We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off - not family friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London The City
Ranked #169 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Travelling with seven yo twins , gave us room with no opening windows for fresh air, no view internal room on low 2nd floor.
4 guests, 2 towels, one bottle of water.
Why does the minibar cost 3 pounds per day to empty???????
If you move anything in mini bar they charge you. No good if with kids.
Only 2 double beds, parents bed could have been a queen at least, as the is enough room. Very cold check in staff, , not sure why they want us to write kids names and passport number for uk citizen. Didn't help with bags, didn't explain what was included or what time breakfast was.
One free bottle of water and ice bucket with no ice in it.
We asked if they had room service for kids , yes , but when we went yo room , kids food finishes at 11 pm so , kids we to bed with no dinner after long trip from Prague.
God hope it gets better but so far not good.
Some crazy reason the Capet floor has a wet patch right next to bed where you stand.
Toilet seat leans forward , feels like you will slip off, don't think it is level.

Room Tip: Go some where else unless your a business traveler and work is paying for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lennoncp2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Lennoncp2013,
Thank you very much for your message on Trip Advisor following your visit to our hotel.
As the majority of hotels in big cities our room windows cannot be open. We do however have a system that circulates fresh air in the hotel permanently.
As described in your message your room was a Double Twin STANDARD. Within this category we offer internal or external views. For higher floors I would recommend the reservation in Double Twin DELUXE.
The size of our beds are described in our website, and follow UK government guidelines, so I would strongly recommend on your next reservations to double check the room category and details to avoid any disappointments.
Our minibar operates with weight system, if you move items they will be added to your bill. Our reception team is always happy to check and remove any item not consumed from the bill. Minibars are a selling point in any hotel, so to have them emptied incurs a symbolic £3 charge.
UK residents, as per UK law are not requested to provide identification, if a full UK residence address is provided.
We offer delivery of ice 24 hours via room service, as an alternative we have ice machines on the floors.
I am truly sorry you did not bring any of the issues mentioned in your message to one of our teams members attention while in house.
Some of the points could have been addressed immediately, and would not compromise your visit.
Please do let me know of your plans to visit London, and I will delighted to look after your visit personally.
Kind Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,307 - 1,313 of 2,546 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

Do not chose this hotel if you want sleep at weekends. Good quiet location, away from central London noise but easily accessible as opposite Blackfriars tube station. We chose & booked this hotel due to this as we were requiring a good quality family friendly quiet hotel for our post Christmas family London treat. But despite the Hotels website & a phone call to the hotel prior to booking to check, the hotels reception & website failed to advise that they hold parties in the bar on weekend evenings from 10pm until 3am! Resulting in NO SLEEP despite us being in one of the hotels 'QUIET ROOMS'. Real shame.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank familytraveller407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear familytraveller407,
Thank you very much for your message following your visit to our hotel.
We have spoken over the telephone and emails have been exchanged with the hotel management regarding your visit.
For the benefit of Trip Advisor readers I would like to clarify that your reservation was for two nights. The first night as per our conversation was the most enjoyable.
As we were in the Xmas period and had some of our venues booked for private functions, there was a slightly higher movement of people in the hotel.
Our priority is the comfort of our guests, extra measures were taken to avoid disturbances.
As you stated you and your family are light sleepers and were affected by the noise.
I can assure you we would like you to reconsider your decision and visit our hotel again in teh future.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed for along weekend prior to Christmas in a 7th floor Club Room (702) which had a great view of St Pauls (see photos), the City and the Gerkhin skyline. Staff at check in were very friendly and even though busy, we were easily accommodated at breakfast. Room was large and comfortable, and good shower. Bed may need changing soon as it had a bit of a sag. Club room (on 6th floor) was well stocked and we even had access to drinks beyond the aperitif session.

Although inside the congestion zone, if just up for the weekend and can arrive after 6pm on a Friday and plan to leave on Sunday to avoid paying, there's a great car park (Baynard House) just up the road (5 mins in front of hotel) which being a City of London car park only charges for certain hours and the rest of the time is free. As others have said, immediate access to Blackfriars and DLR transport although getting to west end (Piccadilly/Leicester Square was a bit complicated so we preferred to walk up the Strand (30 mins)).

Locally there are plenty of restaurants - check out the back streets near St Pauls on the river side, some good local shop[ping (One New Change - with great free view on roof top terrace), good access the City sites e.g. Bank of England - up to Spittalfields if you fancy a longer walk and its easy to go across the river and have access to South Bank - Globe Theatre, Tate Modern, Oxo Tower and Festival Theatre and beyond.

Room Tip: Worth paying for 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear daloughlin,

Happy New Year to you!

And thank you very mcuh for taking the time to share the details of your visit to Crowne Plaza London - The City with Trip Advisor readers.

I will be delighted to welcome you back to our property in the future.

Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Stayed here for one night, whilst in London visiting 'Winter Wonderland' in Hyde Park.

Hotel is easily accessible if travelling into Kings Cross or St Pancras stations like we did. It is literally a few stops on the train from St Pancras (First Capital Connect services) into Blackfriars. Hotel is right across the road from Blackfriars station. Blackfriars station is also served by the District/Circle line on the tube. You also have many bus services passing the front door.

If you like walking ... St Paul's Cathedral, Southwark (where you'll find Borough Market), London Bridge and Southbank areas are all close by.

The hotel is very well kept and has many facilities such as Spa, Gym, Hair salon, Bars and Restaurants on site.

We had a Standard room (i think) overlooking the front of the hotel. Room was very clean, spacious and equipped with all the things you'd expect ... tv, tea/coffee, mini toiletries, safe, iron/ironing board and a couple of complimentary bottles of water.

There was also a mini bar, where you obviously pay for the items. Be careful tho ... not everything with a price is actually inside the mini bar but common sense should help you out here.

We had a great nights stay, bed was very comfy, great black out curtains and we didn't hear a thing from the very busy main road outside. If you are concerned though, I am sure the hotel has rooms out the back away from the road.

We didn't use the restaurants or have breakfast so can't help you with those. But we did dine in our room. We ordered room service. I chose the mozzarella panini. It was nice, not mind blowing, but at the end of the day, its just a cheese sandwich with chips. Maybe a bit pricey if I'm honest but expected? Good quick service though!

Overall a very good stay in a great hotel and we will definitely stay here again.

Recommended!!!

Room Tip: Get a room on the front and watch London life. Don't worry about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royzer76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Royzer76,

Happy New Year to you! And thank you very much for your amazing review.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime soon.

Regards,

Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night with my partner for my birthday.

Check in was really pleasant and welcoming. We were surprised with a gorgeous cherry chocolate desert for my birthday, which I thought was excellent customer service. Rooms are so comfortable, clean, modern but very cosy. Bed was comfortable with soft pillows, even a scent spray to send you off to sleep.

Our room was on the front of the hotel so we woke to a view of the shard and the walkie talkie building.

Perfect hotel for visiting covent garden.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear mdbw,

Thank you very much for your message on Trip Advisor.

Hope to welcome you back to Our hotel sometime soon.

Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We booked a family trip to London, to see a show and do a little Christmas shopping. The Crowne Plaza is easily located - just across the road from the Blackfriars tube station. Located near the Thames, it's a good base for a London Trip. Reception area has comfortable seating, whilst you wait to be checked in - which was very efficient. Our twin room was spacious, the queen sized beds were very comfortable and the bathroom, a good size - with robes. Very clean throughout! Good continental breakfast, located in the hotel (at the Chinese Restaurant). Staff friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and that's exactly what we got! Lovely and quiet, opposite the office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dancingflorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear dancingflorist,
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor

I am delighted you enjoyed your family stay in one of our comfortable double twin rooms was the most enjoyable.

Hope to welcome you back sometime soon!

Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Friendly efficient check in. Had a room at the front if the hotel but outside noise was barely audible through the glazing. Well equipped modern rooms that look recently refurbished. Continental breakfast was good with a wide choice of items

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marli S, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

MarkR79,

Thank you for your lovely comments.
It is always a pleasure to read great feedback and hope to be able to extend a warm welcome to you in the near future!

Regards,
Marli Sadzinski
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#63 of 1,077 in London
3,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#334 of 1,077 in London
4,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London The City

Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in London
#115 Family Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#123 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $184 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialties. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City
Crowne Plaza London The City England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing