also 20 minutes walking to the London Eye. Its very near the river Thames but dont expect nice views from your room. The standard rooms are comfortable with one or two (very nice) beds. Just the bathroom is on the small size. We liked the rooms very much, its well isolated (from the inside as well) and our room had a glimp of the street. The people working at the hotel are very friendly and helpfull.
We had also breakfast including the deal, which was also very good. Yes, we come back next time. We liked it !

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gerald1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza City from 29 Dec 08 to 1 Jan 2009. I got a good deal through the Travel Republic web-site, bed and full buffet breakfast for less than £100 per night. Reception staff were very efficient and helpful and all aspects of my booking were dealt with smoothly. The Reception area is large and modern with a roaring gas fire to beat the very cold weather.We were given a complimentary upgrade and the corner room on floor 5 was clean, spacious and very well equipped.
Breakfast was adequate for a 4 star hotel and the staff were very friendly and accommodating.
My only complaint was with the Concierge service who failed to inform me of any of the New's Years Eve arrangements in the Hotel. I had asked on the 30th December what was available and was told that apart from the £115 per head Gala Function in the Italian Restaurant there was nothing else. I therefore booked a meal in a nearby restaurant. I was then surprised to find an information sheet pushed under our room door late on New's Eve telling me of an alternative £55 per head meal in Spicer's Restaurant, a function with food in the Bar and a disco
in the Lobby! Had I known I would have booked a table in Spicer's Restaurant.
However, we were able to partake of the disco and our meal at Cafe Rouge was somewhat cheaper.
The pub over the road - The Black Friar is of historic interest, very popular and atmospheric, serves proper pub grub at cheap prices and a selection of real ales. Not to be missed.
The location of the hotel is helped enormously by the proximity of Blackfriars tube on the District and Circle lines. When it closes for refurbishment for 3 years in March 2009 this will remove this benefit, making the hotel much more difficult to access by tube.
Overall a great hotel for the price paid with excellent staff.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary8446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#68 of 1,081 in London
3,812 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#361 of 1,081 in London
4,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London The City

Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Family Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#123 Romantic Hotel in London
#142 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $188 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialties. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, IHG, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City
Crowne Plaza London The City England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing